Differential Drive Programming

Closed Thread

Default Differential Drive Programming

Hi guys!

Well! im a novice in robotics. IM making a robot which will be having two wheels in the differential drive formation. That is each wheel will be connected with one motor. So there will be two motors in total.

Now Im using PIC16F84A. I want to use the PWM command in order to control both the motors. Now the thing is that what is the way to programe this sort of scenario. I mean, just see, we have got two DC motors, each should be controlled independently. SO we will be needing two PWM commands to be operated simultaneously. Since both motors are somewhat different in practical, so different duty cycles would be required. So how would i program that???

I have seen that when i write PWM command, it first executes it completely and then comes to next command. SO how can i control the other motor with PWM simultaneously??

PLease provide some example code to control two motors simultaenously using PWM commands. Or if it is not possible then how can we control two wheel differential drive?

Thanks in advance!

Take carez!

Good Bye!
    LETS MOVE TOWARDS SOMETHING PRACTICAL---

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

shaiqbashir, It may be a bit complex so here is the jistofit, I pulled every thing out but the important stuff. The variables SPD and DIR are 14 bit inputs from say a joy stick corresponding to Y and X. With two H bridge circuits you can make a tank type device and operate it with 1 joystick. Pressing it forward to move forward and pulling it in reverse to travel in reverse. Naturally moving it left or right will the device turn left or right. The null position for the variables is 511 for no output from the H bridge.
    This code was originally written for a 16F876 but updated for 18F252.
    I'm sorry I can't give you more but that's business........ HTH....

Dave Purola,
    N8NTA
    Attached Files Attached Files

skimask Guest