Big 7 seg LED display


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 32 of 32
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136

    Question Big 7 seg LED display

    Hi everyone,
    I made a 4 digit LED clock using 4, 7segment common anode displays of 1 inch size.
    Now i want to make a bigger one using 2.3inch displays.
    But these 2.3 inch displays require more than 9.6v to function.
    Since i am multiplexing the 4 displays, i need to control the 8 cathodes (which are in parallel) and the common anodes. But these anodes require 9.6 volts.
    But the pic can supply only 5 volts. How should i make the circuit so that it supplies 9.6 volts to the displays???
    Can anyone please help me?

    Hardware :-
    4 common anode 9.6v displays (2.3 inch)
    pic16f84A

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Do a little search for Level Translator.

    You will find some Transistor, CMOS, etc etc circuits for that.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    A concept as below could work, I think.

    It is just a concept though. Can be modified for anode / cathode path.
    You will need 8-transistors + 4 for the common ones.
    ULN type of drivers could be handy here, but you need to make use of them with respect to anode/cathode issue.



    -----------------------------
    <img src="http://img10.picsplace.to/18/4x7_628_forum2.GIF" alt="Image Hosting by PicsPlace.to" >


    ------------------
    Last edited by sayzer; - 16th October 2006 at 19:09.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    This will not work.
    The transistor will work as a emittorfolower and the voltage on the emittor will not come over 4,3 volt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    While I was editing the concept, mat posted.

    How is it now?
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Nope ! or i have some doubt...
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The schena above is still not ok.
    Her an example how it should work.

    From Darrel:
    Mat, the file caused an error in vBulletin due the the filename "div. voltages.GIF". Can you try again?
    Last edited by Darrel Taylor; - 17th October 2006 at 18:19. Reason: Bad filename

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Thanks for your replies everyone..
    Is there any logic level convertion IC that can do this???

    Sayzer, your idea for the a,b,c,etc segments is using NPN transistors is what i had in mind.
    If i feed the output of the pic to a 4011 (AND gate with its both inputs made 1 common),
    and then give it to a PNP transistor, will it work???
    I think the AND gate will do the level conversion, i'm not sure ? ! ?
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 17th October 2006 at 18:15.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Here another try for the diagram.

    Last edited by mat janssen; - 17th October 2006 at 20:37.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    432


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahidali55
    Thanks for your replies everyone..
    Is there any logic level convertion IC that can do this???

    If i feed the output of the pic to a 4011 (AND gate with its both inputs made 1 common),
    and then give it to a PNP transistor, will it work???
    I think the AND gate will do the level conversion, i'm not sure ? ! ?
    No. The 4011 will still be connected to the 5v supply so the PNP will always be driven as its base will not be allowed to go to 9.6v to turn off.

    You could use a chip with open collector or open drain outputs. Another ULN2803 would do the trick but would occupy about the same space as the three resistors and NPN transistors it replaced.
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    shahidali55,

    As Keith said, you will most likey have to use two ULN type of drivers.

    Thats seems to be the way.

    Also, why not consider mat's schematic?

    Or if you have limitations, why not try finding Big Led displays with 5V, if there is any?
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    Big displays of 5v are not available...
    Thanks for the schematic Mat.
    Will your circuit work for 12v displays also???

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Exclamation

    Will this work ? ? ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Will also work on 12 volt, 15 volt.
    I cannot open your schema. There is something wrong with the server I think. Because I could also not upload my diagram's like that, so I post them somewhere else, and gave a link to this forum.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    shahidali55, Why not just use a UDN2981 for the sourcing driver as it is a direct connect to the PIC?

    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    432


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave
    Why not just use a UDN2981 for the sourcing driver as it is a direct connect to the PIC?
    Excellent find Dave. Have downloaded the datasheet and will almost certainly be using this chip in the future.
    Keith

    www.diyha.co.uk
    www.kat5.tv

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    That is indeed a nice ic, also for this solution as the CA driver. But you will lose about 2 volts over the internal output transistor.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Dave,

    Thanks for the info.

    If the circuit below is a correct operation, then this chip is indeed nice.

    Is it correct?



    ----------------
    <img src="http://img8.picsplace.to/img8/22/UDN.GIF" alt="Image Hosting by PicsPlace.to" >

    ----------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    If the UDN2981 is available here, that'll be my first choice...
    Thanks Dave for the nice chip find and Sayzer for the schematic...

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    I found another cheap alternative...
    <img src="http://www.winpicprog.co.uk/graphics/lamp_source2.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div>
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 18th October 2006 at 18:18.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    ..........
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 18th October 2006 at 18:21.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I believe UDN2981 would be cheaper since you would have to use many transistors.


    ------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    Hi everyone, thanks for all your help.
    I made my LED clock using transistors cause i couldn't get the UDN2981.
    It works great. I added an hourly animation and a battery battery backup also ( i cant belive i'm getting more than 20 hours out of a 60mAh rechargeble battery {with display off}).
    I've attached a picture of it...
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 24th October 2006 at 17:50.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Good to see something is working!

    FYI: Upon the chip info above, I checked the prices.
    The price of UDN2981 is around US$1.60-1.70 (for 1000s lots), which is a lot more expensive then traditional ULN2003 types.


    ------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    sayzer, It probably is but I don't think you can source current with a ULN2003.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yes, of course Dave.

    I had no info about this UDN2981 before, but now I will consider it when the project allows me to use it (cost & hardware etc.).


    Thanks for the info.


    -------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  27. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by shahidali55 View Post
    Hi everyone, thanks for all your help.
    I made my LED clock using transistors cause i couldn't get the UDN2981.
    It works great. I added an hourly animation and a battery battery backup also ( i cant belive i'm getting more than 20 hours out of a 60mAh rechargeble battery {with display off}).
    I've attached a picture of it...
    shahidali55,
    May I get your schem about the final Common Anoda display 7 segment (12 V) to me, couse i've same problem with you before.
    thanks for helping ...

    [email protected]

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Hi Zhao Hui.
    Check post #20.
    That schematic will drive the high current consumption at the common anode pin.
    The individual cathodes can be driven by a single NPN trasistor buffer each.
    Check the schematic below (for seperate cathode drive).
    This circuit will invert the PIC inputs so dont forget to correct this in software.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Cool

    Zhao Hui and mdaweb, here is the schematic.
    The display should be a common anode display.
    The 9.6v input shown in the schematic should not exceed the display max segment voltage.
    I have shown the connection only for the 'a' segment. The patern just has to be repeated for the rest of the segments.

    I have been using this circuit for some time now. It works great.

    But the operating logic is a bit different.
    Logic 1 on both p.1 and p.2 will turn segment 'a' on.
    p.1=1 and p.2=1 --> seg'a' on
    p.1=1 and p.2=0 --> seg'a' off
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 4th June 2007 at 18:06.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    shahidali55 and all you guys in this forum......... thank's alot for technical information my job almost done now...
    once again thaaaaankkkkkkkkk's

    pic 16F628 with 4digits (10 inc) 7seg 12 Volt



    zhao hui

  31. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Here the final Schem that work fine, no software modification on PIC ..... just use the CMOS Inverter (4049 - Hex Inverter) to invert the logic.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Zhao Hui; - 7th June 2007 at 19:19.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    136


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question Troubled Clock

    I'm having certain 'strange' errors in my digital clock.
    Processor = 16F84A @ 4 Mhz
    4 inch , 12 volt LED Display
    The schematic is almost the same as the one in the previous post.
    (A battery backup has been added)

    Problem 1:-
    The clock sometimes just 'hangs'. I think the oscillator stops or something.
    The display goes blank or most of the time only one digit on . . .

    Problem 2:-
    Timer0 is used for timekeeping (Darrel Taylor's Instant Interrupts).
    The clock suddenly stops incrementing time.
    i.e. the display multiplex routine keeps working as it can be seen that the all the digits on the display are displaying time.
    The thing is that the time never increments.
    I have programmed the colon between the digits to blink at 0.5 Hz.
    This blinking is controller by the time keeping registers mid byte which is kept updated by timer0.
    Since the digits keep showing a frozen time, and the colon stops blinking,
    Could it be that timer0 has somehow accidentally been disabled ? ? ?


    Attached Files :-

    clock.pbp - main file
    TMR0_int(ASM).pbp - interrupt handler

    Could someone please help me out ?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by shahidali55; - 12th December 2007 at 15:39.

Similar Threads

  1. Conway's Game Of Life
    By wellyboot in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: - 28th May 2020, 06:14
  2. Single digit 7 Seg LED clock - PIC16F88
    By thirsty in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 17th July 2009, 08:42
  3. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30
  4. Weird compile issue 7 segment LED display
    By George in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 21st June 2006, 02:12
  5. 7 segment digit problem (using Mister E's code)
    By jmgelba in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 9th September 2005, 20:25

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts