config help please?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    79

    Default config help please?

    Hi all, and before I go any further I want to say thanks to everyone who has helped me before
    The previous problem I had about trying to work a serial LCD, I've left that to one side for the moment, however for now... could anyone would be so kind as to look over my code and tell me what they see as obvious ( and not so obvious) mistakes.
    The bits I'm not sure about is the config fuses/settings. I'm going to make a seperate mini board to plug a pickit 2 into with basically a 5v psu, 18 pin socket and the pic and any other bits needed like diode, resistor etc.
    So ALL the programming will be done OFF the main board and all pins are being used as inputs or outputs only! (All digital)

    Ra2
    RA3
    RA4
    RA5 are ALL inputs (digital)

    RA1
    RA0 outputs to transistor switches
    RB6
    RB7 Outputs to LED's
    so basically all pins are outputs apart from ra2,3,4 and 5 which are inputs.

    the pic will be a 16F88
    2 X DS18B20 dq from each going to 2 seperate pins ( porta.4 and porta.5 )
    LCD 4 bit mode
    RS is on portB0
    E is PORTB1
    Data pins PORTB.2 LCD D7
    Data pins PORTB.3 LCD D6
    Data pins PORTB.4 LCD D5
    Data pins PORTB.5 LCD D4

    Really not sure about ALSO the bits parked with ****** in the code i.e. ansel adcon trisa trisb and so on, (or the config fuses) it will be using an 8Mhz ceramic resonator as thats what I've got handy
    The other thing I'm not sure about is the actual DS18B20's I dont know if I can have 2 each on a different port and address them as I have done, and IF I can,
    How do I set this? DS18B20_12bit CON %01111111 ; 750ms, 0.0625°C resolution?
    Sorry it wouldn't let me attach it as code (too big)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    When setting the TRIS? =%????????
    0 is for output
    1 is for input

    This best explains about setting things to digital.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=561

    And when using a resonator the config would be HS.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    79


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Think i MIGHT have that sorted now
    Code:
        CCP1CON = %00000000         ; Disable CCP Module
        SSPCON.5 = 0                ; Disable SSP Module
        TXSTA.5 = 0                 ; Disable AUSART Tx
        RCSTA.7 = 0                 ; Disable Serial Port
        CMCON =   %00000111          ; Turn off comparator
        TRISA =    %00111100
        TRISB =    %00000000
        ANSEL =   %00000000  ; Set analog ports to digital mode 
        ADCON1 = %00000111 
    
    Port B is all outputs PortA is where I MAY be going wrong, RA0 in, RA1, in,
    RA2 out, RA3out, RA4 out RA5 out 
    RA6 and RA7 clock/resonator not sure what they should be?
    Although I'm not certain about the TRISA as pins RA6 and RA7 have the resonator connected and not sure if I should have that configured there or not... but every little teaches me more

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If memory serves me for your chip. It has an internal OSC option. When using the internal then A6 and A7 can be used for I/Os. You are using an external OSC . So your TRIS for this now will only have six bits. PINs 0 through 5.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    79


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    If memory serves me for your chip. It has an internal OSC option. When using the internal then A6 and A7 can be used for I/Os. You are using an external OSC . So your TRIS for this now will only have six bits. PINs 0 through 5.
    AHH now that makes sense.. I just wasn't sure what I should do with the pics when using them as ext OSC
    Thanks

    Apart from that, does the code look ok?
    and any ideas on how to set the higher resolution of the ds18B20 with the configuration I have?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    From memory again. I think the USART on this chip is PORTB.2 and PORTB.5?
    And I think PORTA.5 is MCLR.
    Check the data sheet to be sure, but I think those parts are wrong in your code.
    As for the ds18B20. I can not help with this.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Similar Threads

  1. Run-Time Config
    By Darrel Taylor in forum PBP Extensions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 1st February 2012, 16:26
  2. A/D conversion with PIC18F67J50
    By ScaleRobotics in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 8th May 2009, 01:48
  3. 18F4550 Bootloader enter via eeprom setting
    By bradb in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 22nd November 2008, 23:51
  4. Error 0X0000008E when connecting a 18F2550 USB HID
    By FranciscoMartin in forum USB
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 16th October 2008, 17:20
  5. Installation sequence
    By Demon in forum General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: - 11th July 2006, 03:56

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts