PDA

View Full Version : Need help / verification error and invalid target id warning PIC16F877

makris
- 9th January 2013, 11:20
Hi, I am a university student and I am trying to go over some tutorials that were given to me by my supervisor and I am encountering some strange errors. It should be noted that this is my first time I am attempting PIC programming so all I know for sure is that I am following the tutorial step by step so it is pretty clear to me that something is happening that was not suppose to happen.
I am using MPLAB IDE v.7.4 and MPLAB ICD2 as the controller. My PIC16F877 is connected onto a PIC board which has a 20MHZ crystal a MAX232 and is connected onto the controller using an RJ11 connector. The PIC is powered by an external adaptor of 5V/1A and there are also 8 LEDs onto all B pins.
The code I am using is a basic LED counting test:

//LED counting test.c
#include<16F877.H>
#pragma fuses HS,NOWDT,NOPROTECT,NOLVP
#pragma use delay(clock=20000000)

void main()
{
int value;
set_tris_b(0x00);
for(value=0; value<=60; value++)
{
OUTPUT_B(value);
delay_ms(1000000);
}
}

MPLAB gives me a warning and an error

Warning:
ICDWarn0020: Invalid target device id (expected=0x4D, read=0x1FF)
Error:

ICD0161: Verify failed (MemType = Program, Address = 0x0, Expected Val = 0x3000, Val Read = 0x3FFF)

I’ve been looking around through the internet for similar topics but I can’t seem to figure out what’s wrong. What got me really confused is the fact that I bought a new PIC just to try and see if it got fried, and the first time I tried to program it, it worked. But the weird thing is after being programmed once it started the same problems as the previous PIC.
I also tried to set the memory locations as manual like some forums suggested but nothing changed.

The Self test numbers are:
Target Vdd: 5.04
Target Vpp:12.46
MPLAB ICD 2 Vpp:12.54

And additional info:
Oscillator HS
Watchdog timer OFF
Power Up timer OFF
Brown Out detect ON
Low Voltage Program DISABLED