Is this a realistic idea


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    189

    Question Is this a realistic idea

    I'm now thinking of other projects since I'm going to have the hardware and software to create with.

    Using PicBasic and a minimal amount of external hardware would it be possible to make a "repeater"? In this case, the repeater would:

    - record an IR signature (a single button a TV remote control for example)
    - transmit the recorded signal every 10 seconds for 10 minutes then stop.
    - accept another signal and do it all again.

    - Recording to be started by pushing a button or push and hold the button.
    - LED indicators for recording and transmitting (for testing only)

    I'm thinking, with my limited knowledge, this shouldn't be that bad. Would need to record the number and length of a pulse and store it then just play it back.

    This device could be used, for example. as a practical joke that always turned the TV back to a specific channel. No real practical purpose, just more learning experience.

    Bart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    for sure you can do it with only a few components and lines of codes.

    here's a link for theory:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/support/Article.pdf

    now code examples :
    http://www.rentron.com/remote.htm

    regards
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    189


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, I thought the random number issue was above my head....

    Could you do it <em>without</em> knowing the incoming protocols? Do it blind so to speak. Record and transmit without the chip needing to decode the incoming stream. The PIC just acts like a pulse recorder of whatever it sees?

    Bart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It may be possible to do it with Pulsin command but... i don't know how efficient it will be.

    You must record both Highlevel and LowLevel duration in a table or internal eeprom location, then read them and reproduce them to the output.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Saskatchewan Canada
    Posts
    189


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I'll need to do this one after a few other in-between projects. I immediately thought of the pulsin command, but even that is well beyond my current knowledge level.

    Anything else is still miles beyond me. I don't know if it could be done without matching the frequency especially in the transmit mode.

    Bart

Similar Threads

  1. How do they do this? Any idea?
    By SuB-ZeRo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 28th August 2011, 18:17
  2. Need idea hove to..?
    By phoenix_1 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 14th May 2008, 19:41
  3. Idea of master/slave serial comm.
    By sirvo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 6th December 2007, 09:36
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 18th July 2007, 11:43
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 17th July 2006, 03:23

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts