PDA

View Full Version : Display Vdd

davesatu
- 11th February 2010, 04:25
Hi all. Newbie here so please be gentle. Using a 16F876 and 2.45a. Want to display Vdd on an up and running LCD. Can't figure it out. When displayed Vdd will then be adjusted to exactly 5 volts to be used as the reference to convert and display an input voltage through an ADC pin. A test 3 volt battery ADC input works well even to 3 decimal places but uses actual Vdd rather than 5 so this question.

Am I on the right track or is there a better way to get a correct ADC voltage on screen? LCD Pics here. Should mention the 4 shown at right hand bottom is a toggle from 4 to 8 when you press the Ohms button. It's a relay for this project.

Any help much appreciated. tks Dave.

HenrikOlsson
- 11th February 2010, 06:32
Not sure I understand... Have you connected Vdd to an analog pin or are you trying to somehow "internally" get a reading of it?

If you're using Vdd as Vref for the ADC then it simply won't work because whatever Vdd is is also your refenrece for full scale ADC reading. You'd need to configure the ADC to use external Vref and have a stable voltage reference that doesn't change as the battery voltage goes down (voltage reference IC, zener diode, voltage regulator etc). Then you can use a resistor network to "scale" the voltage to withing the Vref- and Vref+ for the ADC.

Does that make sense or did I completely miss the point?

/Henrik.

davesatu
- 11th February 2010, 23:40
Hi Henrik.

Thanks for the info. I would rather use the internal vRef which as you say moves with Vdd. So if I can adjust Vdd and so vRef to exactly 5 volts (from a mains variable supply) as the constant I can use the formula (ADC output/5) * 255 to display my readings. I can always set Vdd with a multimeter but as a learning exercise would like to do this through the Pic as well.