PDA

View Full Version : Control a Radio PLL with a PIC

RayL113
- 11th June 2011, 00:50
I am very new to the PIC world and to PBP. So if I ask what seems like a dumb question, please bare with me.
I want to control an old Knight Kit 2 meter radio.
It currently uses a thumbwheel to program the PLL in Binary.
The count starts at 000000000. And ends at 011111111.
I want to use an Encoder with 2 outputs. CW/CCW. Using a +5 volt reference.
So each pulse is a logical 1.
It will either increment the count by 1 or decrement the count by 1 depending on which way the encoder is turning.
CCW will equal Down pulses on RA2, CW = Up on RA3.
The PLL program pins require +5 volt logical 1 for selection.
I also want to display the count from 0 to 255 in decimal on a 3 digit 7 segment LED display.
PIC is an 18F6680.

I tried doing this as asm but didn't get anywhere.
It seemed like it should be straight forward, but I quickly discovered it wasn't.

I thought about using Button to monitor the two input lines but read in the manual that this would not be good for what I want to do.

I searched the forum looking for something similar but couldn't find anything related.
Any suggestions or thoughts on how I should approach this in PBP?
All comments welcome.
Thanks

cncmachineguy
- 11th June 2011, 02:05
Sounds like FUN! First let me say, I think if you search on encoder, you may have better results. I am pretty sure there is at least an article.
Now having said that, I have some questions for you. Encoders usually have an A and a B channel. are these what you are calling the CW and CCW outputs? If so is this an encoder with extra drive board or something?

Are you planning to didicate 8 lines to the PLL, 10 lines to the display and 2 lines to encoder? Or do you have a different hardware plan?

This will be pretty straight forward, but we need to know what background you do or do not have so far for this.