PDA

View Full Version : LCD 8x2 - SPLC780D controller



DanPBP
- 24th February 2009, 05:49
Hello Guys,

Has anyone tried this LCD controller with LCDout?

Thanks!

Daniel.

Acetronics2
- 25th February 2009, 12:44
Hi,

YES !

Nothing special, just characters table slightly different ... very slightly !

Alain

DanPBP
- 14th April 2009, 11:11
Hello Alain,

I tried the SPLC780D controller, but I couldn't make the 8x2 LCD to work.

But, my code is working fine on a 16F877 with a HD44780 controller (20x2).



DEFINE OSC 20
ADCON1 = 7

DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTD
DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTC
DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 6
DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTC
DEFINE LCD_EBIT 7
DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

Pause 500

LCDOut $fe, 1
LCDOut "Hello Word"

End


Any advice on how to configure this controller is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Daniel.

Acetronics2
- 14th April 2009, 13:26
Hi, Daniel

Could you post your LCD ref. ... I use every day a SPL controlled 2x16 Display instead of a classical 44780 , aboard my EasyPic5 Board.

So, I'd recommand you to check twice your LCD Wiring ... R/W pin grounded ??? Contrast set ???

To the end you could try LCD_COMMANDUS 2500 ... I noted my 2*8 LCDs to be a bit " lazy " ... and they need 2000 at least.

Did you try ... another 2x8 LCD ??? a damaged device is always possible ...

Alain

DanPBP
- 15th April 2009, 11:37
Hi Alain,

Well, I tried 2500 on the LCD_COMMANDUS and it's still not working.

I have a working 16F877 with a 20x2 LCD (HD44780) that works great and I use this for debbuging.

So, I replaced that LCD with the 8x2 LCD (both have pins, so nothing to solder on them) and what it does is the following: first, all the characters on the first line went black and the it clears the screen. But. I'm not seeing the text I'm trying to write.

This is the information I have on this LCD:

http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/4638/lcd8x2b.th.jpg (http://img11.imageshack.us/my.php?image=lcd8x2b.jpg)

Everything should be fine, but I'm missing something. :(

Thanks!

Daniel.

Acetronics2
- 16th April 2009, 08:43
Hi, Daniel

http://www.fordata.cn/pdf/short/fdcc0802b.pdf

Check the Contrast PIN ... you should have ~ 0.5 v on it ...

Alain

mister_e
- 16th April 2009, 15:36
Seems to be an init problem.

What I would try is to use a huge StartUp delay... let's say 2 Sec instead of 500mSec.

increase
DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50


to something like
DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 3000
DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 100

and then


LCDOUT $FE,1
FLAGS=0
pause 100
LCDOUT $FE,1," Hello"
Here:
Goto Here

Now, Is this possible that unused data pins need to be set to GND or VDD to make it work.. that's plausible.