PDA

View Full Version : power problem (newbie here!)

clocks
- 29th April 2009, 23:39
Hi all,

I'm making a very simple clock using a PIC16F870, with 4x 7-segment displays and latching drivers (HCF4511BE) to keep them nice and bright.

In testing the circuit with simple static digits, I get a problem when I connect more than two of the displays. I've worked out that it's a power issue as the 5 volt regulator (L7 805CV) I'm using is getting very hot.

What it the best way to isolate the logic from the display circuitry?

thanks for your time!

BobK
- 30th April 2009, 00:54
Hi clocks,

Welcome to the forum. Do you have a schematic of your project that you can share with us so that we can get an idea of what your circuit consists of? Do you have current limiting resistors between the 4511's and the displays?

BobK

clocks
- 30th April 2009, 01:16
thanks for the interest nd quick response!

below the schematic for a single display (with R220 resistors in place)

the same is repeated four times using Portc.4-7 to control the latches.

and the code:

B var portc.0
C var portc.1
D var portc.2
A var portc.3
SEG4 var portc.4
SEG3 var portc.5
SEG2 var portc.6
SEG1 var portc.7

trisc = %00000000

adcon1 = 7

test:
low seg4
gosub number1
high seg4
pause 1000

low seg3
gosub number2
high seg3
pause 1000

low seg2
gosub number3
high seg2
pause 1000

low seg1
gosub number4
high seg1
pause 1000
goto test

BLANK:
HIGH D
LOW C
HIGH B
LOW A
return

NUMBER0:
LOW D
LOW C
LOW B
LOW A
return

NUMBER1:
LOW D
LOW C
LOW B
HIGH A
return

NUMBER2:
LOW D
LOW C
HIGH B
LOW A
return

NUMBER3:
LOW D
LOW C
HIGH B
HIGH A
return

NUMBER4:
LOW D
HIGH C
LOW B
LOW A
return

end

clocks
- 30th April 2009, 01:32
(sorry, it may not be clear that I have tied all the BCDA driver inputs together)

BobK
- 30th April 2009, 11:32
Hi Clocks,