TMR1 100Hz Exactly Interrupt Routine


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default TMR1 100Hz Exactly Interrupt Routine

    Hi.
    Im working on a datalogger project that needs to take a reading every exactly 1 second. I want to make TMR1 interrupt every 10 ms, so that every 100 TMR1 interrupts, I get exaclty one second. This is the routine I got to write. I have not tested yet in a PIC, because I run out of them after burning to of them because of wrong polarity . LOL. By the way, I am using 16F877A. This is the code.

    /////////////////////////////////////////////////

    INT:
    @ BCF T1CON,0 'STOP TIMER1
    @ MOVLW 0xC3 'LOAD WITH 65527 BECAUSE
    @ MOVWF TMR1H '50000 (20MHz / 4 / 100) - 2 CYCLES
    'TO ENTER INT
    @ MOVLW 0x48 '- 6 CYCLES TO LOAD THE REGISTERS, AND
    @ MOVLW TMR1L 'TURN IT ON AGAIN
    @ BSF T1CON,0 'TURN TIMER1 ON AGAIN

    X = X + 1 'INCREMENT REG
    PIR1.0 = 0 'CLEAR INT FLAG
    CONTEXT RESTORE 'RESTORE REGs AND RETFIE

    /////////////////////////////////////////////////

    Can you please tell me if its OK??? Thanks for your help, and sorry for my english. Manuel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Hey its me again. I have just realized that in the number to load to TMR regs, i have to take into account the cycles needed to save all the regs. But anyway, I just want to know what you guys think about the general of the routine. Would it work??? Would it be accurate??? Thanks again.
    Manuel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Why 10 mS, 100 Counts? You are thinking like a person and not a computer. Computers like powers of 2s not 10s.

    Why not use a 4.194304MHz Xtal (DigiKey has them in stock for $0.70 ea), let Timer 1 run free, set the prescaler to 8, and count TMR1 overflows. 2 Overflows = 1.000 sec. This gives you lots of time to do other stuff in between interrupts.
    (math = 4/4.194304*65536 * 8 * 2 = 1000000 uS = 1 S)

    Oh yeah, you also do not have to deal with accounting for the timing for saving registers etc because the timer is free running.
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Paul
    Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!
    Youre right, im quite new to programming and still not used to power of 2!!
    Anyway, which crystal do you recommend to use to run close to 20MHz???
    Thanks a million
    Manuel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink My two cents ...

    100 Hz ...

    might have very precise 100 Hz timebase from mains ... just a trafo and two rectifiers !!!

    just an idea ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have a look here http://www.pbpgroup.com

    Darrel has some excellent PBP examples.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi. Thanks for all the help.
    Is the line frequency accurate enough to make a clock??? Hope it is!!!!! Great idea anyway. Thanks.
    Manuel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Loveland CO USA
    Posts
    83


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile math

    DigiKey has a 19.6608mhz crystal. If I did the math right...

    math = 19,660,800/4/65536 =75 cycles
    Your interrupt will happen 75 times/second. In software count to 75 and then add 1 to the second number.

    or

    last time I used a 20,000,000 crystal
    20,000,000/4/65536=76.29395hz In software dividing by 76 is not good but close.
    The interrupt happens 76.29395 times/second.
    I used a 16bit variable and on every interrupt added 859 to the number. The variable overflows once per second. I think the math is off by .001%

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    hi ronsimpson!!! thanks for your help. i have two questions:
    to calculate the interrupts with TMR1, I thought you had to divide the value by 66535 (0xFFFF). But, as you say, its 66536 because 0x0000 counts, right?
    And one last thing. Suppose that a WORD variable is loaded with 60,000
    Now we add to that variable, say 1000. Which is going to be the next result??? Is it going to be 0000 because it overflowed, or is it going to be 4535??? (60,000 + 1,000 - 65,535)???
    Thanks for your help. Really quick answers you get in this forum!!!!!!!
    Manuel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry in my last post, it should have been:
    The variable should have been loaded with 65.000!! NOT 60.000
    And when we add a thousand, do we get just 0x0000 or 465 (65000 + 1000 - 65535)??? Thanks
    Manuel

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    1st question divide by 0x010000
    2nd question = 464

    Do you really need 1 second intervals and how exact do you need to be?
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Thanks paul. I am planning to build a temperature datalogger, that will collect data every two minutes for a month or two, so I need to get it as accurate as possible. Also, in my country, Argentina, there are not RTC availables....

    Now following Ronsimpson way, (the second one, with the 20.000 MHz), the variable to which we add 859 on every interrupt, I should never clear it, right??? Or should I clear it every time the variable overflows???

    Sorry for my english, and thanks again.
    Manuel

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    >>collect data every two minutes for a month
    Check out
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=2129
    It would be easy to add in the data logger every two minutes.

    With Ron's approach, do not stop the timer, just add fast after the interrupt.

    Why 20MHz for a datalogger?
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Thumbs up

    Hey
    Thanks so much for the links. There great because the dont have interrepts and they are not too complicated!!!
    Yes youre right 20MHz is WAY too much for this project. I could use only 32KHz and bring down the current draw.
    I am going to use an LM34 or LM35 to measure temperature, and I was thinking of shutting it down while im waiting to save power. How long before making the actual measurement do you think I should turn it on so that the sensor has stabilized???
    Thanks
    Manuel

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah USA
    Posts
    517


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    >>I was thinking of shutting it down while im waiting to save power

    I am guessing you are referring to the LM34/35 and not the Pic? If so, I am sure it is in the datasheet. If you are planning to run off of batteries, then the lower XTAL speed would be ideal for the PIC

    A free runing TMR1 will overflow every 8 seconds (prescaler = 1) with a 32768 XTAL. You could count 15 overflows for 2 minutes.

    Or you cold poll TMR0, also free running (prescaler = 256) with a 32768 XTAL. You could count 15 overflows for 2 minutes. The link I gave you has an example of polling TMRO.

    Too many options - also check the LM34/35 datasheet and see what it needs in the way of communication speeds, etc. I have not looked for some time and do not recall the method.

    There have been a zillion questions in this forum about the LM34/35 over the years - search and you shall be rewarded.
    Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, UT
    USA
    __________________

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi. Thanks for your help.
    Yes, as you said, it would be ideal the low frequency crystal, and the timing is also much simpler LOL.
    The LM35 outputs a linear 10 mV/`C and the LM34 is 10 mV/`F
    Anyway, that wouldnt be a problem with speed, but will I be able to interface an I2C EEPROM like 24LM32 with that speed??? I guess yes because its syhncronus transmission, but i ask to be sure
    Thanks a lot
    Manuel

Similar Threads

  1. Can't ID interrupt source with this IntHandler??
    By jellis00 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 3rd June 2009, 03:35
  2. 16F876A CCP1 Capture/Interrupt Question
    By TDonBass in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 17th January 2008, 04:25
  3. Interrupt Problem
    By Kamikaze47 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 16th November 2005, 21:58
  4. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 02:07
  5. Multi Interrupt How To ?
    By capitano in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 3rd February 2005, 15:48

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts