PDA

View Full Version : serial communication problems

bronorisp
- 3rd January 2005, 06:57
Hello,

Happy New Year to all! I'm new to the PIC programming world so please bear with me, if my questions seem a little trivial. I'm programming the PIC 16F84A, using PBP software online by membership from compilespot.com. Using a 16 x 2 serial LCD module with 3-wire up. I understand from threads posted here, this should be a no brainer; however, when I try to print "Hello World" I receive different characters and symbols on the display.
Can someone explain what I may be doing wrong? Thanks for any light you can shed on this matter.

New Kid on Block

mister_e
- 3rd January 2005, 16:00
Will be a bit more simple for us if you send your code and harware description. BUT i figure you're using an serial LCD in that project. Can be a BAUDRATE problem. Be sure of this setting first (2400, 4800, 9600... )

Try to send a lcd clear function before sending data. Also, be sure your serial comm type is the right one i.e. inverted or not.

bronorisp
- 3rd January 2005, 23:49
Steve,

I checked the baud rate and the jumpers on the LCD Module are set for True 1200. If I perform a self-test on the unit, it comes on and display on the first line “Self Test Mode” and on the second line “Baud Rate: T1200”. Here’s the code for the program. Thanks for your help.

'PICBasic Pro Program 6.2 --LCD Test --
Pause 1000 'Wait 1 second for LCD to initialize
start:
Serout Portb.1, 1, [254,1] 'Clear screen
Pause 40
Serout Portb.1, 1, ["Hello World"] 'Print Message
Pause 400
GoTo start
End

Hardware:

EPIC Plus Pocket PIC Programmer w/ AC Adapter
PIC 16F84A-20/P
LCD-02 Serial LCD model w/ backlight
4 Mhz crystal

mister_e
- 4th January 2005, 01:10
try this one

TRISB=0
PORTB.1=0

start:
Serout Portb.1, 1, [254,1] 'Clear screen
Pause 40
Serout Portb.1, 1, ["Hello World"] 'Print Message
Pause 400
GoTo start
End

bronorisp
- 4th January 2005, 05:59
Steve,