Vista 64 bit OS Compiling


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6

    Default Vista 64 bit OS Compiling

    I been learning how to program PICs such as the P16F84A in school lately and been really enjoying it. We have Windows XP and use CDlite and PBC 1.45 currently and the software works fine.

    I wanted to expand and decided to purchase what I needed to learn away from school since this is my final semester. I bought the Melabs U2 Programmer and am using PicBasic Compiler. Problem is I use Vista 64 bit at home. The programmer works fine and can read and write to the PICs. I just cannot compile with the current version of PicBasic. I get compatiablity error and am asked to get a 64 bit version. I have tried different compatiability modes but I don't think that will help since its 16bit.

    Anyone know of a work-a-round other than installing WinXP? Is there a newer version of a PIC compiler out there? Also looking to set up assembly and C++ compiling too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Try MPLAB for an IDE. I think it will work for you.
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/id...&part=SW007002
    Then set up PBC as the language suite.
    http://www.microengineeringlabs.com/support/mplab.htm
    Not sure if the above step is necessary with the latest MPLAB.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I am unable to get PBC to show up in the lanuage suite. I have tried registering it and running the PBC patch but I don't think it will support the OS. Looks like the assembler will work fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, i don't have and i don't want Vista for now, but i would suggest you to contact Melabs Tech-Support. Sure they know something about that.


    EDIT:
    Quote Originally Posted by Melabs MPLAB FAQ page
    Next, download the following plugins zip file and extract its contents into your PBP installation folder. The path is usually "C:\PBP". Once extracted, run the file "PBregister.bat" (Start - Run - C:\PBP\PBregister.bat). (WINDOWS VISTA users may need to right-click the bat file in My Computer or Windows Explorer and select "Run As Administrator".

    Restart MPLAB for the changes to take effect.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 25th March 2008 at 14:38.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sent an email to them asking for a solution. Hopefully they don't say "Get another OS"

    If they send me a response, I will post it here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Dear Vista... i'll have no chance really soon to buy it to test some of my new software. It's just because i have no other choices... might be safer if i buy Vista32 and Vista64 just in case of... dear MicroBarf
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well I got a response fairly quick.

    Tuesday, March 25, 2008, 1:36:52 PM, you wrote: > I am currently using a system with Vista 64 bit on it and trying to use MPLAB IDE and the Pic Basic Compiler. Currently none of my IDEs will compiler with PBC since it is not compatible with any 64 bit OS. Is there a patch or work-a-around for this? Currently assembler and other compilers work fine.

    Their response:

    Hello,

    Not for PBC.
    We have had reports that PBP works underWin64.

    Thank you,

    microEngineering Labs, Inc.



    Looks like only Pro version will work with it then. Glad I can program in other lanuages then

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Quick Workaround

    Vista 64 enforces driver signing. If you need to disable it, at boot time when windows starts, press F8. This will start the boot options menu. In addition to safe modes and last known versions you will find, disable driver signing enforcement. This will allow you to run any programs that don't have signed drivers.

    Hopefully that works for you.

    Jon
    KR1SIS

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have tried disabling the driver signing but that didn't do anything. I think its the picbasic compiler itself. Thanks anyways.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skorp View Post
    I have tried disabling the driver signing but that didn't do anything. I think its the picbasic compiler itself. Thanks anyways.
    Another solution:

    Pay US$100 and buy an old system like PIII-800; if it does not come with an OS then set it up with Win98. This way you own a dedicated compiler machine.

    You will have a smile on your face every time you program a PIC with that machine.
    Last edited by sayzer; - 8th April 2008 at 19:34.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile PDS & Spark Technologies SparKey Drivers - VISTA x64 WORKS!

    Simply use "ReadyDriver Plus", this tool automates pressing F8 and selecting "Disable Driver Signature Enforcment" during boto in Vista, a perfect solution.

    http://citadel.x10hosting.com/readydriverplus/index.php


    I tested this using files provided by "Lester Wilson" from crownhill as below:

    http://www.picbasic.org/forum/attach...7&d=1190881109


    A simple temp solution untill somone can be bothered to sign the drivers, which i must add is not exactly the most complicated of tasks:

    http://www.vistax64.com/vista-genera...vista-x64.html

    Paul Freer
    PF Technology Ltd
    Leicester, UK

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up PDS/SparKey & VISTA X64 > IT WORKS > Compilation Success!!

    I can confirm that I have PDS and the SparKey dongle DO WORK on Vista x64

    For the following files listed below; SET Properties > Compatibility > Privilege Level > “Run this program as an administrator”.

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Crownhill\PDS\APP.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Crownhill\PDS\OPT.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Crownhill\PDS\PR_PLUS.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Crownhill\PDS\PR_PLUS_MPLAB.exe
    C:\Program Files (x86)\ProtonIDE\ProtonIDE.exe

    Ensure your dongle is enabled and working in device manager; following the details given in last post. P.S. You should have “sparkey.inf” in “C:\Windows\inf” AND “sparkey.sys” in “C:\Windows\System32\drivers”.

    Processor: Intel(R) Core(2TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.4GHz
    Memory (RAM): 2.00 GB
    System Type: 64-bit Operating System

    Anyway what am I doing up at 4pm on a Sunday trying to fix this silly problem, nite!!

    Hail All

    __________________
    Paul Freer

    PF Technology Ltd
    51 Fairefield Crescent
    Glenfield
    Leicester
    LE3 8EJ
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks for the responses, but not too worried bout it for now. I got basic pro, c++, and asm working fine.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    104


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    So my solution is to simply run my old non vista64 compatible software inside a Windows virtual PC running WinXP. Only hassle is that the Virtual PC doesn't support USB but you can easily get around that by running the Melabs programmer in vista64 and loading files from a shared directory inside the Virtual PC.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I felt that this old post needs to be updated since it ranks really high in Google searches. (This solution is not mine and has been previously posted elsewhere)

    ** Yes, you can compile with Vista x64 **


    Install:

    Picbasic Pro
    MPLab IDE (free)
    MicroCode Studio (free)

    then

    In MicroCode Studio: click on View, select Compile and Program Option, select Assembler, check 'use MPASM' box.


    Key words: incompatible with 64-bit version, unsupported 16-bit application

Similar Threads

  1. Bits, Bytes Words and Arrays
    By Melanie in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: - 14th June 2016, 07:55
  2. Doubt with interrupt on change
    By lugo.p in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 5th March 2010, 15:22
  3. Sleep Mode
    By Pesticida in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 13th March 2008, 10:31
  4. PICBasic newbie problem
    By ELCouz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: - 12th February 2008, 00:55
  5. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 01:07

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts