5x7 LED Matrix Scrolling Display

Closed Thread

Default 5x7 LED Matrix Scrolling Display

First - I am new to PBP and Pic Chips and only have little experience using the Basic Stamp from Parallax. It was suggested to me to switch to PBP and Pics if I truly wanted to learn how to use the chips in various applications.

Now - I have purchase PB Professional and upgraded to 2.50, purchased the Pickit2 from MicroChip along with getting several Pic Chips from 8 to 40 pins to play/program with.

I was starting to learn to program the Parallax SX using SX Basic so I switched and sold all my Parallax items to focus and learn Pic Chips using PBP.

I have always wanted to develop a 5x7 LED scrolling display and have purchased and built a kit that include 4ea 5x7 LED modules, a socket for a 40 Pin Pic and two 74HC425 chips for shifting the row data. As this was purchased on ebay, I now come to learn there wasn't any sample software or preprogrammed Pic Chip to experiment with.

My questions is this:

I would like to have help or sample basic program to experiment with this board using either a 16F877 or 16F887 chip. The board is complete and has 4 5x7 RG LED modules in place along with 2 switches (power/red or green selector) and 3 additional switches that can be used within the program to select subroutines or text to display.

If you go to this website you can find the schematic of the board: www.rafatronics.com

skimask Guest

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote Originally Posted by roycarlson View Post
    I have always wanted to develop a 5x7 LED scrolling display and have purchased and built a kit that include 4ea 5x7 LED modules, a socket for a 40 Pin Pic and two 74HC425 chips for shifting the row data. As this was purchased on ebay, I now come to learn there wasn't any sample software or preprogrammed Pic Chip to experiment with.
    That's what you get with flea-bay...