PDA

View Full Version : Oilmex PIC-MT-USB and PIC16F877A

taitny
- 24th August 2009, 01:59
I picked up PIC-MT-USB from Olmex, and have been totally unable to write a PICBASIC program that runs on it.

For starters all I want to do light up the LED.

To add to my embarassment, Olimex even publishes C code and the associated HEX. The hex code runs just fine. I have not been able to figure out how to .. Convert .. the C, or create my own code that can turn on the light.

I am a newbie to MCUs (most of my programming skills are discrete TTL or CMOS), and have one simple project under my belt. This was the next step, but I am stuck.

This is the link to the board: http://www.olimex.com/dev/pic-mt-usb.html

Any experience or help welcome.

Thanks!

DaveC3
- 24th August 2009, 04:13
Be sure to set the configuration to HS, the standard 877A.inc file is set to XT.

;************************************************* ***************
;* 16F877A.INC *
;* *
;* By : Leonard Zerman, Jeff Schmoyer *
;* Notice : Copyright (c) 2003 microEngineering Labs, Inc. *
;* All Rights Reserved *
;* Date : 11/06/03 *
;* Version : 2.45 *
;* Notes : *
;************************************************* ***************
NOLIST
ifdef PM_USED
LIST
include 'M16F87xA.INC' ; PM header
device pic16F877A, HS_osc, wdt_on, lvp_off, protect_off
XALL
NOLIST
else
LIST
LIST p = 16F877A, r = dec, w = -302
INCLUDE "P16F877A.INC" ; MPASM Header
__config _HS_OSC & _WDT_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
NOLIST
endif
LIST

Here is the C code to blink the leds

#include <pic.h>

__CONFIG(UNPROTECT & PWRTEN & HS & BORDIS & WDTDIS & LVPDIS);

#define LED1 RB2
#define LED2 RB1

//Just simple delay
void Delay(unsigned long cntr) {
while (--cntr != 0);
}

int main(void) {

INTCON = 0x0; // Disable inerupt
TRISB1 = 0; // Led1 pin as output
TRISB2 = 0; // Led2 pin as output

while(1) {
// led 1 on
LED1 = 1;
// led 2 off
LED2 = 0;
// Simple delay
Delay(50000);
// led 1 off
LED1 = 0;
// led 2 on
LED2 = 1;
// Simple delay
Delay(50000);
}