LCD 4-bit mode affecting rest of port?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Mark Scotford's Avatar
    Mark Scotford Guest

    Default LCD 4-bit mode affecting rest of port?

    PicBasic Pro
    PIC17C756A
    Slow Learner

    I am using the bottom half of a port to write data to an LCD in 4-bit mode and using the top half to output to another device. My trouble is that everytime I send data to the LCD, it changes the data on the top half of the port. Everthing is displayed correctly on the LCD, and everthing works when controlling the other device, but only after removing the LCDout commands. Your help would be very much appreciated.

    TRISB = %00110000
    TRISC = %00000100
    TRISD = %11111111
    TRISE = %1101
    TRISF = %00000000
    TRISG = %11101110

    ADCON1 = %000000000111

    ADCON1.7 = 1 'Right Justify the results

    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTF
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTC
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 7
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTC
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 6
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

    DEFINE ADC_BITS 10
    DEFINE ADC_CLOCK 3
    DEFINE ADC_SAMPLEUS 50

    (rest of code removed for clarity)

    PORTF = %10110000
    LCDOut $FE,1,#B8

    (rest of code removed for clarity)

    (I get the value of B8 displayed OK, but this intereferes with my attempt to write 1011 to the top half of the port)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    511


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Mark,

    Mark>>
    PORTF = %10110000
    LCDOut $FE,1,#B8

    (rest of code removed for clarity)

    (I get the value of B8 displayed OK, but this intereferes with my attempt to write 1011 to the top half of the port)<<


    I think what is happening is your computer Chip is too fast.
    When you write to PORTF, you are writing B0,
    PORTF=%10110000 (Writing B0)


    And a immediate write of a #B8 will destory your B0.

    You need to make SURE that the B0 is read BEFORE you write your #B8. If you don't, you r B0 is worthless and gone.

    Maybe you need a PAUSE statement inbetween your statements. When you put a pause there, you are giving your device enough time to read Port f the first time. Then you are outputting your data to your screen.

    PORTF = %10110000
    PAUSE 1000 'enough time to ENSURE device reads Portf
    LCDOut $FE,1,#B8


    Dwayne
    Ability to Fly:
    Hurling yourself towards the ground, and missing.

    Engineers that Contribute to flying:
    Both optimists and pessimists contribute to the society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute

    Pilots that are Flying:
    Those who know their limitations, and respect the green side of the grass...

  3. #3
    Mark Scotford's Avatar
    Mark Scotford Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Just found another problem (I am sinking fast) Using the same defines/TRIS etc as before, if I use PORTB.3 = 1 (for example) this does not work. If I use HIGH PORTB.3 this does work. This only applies to PORTB, for example I can use PORTC.1 = 1 with no problem. Please help.

  4. #4
    Mark Scotford's Avatar
    Mark Scotford Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Dwayne, I tried putting a long pause in between statements and this did in deed sort the problem, this has created another problem, because I did need to update the LCD with an ever changing value (within a loop), without upsetting the write I am trying to do to the other half of the port. I thought that in the LCD DEFINE (4-Bit Mode), this meant theoretically that you isolated one half of the port from the other, but from my experience, and from what you suggested, this appears not to be the case, am I correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    Hi Mark,

    It sounds like you have found the ReadModifyWrite "feature" of the pics. Even when you manipulate one bit on a port, the pic internally reads the entire port, modifies the bit and then writes it back to the port. This means that if you have a capacitive load on a pin, the pin will need some time to reach the "correct" value. If you try to change another pin on the port too soon, the pic will read an erronous value on the previous pin. The easiest solution is to wait for the pin/port to settle.

    However ....... If you have this problem, you have exceeded the pics specifications. If you change your design to get "inside" the specs, the problem will go away.

    Cheers
    /Ingvar

    PS. This problem is usually caused by a capacitor connected directly to a pin or a LED connected without a series res. DS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    511


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    hello Ingvar,

    I>>PS. This problem is usually caused by a capacitor connected directly to a pin or a LED connected without a series res. DS<<

    For the gents problem, it doesn't matter whether a capacitor is there or not....

    His code is this:

    PORTF = %10110000
    LCDOut $FE,1,#B8


    It will immediately assign portf to B0, and a microsecond later output a value to the LCD on the exact same port. This means, the receiver of the B0 *MUST* be EXTREMELY FAST, and *MUST* be in the Recieve Data mode at almost the very same time your POrtF sends the B0. Or you will lose the data. Capacitor or not...don't matter.

    I play with this with my home made Serial communication programs. It times the Transmit and Recieve parts of two chips. The reciever MUST be Slower than the transmitter at the initialization, but faster than the transmitter when receiving the data. The result is a extremely high baudrate transmittion.

    Dwayne
    Ability to Fly:
    Hurling yourself towards the ground, and missing.

    Engineers that Contribute to flying:
    Both optimists and pessimists contribute to the society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute

    Pilots that are Flying:
    Those who know their limitations, and respect the green side of the grass...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    511


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Mark,

    Mark>>Thanks Dwayne, I tried putting a long pause in between statements and this did in deed sort the problem<<

    Ok. that is good. That means your receiver is recieving the data.

    Mark >>, this has created another problem, because I did need to update the LCD with an ever changing value (within a loop), without upsetting the write I am trying to do to the other half of the port. I thought that in the LCD DEFINE (4-Bit Mode), this meant theoretically that you isolated one half of the port from the other, but from my experience, and from what you suggested, this appears not to be the case, am I correct?<<

    I do not know this, I did not write the LCDout for PBP. I would assume you are correct. But since you are writing a 8 Bit to the port, your LCD has a chance to see the 1/2 of the bit write when you toggle.

    This may sound rather crude, But have you thought about using a Serial Based LCD program? Instead of using a pin to Toggle a LCD read, us that pin to output the data to the Serial LCD. I think that would be slick as snot, and very easy to impliment. If you need the Code, I will send it to you. I built one with a 16F648A (But any chip with a PortB will probably work).

    Granted, it is transmitting at 2400 to 9600 baud, but even at that speed, it shoots that data out to that LCD faster than you can see it go.


    Dwayne
    Ability to Fly:
    Hurling yourself towards the ground, and missing.

    Engineers that Contribute to flying:
    Both optimists and pessimists contribute to the society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute

    Pilots that are Flying:
    Those who know their limitations, and respect the green side of the grass...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    511


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Mark,

    One other thing,

    That pause statement is 1 second long. I used this, to make sure that the receiver read the data.

    You might be able to experiment with that pause statement and find that "PERFECT" Pause, so that both the Reciever reads the data, and the output to the LCD works. (I don't know your setup, so I don't knwo what you are trying to accomplish).

    Try lowering the pause to
    Pause 1

    if it still works,

    Pauseus 500

    if it still works

    Pauses 250.

    And keep dividing in half.

    Soon it will stop working... and you have a range to play with. You may find that if you have a pauseus between (lets say) 100 and 150 both receiver and LCD will work.

    Why? because the pause is long enough for the receiver to work, and long enough for the LCD to work.

    Another idea, is have your receiver check for something other than B0. Why? because the reciever will know that the data is LCD data, not its data. As soon as the Reciever sees its different than B0, it knows its good data, and can process it. Then you can happily have a LCD and your receiver working at the same time.
    Ability to Fly:
    Hurling yourself towards the ground, and missing.

    Engineers that Contribute to flying:
    Both optimists and pessimists contribute to the society. The optimist invents the aeroplane, the pessimist the parachute

    Pilots that are Flying:
    Those who know their limitations, and respect the green side of the grass...

  9. #9
    Mark Scotford's Avatar
    Mark Scotford Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Dwayne, I cannot change the Hardware at this stage, its already cost me over £300 in prototyping expenses. So I will have to live with the longish pause, I will experiment as you suggest with ever dcreasing Pauses, till I find the minimum and add a bit for safety. Incidentaly there are no Capacitive loads on any of the PIC pins. I have now found another short coming in my limited knowledge to do with the ADC, will post as a different question.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default LCD display problem

    Dear Sir,

    The LCD works fine as long as the power is supplied non-stop. However, when I turn LCD power off and turn on again, LCD displays two line black square forever, similar to power on first time. The power of PIC18F8520 is always on (never off). The definition of LCD is as follows:

    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 2
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTA
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTF
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 8

    Your help and advice would be very much appreciated.

    Yuantu
    Yuantu Huang

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Post

    The display needs to be initialized again, after poweron(and a pause) you need to do ......

    Flags=0
    LCDOUT blah,blah ,blah.......

    /Ingvar

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Thanks

    Hi Ingvar,

    Thank you very much. You are right. The LCD needs to be reset after the power is restored. I can use

    lcdout $fe,$38
    lcdout $fe,$0c
    lcdout $FE, 1

    to restore 8 data line LCD display. But the above did not make 4 data line LCD display work. Could you please give me some suggestion how to fix the problems.

    Thank you very much.

    Yuantu
    Yuantu Huang

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry but Ingvar gives you the solution...
    FLAGS=0

    it's written in the PBP manual too.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 22nd August 2005 at 05:40.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    20


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Thanks

    Hi Steve,

    I thought FLAGS was a pseudo flag. Now I understand FLAGS = 0 is a LCD reset statement. It is working.

    Thank you and Ingvar for your help.
    Yuantu Huang

Similar Threads

  1. PIC16F684 + LCD to use the 256bytes of EEPROM - HELP
    By xnihilo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 7th March 2008, 15:19
  2. PICBasic newbie problem
    By ELCouz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: - 12th February 2008, 01:55
  3. How to set TMRO & TMR3 as Counter?.
    By NatureTech in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: - 18th May 2007, 09:52
  4. LCD port bit choices
    By rossfree in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 3rd September 2006, 11:22
  5. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 02:07

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts