PDA

View Full Version : pbp 2.60a upgrade



l_gaminde
- 29th August 2010, 20:21
I just TRIED to upgrade from 2.3 to 2.60a I can't make anything work just errors and this is code that I am using in 2.3

Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Warning[207] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\TEST.ASM 116 : Found label after column 1. (DEVICE)
Error[122] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\TEST.ASM 116 : Illegal opcode (PIC16F628A)
Halting build on first failure as requested.
BUILD FAILED: Sun Aug 29 12:15:19 2010

Halting build on first failure as requested.
BUILD FAILED: Sun Aug 29 12:15:19 2010

mackrackit
- 29th August 2010, 21:31
Looks like you have your configs using the PM way but you are using MPASM fir the assembler.

Can you post your code and configs to be sure?

l_gaminde
- 29th August 2010, 21:42
is this what you want

@ DEVICE PIC16F628A,HS_OSC,WDT_ON,PWRT_ON,PROTECT_ON
DEFINE OSC 10

mackrackit
- 29th August 2010, 22:01
Yup, those are for PM.
In MCS under Tools-Compiler Options under the assembler tab you can select PM or MPASM.

This should also help
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543

l_gaminde
- 29th August 2010, 22:20
Ok looks like I have some reading to do guess I was used to 2.30 with 2.32 beta
wanted to start using win version but will use pm for now

Next question programmers I will be needing to upgrade the Picstart plus or getting another programmer $30 to upgrade what would another programmer cost is it as good what parts will it do compared to picstart plus. I guess i can use the picstart with 2.32 in the shop and mplab 3.11 like im doing now.

larry

mackrackit
- 29th August 2010, 22:36
All you need to do is use configs syntaxed for MPASM.
Look in the inc file for your chip and you will see both ways.

Prgrammer.
I really like the PicKit2.

l_gaminde
- 29th August 2010, 22:43
I not able to change back to PM . using mplab changed to C:\PBP\PM.EXE from mpasmwin but it keeps using mpasmwin i feel like its the first time I ever done this

l_gaminde
- 29th August 2010, 23:09
Ok looked at 16f628a.inc file now i'm even more confused do you have a header for 16f628 I can look at, I understand the underscore but how do I define the osc speed ? same way? its not in the inc file !and Im seeing lists of config not a single line of configs like in the inc file.

mackrackit
- 30th August 2010, 04:14
@ __config _XT_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
DEFINE OSC 4

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 22:52
ok so I changed the defines from this
@ DEVICE PIC16F628A,HS_OSC,WDT_ON,PWRT_ON,PROTECT_ON

to this
@ __config _HS_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
and now the errors just keep coming

Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "test.bas"
Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "ltest.bas"
PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Error[118] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\test.ASM 116 : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)
Error[118] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\test.ASM 116 : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)
Halting build on first failure as requested.
BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 14:44:39 2010

mackrackit
- 30th August 2010, 23:02
Looks like you did not comment the config lines in the PBP inc file.
See the thread I linked to above.

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 23:09
Looks like you did not comment the config lines in the PBP inc file.

Dave I have no clue what your talking about this is over my head right now

I read the thread but got more confused they were talking that the new way didn't work and to do it the old way and 18f parts did work I have no idea what is old and what is new never used the win setup now I know why it never worked for me.

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 23:14
I need to change a file in PBP to make my bas file compile what do I change

mackrackit
- 30th August 2010, 23:24
When setting the configs in code space the inc file in PBP needs commented (;)

Go to your PBP directory and find the xxx.inc file for the chip you are using.
In that file you will see config lines similar to what you are putting in your code.
Put a ";" at the begining of those lines.

Or you can modify those lines and not set the configs in code space.

