Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 27 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default Communications Example : PC to PIC bi-directional dialogue

    Judging by the emails I'm getting, folks have missed this hidden away at the end of another thread... so it's been repeated with a thread all of it's own.

    Here's a sample program, thrown together for fun this lunchtime, to demonstrate bi-directional dialogue with a PC running something like Hyperterminal. It runs at 300 baud so almost any PIC will run it without an Xtal or Resonator (but best with!!!!).

    The object of the program is to demostrate how commands can be passed from the PC User and acted upon by the PIC.

    Yes, whatever you type on your PC is echoed back to you as feedback. The program is reasonably interactive... it tells you when you're Bad!, and tells you when you're OK. UPPERCASE and lowercase and cOmBINatIOns are handled with reasonably idiot-proof command interpretation... this is done by parsing the received command line (in a simplified manner for this example) rather than the usual way of having SERIN (or whatever) WAITing for a valid command.

    You can even use the BACKSPACE Key and have the PIC perform rudimentary line editing.

    PIC has five LED's which can be remote controlled in a variety of ways with commands like ON, OFF, BLINK, SWEEP and BEER. The major commands have sub-parameters which can be added to make control more interesting. Plenty of expansion for you to do your own thing.

    Example:

    ON Switch ON all LEDs
    ON 2 Switch ON LED number 2

    you can even have abnormally large gaps between the Command (eg ON) and the sub-parameters (eg 2)

    ON 4 7 Switch ON LED number 4 for 7 seconds
    BLINK 1 15 Blink LED number 1 15 times
    OFF 1 Switch OFF LED number 1
    SWEEP 25 Sequentially Sweep all LEDs 25 times

    Try to break it (if you can) by typing combinations of garbage or having line lengths bigger than 10 bytes (my preset communications buffer maximum)....

    Full instructions in the program comments.

    Melanie
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Some of you may not have PBP, but might like to try the program to play with... so I've appended the HEX ready to burn into a 16F628.

    LED1 is on RA0, kathode to PIC, anode to Vdd via Resistor (eg 330R). LED2 is on RA1 similarly. LED3 is on RA2. LED4 is on RA3 and finally LED5 is on RA4.

    Connect RB1 (RX) via 1K5 Resistor to PC pin 3 on 9-Pin D Connector. Connect (TX) RB2 via 1K5 Resistor to PC pin 2 on 9-Pin D Connector. Connect your PICs Vss (0v) to PC pin 5 on 9-pin D Connector.

    You don't need an xtal or Resonator, and you don't need to worry about connecting the MCLR pin either. Those pins should be left unconnected. Just the LED's and the connections to your PC.

    The appended file is a HEX file. Unfortunately this forum does not allow the uploading of files with HEX extensions, therefore rename comms1.txt as comms1.HEX before programming.

    Melanie
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    PaulB's Avatar
    PaulB Guest

    Default

    Hi Melanie,

    I assume that this will only work with a program compiled with PicBasic Pro and not PicBasic?

    I have just purchased PicBasic and I planned to use this program for testing my programmer ( Velleman P8048), but I see that you use the DEBUG/DEBUGIN commands for communicating with the PC.

    My Compiler manual says that DEBUG is not supported although it is syntax checked!

    Can I not use the SERIN and SEROUT commands instead?

    I haven't worked out how to address PortA pins yet/ Seems that all I/O points to PortB?

    Regards

    PaulB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    You should be able to reassign the I/O to whatever pins you fancy. I put the LEDs on PortA from memory, so it was obvious to put the other stuff on PortB.

    Sure, you can use SERIN/OUT.

    I do check examples like this before posting them... It should port to PBC... however, not having it I'm reluctant to post examples and code that I haven't tried and tested. somebody will always come back and say this or that didn't work and I'd have no way of checking it.

  5. #5
    PaulB's Avatar
    PaulB Guest

    Default

    Hi Melanie,

    Thanks for the reply.

    I thought that the SERIN and SEROUT were OK, but wanted to check.

    Off topic, I'm really looking for a started guide to the use of PBC. The manual with it gives the syntax of the language tokens etc, but is not clear on use of directives etc and how to change the type of PIUC.

    I thought that I should have simply been able to run your demo throug the compiler and get a HEX file at the end, but it barfs at the first @ directive!

    I'll have a look through the forum again and post a note if I dont find anything.

    Regards

    Paulb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Hi Melanie...

    I am having a little problem with your program.

    I loaded it into the 16f628a, and it appears the characters are getting to the rx port, but no echo's or messages....


    Hi...

    Sorry it's taken me so long to verify this... just so much work and so little time.

    Worked straight away witha 16F628A out of the box... but... then I tried it on a normal 16F628 (just a random selection from stock)... and I had comms errors!... not all the keys on the keyboard would echo, and those that did were wrong.

    So I recompiled for a 4MHz xtal (Resonator actually using XT_OSC), added the bits... and tried the chip that was giving me problems... whoo-hoo... away it ran without errors.

    This just proves that Async comms even at 300 Baud are not always reliable on internal oscillator. The variances between individual chips are just too great.

    I shall post this on the forum.

    Melanie
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    D-Work's Avatar
    D-Work Guest

    Default

    Hello,

    I have a problem with this sample. When a open PICBASIC Terminal and type ON nothing happens but when a type ON 1 the PIC return Bad!.

    Whats seems the problem, i think the PIC works fine because in the terminal i get the Bad! answer from the PIC

    Thanks,
    David

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Please see the previous posts on this thread. You either have the wrong baudrate, or your PICs internal oscillator is out of spec and you need to recompile using an xtal or resonator.

  9. #9
    D-Work's Avatar
    D-Work Guest

    Default

    I use the baudrate provided in the source code "300 baud, 8 Data Bits, No Parity, 1 stop Bit, No Flow Control".
    The problem is i get errors while compiling your code, i use version 2.1.3 of Proton+.

    Code:
    Error at Line [112]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Value Expected! ***
    Error at Line [165]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Variable or Value is Missing! ***
    Error at Line [170]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Square opening bracket '[' missing! ***
    Error at Line [183]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Square opening bracket '[' missing! ***
    Error at Line [211]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Syntax error! ***
    Error at Line [247]	In file [COLOK.BAS]		*** Syntax error! ***
    Error at Line [250]	In file [COLOK.BAS]	*** Misplaced or Incorrect 'ENDIF'. Also check its corresponding IF Command! ***
    Regards,
    David
    Last edited by D-Work; - 24th October 2005 at 03:53.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Weird error message if you'd copy/paste the Melanie's code...Be sure you use MELABS compiler.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    My examples are NOT written for Proton but for MeLabs PBP and are posted on this forum and on MeLabs website. The code works perfectly when used with compiler it was intended for.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    851

    Default Some clarifications if you please

    Hello Melanie

    I have seen the code you posted. I have a couple of queries and would like to know your opinion on them.

    You use a step wise approach of building the command in the buffer by reading characters one by one. Can I use a construct like this and get away with it? If not, what could be the catch?
    Code:
            ' wait for a command terminated by CR
            hserin  [STR CmdBuf\16\13]
    You compare commands with templates in EEPROM. Is there a way to avoid this and compare directly with templates in program space? I plan to have a strcmp function for each template I want checked. So, I might invoke it like this

    gosub CheckCmd1
    if Result then Command1
    gosub CheckCmd2
    if Result then Command2

    Each CheckCmd function will check the Command Buffer against the template it has.

    I am trying to do this
    Command1 - TS ddmmyy hhnn <CR> Time Set
    Command2 - GL <CR> Get Log
    Command3 - CL <CR> Clear Log

    I'd like to know what you think of this approach

    Thanks
    Jerson

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Yes you can read in a string of characters the way you specify... but the problem is you are locked in the HSERIN or SERIN command until the number of characters that you specify in your string have arrived. If it's a keyboard input from a host for example, and they go off for a Coffee and a natter in the little-boys room half-way thru the string, then so does your PIC. The best way is to poll the Received Flag in the USART by background interrupt and continually feed a ring buffer. But that's a subject for another time.

    No problem with comparing against what's in program-codespace rather than in EEPROM. My example was written that way so people can understand and play with it more easily.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Posts
    851

    Default Thank You

    Melanie

    Thanks very much. Your feedback has been helpful. Input will be through another PIC and so the human speed does not matter.

    Jerson

  15. #15

    Default

    Hi, I compile and get some errors. Sorry, but I had to attach it in a picture format.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Works for me...

