Lost your OSCCAL Value ???


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Talking Lost your OSCCAL Value ???

    Hi,

    Thanks to one of our friends from new Zealand ... we can recover the OscTune Value !!!

    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...mentid=1588752

    This is for 12F675, but can be translated for other ... Flash memory devices ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    My programmer already does that.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Default

    Hi, Sayzer

    Interesting - really !

    and Which is your programmer ??? How does it do that ???

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    mmm, interesting link but, sorry Alain, to me wasting my time (based on >50$/Hour) for a <2$ device is a real money waste... even with the recent things that happened...

    If you lost your OSC calibration it might mean that you overlooked your PIC programmer options.. or simply it's a freeware. With any of the previous, the first sentence apply. BTW, if you don't need anything timing critical, even with a stupid RC osc, just don't recall it and it will work.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Talking

    Hi, Steve

    Comment vas-tu, maudit Canadien ???

    We do not play the same championship ... you pro, me ... only amateur !!!

    And ... I never overwrite the cal value ( MPLAB takes care for me ...)

    Best regards

    Alain

    PS: " Un sou c'est un sou ! " ... as we say here !!!
    " a penny is a penny ! "
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 27th November 2007 at 08:39.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    Lets quote some today.

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    mmm, interesting link but, sorry Alain, to me wasting my time....

    Lets quote some more.

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e View Post
    ...If you lost your OSC calibration it might mean that you overlooked your PIC programmer options......
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Talking What's the real matter with you ???

    [QUOTE=sayzer;46721]Lets quote some today.

    Hi, Sayzer

    Might I Understand you had a bad night ???

    your programmer make and model ??? ... pleaaaaaaaaase.

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default

    Ya know ...,

    I think the first post was a perfectly valid way of regaining an OSCCAL value if it got overwritten or erased.

    What's the Beef?
    <br>
    DT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    The one I use is local made.

    I don not think you can find it in France, but if you like to import and trade, I can help you out.

    <img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2158&stc=1&d=119615681 8">
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Question

    Hi, Sayzer


    If I try to understand Turkish ... I see "read","Ok","cancel" and "help" commands ( think to correct me if I'm wrong ... )


    so, With that programmer, seems You could only read or modify the cal value ...


    but, if overwritten ( by error ! ) ... you can't recover the initial value.

    My Picstart also does read/modify ...


    but I don't know any programmer in this small world able to recover a LOST value. ... would yours automatically retrieve that value ???

    Alain

    PS: By the way ... does " Oku " mean you got it wrong ???
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 27th November 2007 at 14:16.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,562

    Default

    Finally, I got it !!!

    no Turkish product at all ... booooo !!!

    http://www.kitsrus.com/pdf/k149d_intro.pdf

    and the "Microburn" program doesn't show any kind of auto-retrieving for the cal value ...

    Program also FREELY available in English ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

Similar Threads

  1. How to Reset Osccal Value
    By greensasquatch in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 1st September 2008, 03:11
  2. 12f509 and OSCCAL
    By mwhatley in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 20th October 2007, 01:35
  3. Hserin, 1st character always lost!
    By Ioannis in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 5th June 2007, 12:49
  4. PIC12F629 - OSCCAL LOST in combat
    By ewandeur in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 28th March 2007, 21:06
  5. Problem DEFINE OSCCAL and PBP 2.46
    By David in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd April 2005, 17:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts