Serout2 and Serin2 problem


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    MrSafe's Avatar
    MrSafe Guest

    Default Serout2 and Serin2 problem

    Hi, I managed to get my arrays working thanks to the people who helped me with that. However now I have a new problem from some reason the receiving unit is not receiving any data I am not sure what I'm doing wrong. What I am trying to do is take data from the TX unit and transfer it to the RX unit. The TX unit takes data from a 4x4 keypad which is then stored within a string or an array and then transfered by pressing the enter key or key 15.

    In the attached files one is the TX unit and the other is the RX unit code I have also included my Serin2 which will not work.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have not studied your code yet but two things I have noticed so far.
    1- Serial communications are VERY time sensitive, I did not see at the beginning.
    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 8 'or what ever you are using
    This tells the speed that the PIC is running at.

    2 - A PortA pin is used for the serial. If the PIC has an ADC you will need to make that pin a digital I/O

    Another thing to do. Instead of making the whole code at once (the problem could be any where) start off by making a test code that will say blink an LED to see that the PIC is running while sending something out by serial. Same on receive. In other words, get one thing working at a time. Then start adding to the code.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    MrSafe's Avatar
    MrSafe Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have tested another method where the data is sent as the user inputs his value and it works fine HOWEVER with the array I hoped to store the inputs the user inputs and then send them out by one by using the string command for the method that sends each input as it is inputed I used serout not serout2 because from what I understand serout will not work with str commands

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    MrSafe,

    I take it that you have the PICs talking to each other now.
    If you have not seen this current thread, http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=6778
    it might interest you.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

Similar Threads

  1. SLOW Serin2 and Serout2
    By dragons_fire in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 26th June 2009, 02:38
  2. Problem with serin2 serout2
    By jasem700 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 6th March 2009, 18:55
  3. SEROUT2 and SERIN2 commands
    By bangunprayogi in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 4th August 2005, 09:03
  4. Simple PC Menu System with Serin2
    By Tom Gonser in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 3rd April 2005, 08:27
  5. Serin2 and Serout2 with or without level converter
    By fbestepe in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 31st May 2004, 07:10

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts