PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - failed at the first hurdle on Mels RTC!

hu lee gan
- 16th March 2011, 18:22
Hi All,
I'm a noob here so please be gentle with me 'til I get the hang of things (please!) - lol
I've tried compiling Mels Real time clock program as I want to build a clock circuit & I got these errors:

PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.47, (c) 1998, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
PM Assembler 4.08, Copyright (c) 1995, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 166 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 172 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 178 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 184 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 190 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 196 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 202 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 208 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'pic16F628'
Error C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 272 : [225] Undefined Symbol 'CMCON'
Warn C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 750 : [102] Code Crosses Boundary @ 800h
*** 13 Errors ***

So I changed all references for pic16F628 to pic16F887 and tried again, this time I get the following errors:

PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.47, (c) 1998, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
PM Assembler 4.08, Copyright (c) 1995, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
Warn C:\PBP\MELS_C~1.ASM 750 : [102] Code Crosses Boundary @ 800h
*** 5 Errors ***

I've tried searching for answers on here and have found the solution to the boundry error, but I can't figure out or find any info about the other errors I'm receiving? I would post the code, but it's exactly as I downloaded it from here!
Any help or pointers would be very much appreciated, thank you.

Archangel
- 17th March 2011, 01:29
Hello hu lee gan,
Welcome to the forum,