Help with Analog Interrupt

Closed Thread

Default Help with Analog Interrupt

Ok. After several hours of searching. I gotta ask for some help. I’m a biologist, not an electronics engineer or a programmer, so I have trouble making sense of datasheets, defining registers, writing assembly code, and all of that other stuff that PBP usually takes care of. Despite my caveman ineptitude I have managed to put together several devices that have been useful in my field work—mainly things like data-loggers.

I’m now working on a very simple data logging device that stores a time stamp whenever an external sensor is triggered. Basically the PIC could be asleep most of the time and wake up only to write a timestamp from an external real-time clock to an eeprom memory IC. Right now the external trigger is just a switch, and I am monitoring it by polling a pin with IF statements . However, the time during which the switch will remain high (triggered) could be very short, so I have to poll the switch every 10ms to make sure I don’t miss something (and the PIC does not get to sleep).

This application obviously calls for an interrupt, and I think I have found the resources I need to pull this off when using a simple on/off digital input. But, I would like to replace the switch with a flex sensor to eliminate any moving parts and corroding contacts (the device will have to live outdoors). This brings me to my first question:

The flex sensor gives an analog input, and although I believe it is possible for analog inputs to trigger interrupts, I can’t locate any resources to help me make it work, to say nothing of adjusting the sensitivity (i.e. the magnitude of the change in voltage that will cause an interrupt). Does anybody know of code examples or explanations that touch on interrupts triggered by analog inputs through the analog/digital converter (or comparators)?