PDA

View Full Version : Pic to Pic communication

fignewt
- 19th June 2009, 21:00
I am a newbie so thanks in advance for the support.

I am trying to communicate between two pics and I am having trouble finding a solid method for doing this. I am using the latest version of PICBasic pro.

I am using two 16F684 only because I happen to have 10 of them.
If I understand correctly I can't use serin or serout because the 16F684 doesn't support UART. I have been look into the Shiftin in and out but with no luck at all.

My question is, is there any other method to communicate between these two pics or is shiftin and out the only way? Also is there someplace I can find an example of how this would work.

ruijc
- 19th June 2009, 21:10
Hi there,

Check the DEBUG/DEBUGIN instructions in your PBP manual.

These instructions are very easy to work with, very stable with low osc values and fast speeds and the DEFINES are very straightforward.

My best regards
Rui

Melanie
- 19th June 2009, 21:16
Yes, you can use SERIN and SEROUT (provided you are using a Resonator or Xtal), it's HSERIN and HSEROUT that require a USART.

BrianT
- 19th June 2009, 23:42
I have a system with 5 PICs all doing separate tasks in separate boxes. The PICs are in a peer to peer system with no master. All have equal priority and lose only a few microseconds checking bus activity every time through their main software loops. If a message is pending, all PICs need about 2 mSecs to work out if the message is for them.

The hardware has a 10 way ribbon cable linking all PICs over about 2 metres and only using a few pins. 4 PICs are 18F4620 @ 20 MHz and one is a 16F88 @ 4 MHz. Each PIC has a different ID stored in location 0 of the EEPROM. All comms is at 9600 bps. Slow man is the 16F88 @ 4 MHz. With just the 18F4620 I can get a reliable 50 kilobits.