Combinaton Gate access - Page 2


Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 41 to 48 of 48
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Keep Thinking.
    DT

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default gate controller

    Thank you Darrel, mister_e and Joe S. for so much help on this project. I have a working gate operator now as seen at http://boogerdigger.com/gate1.htm using this code (attached zip file). I hope putting up a link is not against the rules. If so, let me know and I won't do it again.
    There are 2 things that I want to add to my driveway gate:
    1) a way to add and delete a user code with the keypad instead of reprogramming the PIC. I have failed at this countless times now. Please give me some direction if you can.
    2) add two cameras to take a picture of the view from the keypad area (to capture the face of a possible intruder) and one to capture the license plate of the vehicle (a possible help for the less-than-zealous local police department). As the front gate is a long way from my building - about 200 feet or so, I'll need to store the pictures on some form of removable media although I haven't excluded wireless.

    I think I'll work on #2 now as my brain is hurting from #1.

    If anyone has any suggestions on either the change code or the camera please let me know.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by lester; - 21st February 2007 at 17:46. Reason: updated attachment on behalf of lloyd778

  3. #43


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default code correction

    In my previous post (above), I failed to add a few comments to the Gate1.zip file. You'll notice that it won't compile with keypad1.bas. Just remove the "1" and it should be fine. Shame on me for modifying the original file for a different app and then renaming yet another original with the "1". Confusion to the enemy or is it simply the confussion of my mind?
    I do get a Warning[221] when I complie. ...gate1.asm143:Invalid message number (230). Dawged if I can figure this one out but the programs runs just fine.
    Can't hardly wait to Eagle up a PCB for this project. Better wait a bit more as I just keep adding a bell here and a whistle there.
    Someone say whistle? Hum, the bad guys enter the wrong code and a very loud siren blasts away. More humane than 6000 volts through keypad. Like that, a lot.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If i use the suggested PIC16F877A... it compile just fine.. no warning no nothing here.

    Warning 230: __CONFIG has been deprecated for PIC18 devices. Use directive CONFIG.

    so you're using a PIC18Xxxxx device. You have few choices
    1. leave it like this... anyway it's a WARNING
    2. you add @ ERRORLEVEL -230 at the top of your code
    3. you use the new CONFIG syntax
    4. you update your PBP version to 2.47... which take care of it.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 22nd February 2007 at 00:18.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #45


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default good fix

    @ ERRORLEVEL -230 was at the top of the code. When I commented it out the warning went away and I got a clean compile. I love it all clean like that. Thanks mister_e!!

  6. #46


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default a bit cleaner

    Attached files are the cleaned up Gate1_1 code with no compile warnings and the origional KeyPad include reference restored. Also included is the KeyPad.bas file ready made. Just copy the unzipped KeyPad.bas file into your - I suppose - c:\program files\mecanique\mcs folder and you should be good to go. Play with it for a while and when you figure out how to change the user code with the keypad please share with the rest of us.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    How about using the same method as home alarm already use?

    You have 1 master code (service code), once you have enter it, you jump to a specific routine.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #48


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Exactly

    Yes, mister_e, that is exactly the line that I must follow.

Similar Threads

  1. A logic gate chip with 1 ea XOR and 2 ea AND gates?
    By jellis00 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: - 5th August 2009, 05:29
  2. Access to sim memu
    By sahin5002 in forum GSM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 16th June 2009, 11:57
  3. truck gate
    By Melros in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 13th October 2007, 13:23
  4. 18f2550 'access is denied' USB error?
    By Giulio in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 30th December 2006, 14:29
  5. FYI - How to Access individual bytes in Word Arrays
    By Melanie in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 20th July 2003, 21:56

Members who have read this thread : 2

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts