PDA

View Full Version : Discovering devices on a bus

BH_epuk
- 20th February 2012, 21:48
Hi All

After some ideas here, I have a master unit that colects data from several slaves on a bus.

At the moment I have the master hard coded with a list of the slaves addresses, all working great.
I now need to expand the system so that a master unit can be connected to any number of slaves (In reality no more than 10) and those slaves could have any address, I'll probably be using one of the I2C EEPROMS from microchip with an EUI48/64 address to assign address to slaves or at the minimun a hard coded 16 bit address.

Now the bit i'm stuck on is coming up with a discovery routine that can be run on the master unit once all hardware is connected together. This would only ever be run when the system is deployed. I already have error handling should a device become disconected from the bus so the discovery is not time sensitive (although i'm looking at < 30 seconds).

Any thoughts welcolmed

ecoli-557
- 12th March 2012, 18:28
I am about to wrestle with this same problem. I will have IO boards all connected via 485. While I can use addressing switches for a 16 bit address, I would prefer to come up with some kind of discovery to identify the 1st board, the 2nd board, etc. in a chain. I don't think I can rely on propogation down the 485 wire......
I have NOT found a way even in pseudo code to get started before I can even tackle putting it into real code <grin>.

Anyone else solve this?

Jerson
- 13th March 2012, 01:14
I must forewarn you, these are totally untested ideas. Just loud thinking.

HARDWARE SETUP:

You will need slaves that have a full duplex RS485 channel. What I mean is that the slaves should be able to see their own transmissions. This way we will have CSMA-CD (collision detection)

FIRMWARE