PDA

View Full Version : POT command and Scale factors

fanman
- 17th May 2011, 12:26
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie. I am having trouble using the "POT" command with my 12F675. It simply doesn't work on any port (neither does RCTIME). I have had success using ADCIN using a voltage divider which worked fine but not POT or RCTIME? Why?

Next question, I have a variable that I want to scale from say 50% up to 105%. How can I do this in code? When I try to multiply or divide large numbers from the ADCIN (say 1023) the result is usually 1 or 0 and nothing in between. I'm guessing its a bit limitation thing. Please help. Thanks.

P.S... I'm using an external XT as I stuffed up the internal calibration value.

mackrackit
- 17th May 2011, 14:46
Do you have the hardware connected as the manual shows in the POT command section?

fanman
- 17th May 2011, 23:05
Do you have the hardware connected as the manual shows in the POT command section?

yep tried it and still not working. Any hints?

RDavid60
- 18th May 2011, 04:57
Fanman:

I can't help you with the POT and or RCTIME command, but I can help you recover the internal oscillator calibration value.

The attached file 5516 is a small PBP program to load into your 12F629 and or 12F675.

The attached file 5517 is a word doc showing how to recover your OSCAL value.

Hope this helps,
Ron

HenrikOlsson
- 18th May 2011, 06:37
Hi,
If ADCIN works on the same pins you're trying to use for POT and/or RCTIME then my guess is that when trying POT/RCTIME you're forgetting to switch the pins from analog to digital inputs. POT/RCTIME both need the pin to be in "digital mode" and they default to analog on startup.

ANSEL = 0 'Turn off ADC functionallity on all analog pins
CMCON = 7 'Turn off comparator functionallity.