Log in

View Full Version : Disassembly listing



MikeBZH
- 11th June 2009, 17:01
Hi,

I am trying to get a disassembly listing of my PBP program.
Using MPLAB I only get a partial result for the more complex Basic statements. I mean that not all the ASM equivalent appear. For example :

82: CCP1CON = $0C
00070 0E0C MOVLW 0xc
83:
84: CCPR1L = DataByte >> 2
00074 C01C MOVFF _DataByte, ADCS1

Obviously MOVLW 0xC is not the complete translation of CCP1CON = $0C.
Some lines involving CCP1CON are missing in the assembly code.

My first question is : Is there somewhere an option or a box to be ticked in order to get the full assembly code ?

My second question is : Is there something equivalent with the MicroCode Studio development environnement. If yes, where ?

Thank you for your help

MikeBZH

Acetronics2
- 12th June 2009, 08:55
Hi, Mike BZH

the one and only way to see what is REALLY in the Controller is to load the Hex in the MPLAB Program window ... "symbolic" tab clicked.

Using MPLAB as an IDE instead of Microcode Studio makes it work by itself ... and the addresses and variables mnemonics stay as you've entered in your Basic listing ...
isn't it nice ???


Alain

PS I thought St Quentin was a town on the African continent ... not a britton's village or an American JailHouse ...

MikeBZH
- 13th June 2009, 18:37
Hi Alain,

It should be fantastic but I did not succeed.
Please can you give more details about how to proceed ?

Up to now I have done File>Import and then I have selected the hex file related to my project. I only obtain a disassembly listing of the hex file with no symbolic relation with the Basic. Where is the selection for that ?

Mike BZH

PS : Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines is full of Brittons ! I'm proud to be part of them !

jellis00
- 14th June 2009, 21:13
MikeBZH,
Once you have imported your hex code file into MPLAB IDE, select View\Program Memory and you will then see a disassembled listing of your code. In this dissassembler window, look down in the lower left of the window and you will see some tabs....one named "Machine" and one named "Symbolic". Make sure you have the Symbolic tab selected and you will then see all of the symbolics with your code. Hope this helps you!

MikeBZH
- 15th June 2009, 08:36
Hi Jellis,

Many thanks for you repply. Yes it works !

MikeBZH