16F877A issue


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 16F877A issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382

    Default 16F877A issue

    I recently moved a project from a 16F876A to the 16F877A. Everything was bread boarded so I just pulled out the 876 and inserted the 877. The code ported over fine but now I'm having trouble getting the pic to reliably "boot." I have to turn the power on and off to the breadboard multiple times and then suddenly it will "boot."

    I've check my code and I can't see anything that would do this. I've gone through and verified all the hardware connections and I don't see anything odd.

    Thoughts? Things to check?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Ben,

    Do you have a cap between Vcc and ground pins close to the PIC? The A series are a lot more sensitive to power supply ripple/noise.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If memory serves I have a 1uf cap near by; I will triple check tonight. I've also tried a 47uf cap on the power rail, but no change.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    On the 877A I place 0.1uF caps right beside the PIC between pins 11/12 and 31/32. Had odd
    problems just like this before adding the caps.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I will give that a go tonight and report my results.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Didn't help...I even swapped the pic out for a new one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DynamoBen View Post
    I recently moved a project from a 16F876A to the 16F877A. Everything was bread boarded so I just pulled out the 876 and inserted the 877.


    I hope there was some re-wiring going on there too. ??


    _
    DT

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I guess that was assumed. When I do get the device to "boot" everything works as it should.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    IF power is already on.
    When you take MCLR low, does it reset and restart everytime?

    If the power supply rises very slowly when turned on, the PIC may not RESET.
    The minmum is 0.05 V/ms, so it must reach 4V in 80ms or less.

    Really BIG caps can slow it down. But if it worked on the 876 it should still work on the 877
    ---------------

    Since you moved the oscillator, did the CAPs get in the right place too. Crystals won't always start up if 1 cap is missing, but still may sometimes.
    ---------------

    Grasping at straws.

    _
    DT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    382


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    So I stripped my code back to just a blinking LED, which worked consistantly. That got me thinking...

    Previously my indication that the device was functioning was based on a serial data status LED. I would consider the chip "booted" after serial data was recieved by the pic and the LED went on. On the 16F876A Rx for the UART is on PortB, on the 16F877A its on PortC. After looking at TRISC I noticed that TRISC.7 in my code was not set. I set it and things seems to be "working" now.

    Long story short, check your TRIS settings. I must have check that a dozen times in the last 2 days. I guess I've been staring at this code too long Thanks for the help!

Similar Threads

  1. 16F877 vs. 16F877A
    By DavyJones in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 11th April 2009, 18:22
  2. help my bluetooth and PIC 16F877A?
    By slimpeng in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 18th March 2008, 06:52
  3. 18F1320 ... Strange Memory
    By Acetronics2 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: - 9th April 2006, 09:55
  4. Clock connection to DS1802 from 16F877A
    By coyotegd in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 3rd January 2006, 18:52
  5. 1st 16F877A program in PICBasic
    By Borisw37 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 19th January 2005, 04:46

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts