Hyperterminal problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Hyperterminal problem

    Hi,
    I am trying to send a text message using hyperterminal and AT commands
    Ex:
    at
    OK
    at+cmgf=1
    OK
    at+cmgs="2107791679" (also tried at+cmgw)
    > hello

    When I enter "ctrl z" I get a little arrow after hello
    and hyperterminal just hangs there. It doesn't respond or send the message. I have been successful using the other AT commands, as well as, dialing out using at commands.
    Is there anything I should change to actually send the message? How long does it take for hyperterminal to send the message?

    I'm using:
    Bits per second: 9600
    data bits: 8
    parity: none
    stop bits: 1
    flow control: hardware (i've also tried none)

    I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Well.. stop using it, there's tons of better tool than HyperTerm 'round...

    Realterm is one of those 1,7004,876 free one. MicroCode Studio's Serial communicator is another one.. no feature... but easy to use.

    As it's a PIC based forum, we expect you shopw us your schematic and code... unless it's like fishing in the dark with both eye close...
    Last edited by mister_e; - 30th March 2008 at 10:51.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3

    Default

    I've managed to send messages from hyperterminal using a Nokia phone. You might need to add

    AT+CSCA = "XXXXXX"

    where XXXXXX is the message centre number. So you should have

    AT+CMGF=1
    AT+CSCA = "XXXXXX"
    AT+CMGS = "phone number"
    hello

    Hope that helps,

    Stuart

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with SMS IO Controller
    By dario.costa in forum GSM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 30th November 2009, 07:04
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 30th March 2008, 15:53
  3. USART Problem , but don't know where, in pc? or in PIC?
    By precision in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 15th July 2007, 08:12
  4. 1 slave 1 master 1 MAX232 1 problem ?
    By SuB-ZeRo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: - 31st July 2005, 22:59
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 13th July 2005, 19:26

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts