Newbie: Temperature measurements

Closed Thread

Default Newbie: Temperature measurements

Hi,
    Please bear with me while I fill you in on some background info before I ask my question. I am a total newbie to PICs and have barely understood what is possible. I have gotten myself a book and a programmer is on the way. Meanwhile I am using a simulator.
    I have a sound understanding of programming and while I have not used Basic before (or at least not this kind of Basic) I am confident that Ill manage.
    I have however no real background in electronics and am often stumbled but the simplest things.
    My goal is to create a circuit based on the PIC16f84a that can "sit" somewhere battery powered for ca. 48 hours and take a temperature reading every minute/10minutes/hour. After 48 hours I will pick it back up and connect it to my PC (via USB or serial) to get the data in textform and repeat the process.
    Now, with that in mind I pose my questions:
    1. Is that even possible?
    2. Do you think that the electronics involved will take years to learn?

Please don’t misunderstand me. I am very prepared to learn and put my time in. Especially since once having accomplished this, I could go on and do the same for humidity and pressure for what seems a very reasonable price. However, it is possible to do all this with USB ready hardware and that is what I am using at the moment.
    On the one hand I am very tempted by the flexibility PICs seem to offer but on the other I am daunted by the electronics involved.
    This forum seems to have its share of experienced Members. What do you think? Please feel free to tell me that I am wasting my time or ask for any more information that you might need. Meanwhile I will try to get that silly LED to blink...

PS: In case you have any further newbie electronics website, please list them. Especially ones with Tutorials and Case studies. Magazines are not really an option for me.