PDA

View Full Version : UberNewbie can't set his clock...

Byte_Butcher
- 3rd January 2009, 01:36
Greetings all,

Well... another total PIC newbie here...

I've dabbled in electronics for a few decades and can generally navigate my way around hardware pretty well.
But I'm *totally* new to PIC's and programming in general, so please be gentle with me...

I'm attempting to build a project that requires an RTC with battery backup and an LCD display that displays (among other things).. the real time.
The problem I'm having is setting the clock.

I'm using a 16F690, a DS1302, and a standard 16x2 LCD (in 4-bit mode). Compiler is PICBASIC PRO and programmer is a PICkit2.
I've got the DS1302 and LCD up and running just fine. The clock keeps (and displays) time just fine. I also have no trouble detecting the set buttons.

The problem is SETTING the clock. I think I'm either math challenged and/or just generally clueless here.

The sample program I started with sets the initial time manually when you load the PIC, but what I need of course is to set it with buttons. That's where my troubles begin.

Here's some snippets of my code, so you've got an idea where I'm at: (just the relevant bits I think)

' Allocate variables
rtcyear var byte
rtcday var byte
rtcmonth var byte
rtcdate var byte
rtchr var byte
rtcmin var byte
rtcsec var byte
rtccontrol var byte

'**This is what I want to do away with and replace with buttons:

' Set initial time
rtcyear = $09 'Set Year
rtcday = $05 'Set Day
rtcmonth = $1 'Set Month
rtcdate = $1 'Set Date of month
rtchr = $21 'Set Hour
rtcmin = $03 'Set Minutes
rtcsec = $20 'Set Seconds
Gosub settime ' DO IT! - Set the time

'**This is the main goods:

' Subroutine to write time to RTC
settime:
RST = 1 ' Ready for transfer

Shiftout IO, SCLK, LSBFIRST, [$8e, 0] ' Enable write

RST = 0 ' Reset RTC

' Write all 8 RTC registers in burst mode
Shiftout IO, SCLK, LSBFIRST, [$be, rtcsec, rtcmin, rtchr, rtcdate, rtcmonth, rtcday, rtcyear, 0]