    H:\Data-Reference\PIC\PBP246>pbp -p16f628 comms1 -v
    PicBasic Pro Compiler 2.46, (c) 1998, 2005 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    PM.EXE H:\DATA-R~1\PIC\PBP246\comms1.ASM
    PM Assembler 4.07, Copyright (c) 1995, 2004 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    921 words used.

    You didn't explain how you've compiled it, but if you follow the example in the PBP manual you will have no problems.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    If you're not using a MELABS compiler you'll have this error message, this error messge also apply on the low cost PBC compiler. It may also happen on PBP using MPASM as assembler.

    i suspect the MPASM as assembler, just rem the config fuses (somewhere at the top of the code, and use the correct syntax for MPASM. See FAQ to know how to.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default PIC 2 PIC comm

    Hi
    i m need of code for transmitting data from one PIC and another PIc receives the transmitted data,the communication is via SPI.i tried a lot bt i didnt get the o/p.i want to know what are the registers i have to configure.and i wantto know whether i have to dowload the transmitter prgm in one PIC and receiver program in another program.plz help me,i need it urgently.plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.i m using pic16f877a

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    down south
    Posts
    90

    Default

    I converted this to run on a 16f676 it compiled but when I ran it I only get every other character back If I type Richard I get Rcad, if I type 123456789 I get 13579 and I guess because it's only "seeing" every other character I can not operate the LED
    any ideals
    thanks


    Code:
           '      code by Melanie  converted to be used with 16f676 by grounded
            '      added 4mhz external clock for this project to correct problems
            '            using microCode Studio and it's serial communicator
    	'	-------------------------------------------------------------
    	'	
            '        CPU Hardware Layout
    	'	-------------------
    		
    	'	pin changed to use with 16f676
    	'	PortA.0 - RX cable via 1K5 Resistor to PC pin 3 on 9-Pin D Connector
    	'	PortA.1 - TX cable via 1K5 Resistor to PC pin 2 on 9-Pin D Connector
    	'	
    	'	PortC.0 - LED1 to VDD via Resistor
    	'	PortC.1 - LED2 to VDD via Resistor
    	'	PortC.2 - LED3 to VDD via Resistor
    	'	PortC.3 - LED4 to VDD via Resistor
    	'	PortC.4 - LED5 to VDD via Resistor
    
    	'	Don't forget to connect Vss to PC pin 5 on 9-pin D Connector
    
    	  pic16f676
        '   FUSES SET IN INC FILE
        '   _XL_OSC, WDT_ON, MCLR_OFF,
        '   CPD_OFF, BOD_OFF, PWRT_ON,PROTECT_OFF
        
        
        DEFINE OSC 4           'EXTERNAL CLOCK SPEED 4MH.added for this project 
        pause 2000             'DELAY TO LET STABILIZE AFTER POWER UP 
        CMCON = 7              'COMPARATOR OFF
        VRCON = 0              'VOLTAGE REF. DISABLE	
        ANSEL = 0              'DIGITAL
        OPTION_REG=0           'DEFAULT 
        WPUA = 0               'NO WEAK PULLUPS  
        INTCON=0               'INTERUPPTS OFF
        
    	 
    	'	Debug (Communication) Defines (Transmit)
    	'	----------------------------------------
    	DEFINE DEBUG_REG PORTA  'CHANGED FROM B FOR 16F676
    	DEFINE DEBUG_BIT 1
    	DEFINE DEBUG_BAUD 300
    	DEFINE DEBUG_MODE 1                        
     
    	'
    	'	DEBUG (Communication) Defines (Receive)
    	'	----------------------------------------
    	DEFINE DEBUGIN_REG PORTA     'CHANGED FROM B
    	DEFINE DEBUGIN_BIT 0
    	DEFINE DEBUGIN_BAUD 300
    	DEFINE DEBUGIN_MODE 1
     
    	
    
    	'
    	Data	@0,2,"ON",0,0,0,0,0
    	Data	3,"OFF",0,0,0,0
    	Data	5,"BLINK",0,0
    	Data	5,"SWEEP",0,0
    	Data	4,"BEER",0,0,0
    	Data	0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
    	Data	0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
    	Data	0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
    	Data	0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
    	Data	0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
    
    	'
    	'	RAM Assignments and Variables
    	'	-----------------------------
    	BadFlag var BIT			' Flag for Bad Command
    	CounterA var BYTE		' Just a Counter
    	CounterB var BYTE		' Just a Counter
    	CounterC var BYTE		' Just a Counter
    	CounterW var WORD		' Word-sized Counter
    	Command var BYTE		' Holds the Command action to execute
    	CommsBuffer var BYTE [10]	' Max Comms Command Line size
    	CommsPointer var BYTE		' Pointer to data in Comms Buffer
    	LEDStatus var BYTE
    	DataA var BYTE			' Usage as Data Byte
    	Xvariable var BYTE		' 1st Numeric Variable
    	Yvariable var BYTE		' 2nd Numeric Variable
    
    	'
    	'	Program Constants
    	'	-----------------
    	BufMax con 10			' Max size of data Buffer
    	CommandMax con 10		' Max number of COMMANDS to be processed
    
    
    
    	'
    	'	Start - Initialise Processor
    	'	============================
    	TRISA=%00000001
    	TRISC=%00000000              'changed from B to C for 16f676
    	Xvariable=0:Gosub LEDsOFF	' All LEDs OFF
    	'
    	'	Clear Buffer ready for start of New Command Line
    	'	------------------------------------------------
    RestartLine:
    	For CounterA=1 to BufMax
    		CommsBuffer[CounterA-1]=0
    		Next CounterA
    	CommsPointer=0			' Set Pointer to Start of Buffer
    	'
    	'	Communications (Closed) Loop
    	'	----------------------------
    ReadLoop:
    	DEBUGIN [DataA]
    	If DataA<32 then 
    		If DataA=8 then 				' Process BACKSPACE Key
    			If CommsPointer>0 then 			' ---------------------
    				CommsPointer=CommsPointer-1	' Rewind one position
    				CommsBuffer(CommsPointer)=0	' Erase character in Buffer
    				DEBUG $08,$20,$08		' Echo Erase sequence to PC
    				Goto ReadLoop
    				endif
    			endif
    		If DataA=13 then goto ENTERKey
    		Goto ReadLoop
    		endif
    	If DataA>126 then goto ReadLoop
    	DEBUG DataA			' Only Echo Printable Characters
    	If DataA>96 then		' Convert all alphabetics to UPPERCASE
    		If DataA<123 then DataA=DataA-32
    		endif
    	CommsBuffer(CommsPointer)=DataA	' Save to Buffer
    	CommsPointer=CommsPointer+1	' Bump Pointer
    	If CommsPointer<10 then goto ReadLoop
    					' Loop for next character
    	'
    	'	Process [ENTER] Key
    	'	-------------------
    	'	also execute if Command Buffer exceeded
    ENTERKey:
    		'
    		'	This section Parses the Command Line
    		'	====================================
    			'
    			'	Look for Command WORD 
    			'	(scan through available Command vocabulary)
    			'	-------------------------------------------
    	Gosub LSpace			' Remove Leading Blanks
    	Gosub REnd			' Locate Command Word End
    	If CounterA=0 then goto EchoCRLF
    					' Nothing to Process
    	For Command=1 to CommandMax
    		BadFlag=0
    		CounterB=(Command-1)*8
    		Read CounterB,DataA	' Get Preset Command word Length
    		If DataA=CounterA then	' If Length correct, process entire word
    			For CounterC=1 to CounterA
    				CounterB=CounterB+1
    				Read CounterB,DataA
    				If CommsBuffer(CounterC-1)<>DataA then BadFlag=1
    				Next CounterC
    			If BadFlag=0 then goto GoodCommand
    			endif
    		Next Command
    			'
    			'	Bad Command Word
    			'	----------------
    BadMove:
    	DEBUG REP $00\8,13,10,"Bad!"
    					' Tell User No Cigar
    	
    EchoCRLF:
    	DEBUG 13,10			' New Line
    	Goto RestartLine		' Loop Round and Do again
    