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 23:34
Ok I think Im getting it a little they have already set up a set of configs Im asking for something different and its getting confused so if I change there file to what I want it will work or if I comment it out and put it into my code it will work. what if I want some set value in the inc file and want to add some of it in my code or is it either / or but not both

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 23:43
Yep I guess I get it now i just commented out the line in my program compiled it and it worked still want to know about doing some in code and some in the INC file is that a no no ??

l_gaminde
- 30th August 2010, 23:50
well maybe not! got this error

ERROR: Unable to access file C:\0 Files\2Mplab\test.O
Error processing COFF file C:\0 Files\2Mplab\test.O
Halting build on first failure as requested.
BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 15:46:03 2010

mackrackit
- 30th August 2010, 23:51
The chips with one line of configs it is one or the other.
The chips with multiple lines of configs then you could do a line or two in code and some in the inc, might get hard to keep track of things.

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 02:36
ok i started from scratch and used a file in pbp directory this is what I get unable to access file
OK why
how can i fix this
what the He l did i do wrong



Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

ERROR: Unable to access file c:\pbp\files\BLINK.O
Error processing COFF file c:\pbp\files\BLINK.O
Halting build on first failure as requested.
BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 18:32:20 2010

mackrackit
- 31st August 2010, 03:53
What version of MPLAB are you using?

I think 8.15 is the latest that works.

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 22:26
I loded the version 8.53 of MPLAB that came on the upgrade disk

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 22:38
ok tried the PBP 2.60a with 5.70.40 mplab and still nothing


uilding test.BAS...

Command line: "C:\PBP\PM.EXE -ol -c -p16F628A test.BAS"
PM Assembler 4.08, Copyright (c) 1995, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
Flag : Unknown Output Format 'l'
Flag : Illegal Flag '-p16F628A'
INTERNAL test.BAS 37 : [407] No Function Handler for 'high'

MPLAB is unable to find output file "test.hex". This may be due to a compile, assemble, or link process failure.

Build failed.

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 22:40
do I need to modify the path or something was told the new version did not need this

mackrackit
- 31st August 2010, 22:53
I loded the version 8.53 of MPLAB that came on the upgrade disk
My mistake
http://melabs.com/support/

Did you un-install the old version of MPLAB?

Googlin around found someone with a similar problem
http://www.microchip.com/forums/m466875-print.aspx

mackrackit
- 31st August 2010, 22:56
I think I would try un-installing everything and start over at this point

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 23:00
after reading I also have this below
-ampasmwin -k#

not -ampasmwin -oq -z -v
will try this first

should I delete all mplab and pbp2.3 also

l_gaminde
- 31st August 2010, 23:03
ok changed the command line to -ampasmwin -oq -z -v and this is what Im getting it looks like it almost worked

Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -oq -z -v -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -oq -z -v -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
Pass 1:
Pass 2:
Code Gen:
Macro Pass:
mpasmwin /q C:\PBP\Files\BLINK.ASM
COD Pass:
BUILD FAILED: Tue Aug 31 15:02:06 2010

mackrackit
- 31st August 2010, 23:05
Personally I rename the old PBP directory to OLDxx_PBP then install the new to the default location. That way I still have my changes to check out when needed.
I always get rid of the older MPLAB.

l_gaminde
- 1st September 2010, 00:01
well not sure but the bottom line says build succeeded, have new programmer ordered well just see about that.

Thanks for all your help! I feel better! I was feeling like a real dumb ass only been doing this since 1999!!

I deleted everything cleaned my registry, did a disk clean and defragged then reinstalled PBP and MPLAB

Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
Loaded C:\0 Files\2Mplab\lcpirser.COF.
BUILD SUCCEEDED: Tue Aug 31 15:53:43 2010

mackrackit
- 1st September 2010, 00:23
Glad you got it!!!

Thanks for all your help! I feel better! I was feeling like a real dumb ass only been doing this since 1999!!
Now you know why I say, once a newbie always a newbie :D
No offence...

We will blame it on windows...

l_gaminde
- 1st September 2010, 00:33
I can do that