PDA

View Full Version : Program compiles and writes but can't run

jellis00
- 20th March 2009, 23:11
I am new to PICBasic Pro and the PICkit2 Starter Kit which I just purchased. I could get the PCBDemo to run via the PICkit2 with the PIC16F690 that came on the Demo board. However, when I tried run one of the sample programs that comes with PCIBASICPro Demo (SLEEP.bas), it compiles OK with MCS and I can import the resulting hex file into PICkit2 and target the device. It appears to write to the device OK, although the Verify finds an error mismatch in the Data memory, which I presume is not critical since the device has not executed the program yet or created any stored data.
However, when I try to run the program that was written to the device by clicking the box for /MCLR the program doesn't run. Here is the code I am trying to run which is very simple. Can anyone advise me what I may be doing wrong :in trying to run this program in PICkit2??
'SLEEP Command
'Slowly blink LED using low power mode delay

LED CON 16 'Identify LED pin

Loop:
TOGGLE LED
SLEEP 10
GOTO loop

Archangel
- 21st March 2009, 02:11
There is a little check box called ON listed below the text, VDD PIC Kit 2, it must be checked to power your demo board from the usb.

Archangel
- 21st March 2009, 02:13
There is a little check box called ON listed below the text, VDD PIC Kit 2, it must be checked to power your demo board from the usb. Here is a sample that works on that board.

;@MyConfig =
@MyConfig = _INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON
@MyConfig = MyConfig & _MCLRE_ON & _BOR_OFF
@ __config MyConfig

DEFINE OSC 4
PortA = 0
PortB = 0
PortC = 0
TRISA = 1
TRISB = 0
TRISC = 0
i var byte
ANSEL = 0
ANSELH = 0
CM1CON0 = 0
CM2CON0 = 0
main:

portc = 0
pause 500

for i = 1 to 15; step -1

portC = i
i=i << 1
pause 250
next i
sound portB.6, [120,2,124,2,123,2,121,2]
sound portC.6, [120,2,124,2,123,2,121,2]
goto main
end

jellis00
- 21st March 2009, 04:58