    			'
    			'	Parse for First Numeric Variable (if any)
    			'	-----------------------------------------
    GoodCommand:
    	Gosub ShuffleData	' Advance Command Line to start of next Word (if any)
    	Gosub REnd			' Locate End of next word
    	Gosub GetNumericWord		' Get numeric value
    	If BadFlag=1 then goto BadMove	' Invalid Data
    	Xvariable=DataA			' Save 1st Numeric Variable
    			'
    			'	Now check for 2nd Numeric Variable (if any) on the Command Line
    			'	---------------------------------------------------------------
    	Gosub ShuffleData	' Advance Command Line to start of next (last) Word (if any)
    	Gosub REnd			' Locate End of word
    	Gosub GetNumericWord
    	If BadFlag=1 then goto BadMove	' Invalid Data
    	Yvariable=DataA			' Save 2nd Numeric Variable
    	'
    	'	Execute Command
    	'	---------------
    	If (Command<4 and Xvariable>5) then
    		DEBUG REP $00\8,13,10,"No such LED!"
    		goto EchoCRLF
    		endif
    	If Command<3 then
    		If Yvariable>9 then goto BadMove
    		If Yvariable>1 then gosub WaitMessage
    		endif
    	If Command=3 then
    		If Yvariable>60 then goto BadMove
    		If Yvariable>5 then gosub WaitMessage
    		endif
    	If Command=4 then
    		If Xvariable>5 then gosub WaitMessage
    		endif
    		'
    		'	ON LED Command
    		'	--------------
    	If Command=1 then 
    		Gosub LEDsON
    		If Yvariable>0 then
    			CounterW=Yvariable*1000
    			Pause CounterW
    			Gosub LEDsOFF
    			endif
    		endif
    		'
    		'	OFF LED Command
    		'	---------------
    	If Command=2 then 
    		Gosub LEDsOFF
    		If Yvariable>0 then
    			CounterW=Yvariable*1000
    			Pause CounterW
    			Gosub LEDsON
    			endif
    		endif
    		'
    		'	BLINK LED Command
    		'	-----------------
    	If Command=3 then
    		For CounterA=1 to Yvariable
    			Gosub LEDsON
    			Pause 200
    			Gosub LEDsOFF
    			Pause 200
    			Next CounterA
    		endif
    		'
    		'	SWEEP Command
    		'	-------------
    	If Command=4 then
    		CounterB=Xvariable
    		If CounterB<1 then CounterB=1
    		For CounterA=1 to CounterB
    			For Xvariable=1 to 5
    				Gosub LEDsON
    				Pause 100
    				Gosub LEDsOFF
    				Next XVariable
    			Next CounterA
    		endif
    		'
    		'	BEER Command
    		'	------------
    	If Command=5 then DEBUG REP $00\8,13,10,"Yes Please!"
    	'
    	'	Tell User all executed OK
    	'	-------------------------
    	DEBUG REP $00\8,13,10,"OK"
    	Goto EchoCRLF
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine Area
    	'	===============
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine extracts Numeric Value from Command Line
    	'	---------------------------------------------------
    GetNumericWord:
    	DataA=0
    	BadFlag=0
    	If CounterA>2 then Goto BadWord
    	If CounterA>0 then
    		CounterB=CommsBuffer(0)
    		If CounterB<48 then goto BadWord
    		DataA=CounterB-48
    		If DataA>9 then goto BadWord
    		If CounterA=2 then
    			CounterB=CommsBuffer(1)
    			If CounterB<48 then goto BadWord
    			CounterB=CounterB-48
    			If CounterB>9 then goto BadWord
    			DataA=DataA*10+CounterB
    			endif
    		endif
    	Return
    BadWord:
    	BadFlag=1
    	Return
    
    	'
    	'	Shuffle Data to remove processed word
    	'	-------------------------------------
    ShuffleData:
    	For CounterB=0 to 9
    		CounterC=CounterA+CounterB
    		If CounterC<=9 then
    			CommsBuffer(CounterB)=CommsBuffer(CounterC)
    			else
    			CommsBuffer(CounterB)=0
    			endif
    		Next CounterB
    	'
    	'	Subroutine removes leading SPACES (Blanks) from Buffer
    	'	------------------------------------------------------
    LSpace:
    	If CommsBuffer(0)=32 then
    		For CounterA=1 to 9
    			CommsBuffer(CounterA-1)=CommsBuffer(CounterA)
    			Next CounterA
    		CommsBuffer(9)=0
    		Goto LSpace
    		endif
    	Return
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine Locates end of Dataword in Comms Buffer
    	'	--------------------------------------------------
    	'	CounterA on exit End Point
    REnd:	
    	For CounterA=0 to 9
    		If CommsBuffer(CounterA)=32 then goto REndExit
    		If CommsBuffer(CounterA)=0 then goto REndExit
    		Next CounterA
    	CounterA=10
    REndExit:
    	Return
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine tells User to Wait
    	'	-----------------------------
    WaitMessage:
    	DEBUG REP $00\8,13,10,"Wait..."
    	Return
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine DISABLES LEDs
    	'	------------------------
    LEDsOFF:
    	If Xvariable=0 then
    		LEDStatus=$1F  
    		else
    		LEDStatus.0(Xvariable-1)=1
    		endif
    	PortC=LEDStatus   '*****CHANGED TO C FROM A
    	Return
    
    	'
    	'	Subroutine ENABLES LEDs
    	'	-----------------------
    LEDsON:
    	If Xvariable=0 then
    		LEDStatus=$0
    		else
    		LEDStatus.0(Xvariable-1)=0
    		endif
    	PortC=LEDStatus   '******* CHANGED TO C FROM A
    	Return
    
    	End

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    I would query first that perhaps you are not receiving 100% good Data...

    Replace ReadLoop with this code...

    Code:
    ReadLoop:
    	DEBUGIN [DataA]
    	DEBUG DataA," ",HEX2 DataA,10,13
    	Goto ReadLoop
    This will echo the HEX representation of what has been received... so if you type Richard you should get...

    R 52
    i 69
    c 63
    h 68
    a 61
    r 72
    d 64

    where the character is what you typed along with its HEX as confirmation of good data...

    If every 2nd character is not what you expected, then time to find out why...

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    down south
    Posts
    90

    Smile

    thanks
    I will "play" some more
    I thought I mite have missed something when I converted

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    down south
    Posts
    90

    Default

    up date
    I tried using hyperterminal and everything works just as it should
    I then tried MCS serial communicator (again) with readloop get hex and all I got was R 52
    SOO the code is good , the hardware is good there is just something I'm missing using MCS comm. One big difference hyperterm. is real time key stroke to echo, MSC only after manual CR.
    I also tried realterm. sometime the echo worked but never the LED (BLINK, SWEEP, ON OFF ETC.) ideals.
    thanks

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Need your help

    Dear Melanie

    Please I need your help if , i try to construct project to control 8 devices by using pic16f84

    one as transmitter and another pic as a receiver to control 8 relays and to read the status of relays which one is open and which one is closed , if the relay switch is on the led indicate that is on in transmitter (frist pic) in this case i can switched off.


    would you please can you help me ?


    thank you very much



    Eng. ibrahim elalfy

    my private E-mail is

    ibralfy@yahoo.com

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Need your help

    Dear Melanie

    Please I need your help if , i try to construct project to control 8 devices by using pic16f84

    one as transmitter and another pic as a receiver to control 8 relays and to read the status of relays which one is open and which one is closed , if the relay switch is on the led indicate that is on in transmitter (frist pic) in this case i can switched off.


    would you please can you help me ?


    thank you very much



    Eng. ibrahim elalfy

    my private E-mail is

    ibralfy@yahoo.com

  25. #25
    skimask's Avatar
    skimask Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ibralfy View Post
    Please I need your help if , i try to construct project to control 8 devices by using pic16f84
    one as transmitter and another pic as a receiver to control 8 relays and to read the status of relays which one is open and which one is closed , if the relay switch is on the led indicate that is on in transmitter (frist pic) in this case i can switched off.
    Good plan posting your real email address!
    See this thread:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1742
    You'll get help, just post your info...

  26. #26

    Default

    Hello,

    ¿How can I change the baud rate to 2400?. ........ Solved

    Thank you
    Last edited by Leonardo; - 25th November 2008 at 17:54.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Communications Example : PC to PIC bi-directional dialogue

    I know not strictly to do with PIC Basic, but if anyone is interested, I rewrote this into ProtonBasic (Crownhill) and it works just fine. I'll post the code here when I'm on my own PC.

Similar Threads

  1. Send data PIC to PC
    By konter in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 25th December 2009, 22:04
  2. Replies: 67
    Last Post: - 8th December 2009, 02:27
  3. HSERIN & Interupts (aka controlling PIC programs from a remote PC)
    By HankMcSpank in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 17th June 2009, 14:46
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 12th July 2008, 02:36
  5. PC / PIC communications?
    By achilles03 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 12th September 2005, 17:55

Members who have read this thread : 24

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts