Turbo Coding


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Turbo Coding

  1. #1
    obaskirt's Avatar
    obaskirt Guest

    Question Turbo Coding

    Did anyone write a turbo coding algorithm with Pic Basic Pro? I really need help. Thanks.

    Onur

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hangover, Germany
    Posts
    289


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Angry

    Maybe you'll get more answers, if you discribe, what "turbo coding" or "turbo encoding" means !!!
    PBP 2.50C, MCS+ 3.0.0.5, MPLAB 8, MPASM 5.14, ASIX Presto, PoScope, mE mikroBasic V7.2, PICKIT2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    47


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    "Turbo codes are a class of recently-developed high-performance error correction codes finding use in deep-space satellite communications and other applications where designers seek to achieve maximal information transfer over a limited-bandwidth communication link in the presence of data-corrupting noise."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Turbo coding requires extremely fast processing.
    (Mathematical intensive algorithm).

    This is not possible with a PIC microcontroller.

    Best regards,

    Luciano

  6. #6
    obaskirt's Avatar
    obaskirt Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigWumpus
    Maybe you'll get more answers, if you discribe, what "turbo coding" or "turbo encoding" means !!!
    Raflex said: "Turbo codes are a class of recently-developed high-performance error correction codes finding use in deep-space satellite communications and other applications where designers seek to achieve maximal information transfer over a limited-bandwidth communication link in the presence of data-corrupting noise."

    Reflex described very well what the turbo coding means.

    I am a member of Cube Sat project in Bahcesehir University, TURKEY. We want to use turbo codes for communication.

    Turbo Coding is very computing intensive algorithm so if I can not accomplish to implement it with PIC microcontroller, which chip should I use? Or maybe I will use extra EEPROM.

    Thanks for your replies.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,818


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Link to turbo code

    Last edited by Archangel; - 17th November 2006 at 02:52.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by obaskirt
    ...
    Turbo Coding is very computing intensive algorithm so if I can not accomplish to implement it with PIC microcontroller, which chip should I use?...
    Hi obaskirt,


    If you can divide this "intensive algorithm" into small pieces or sub-segments of math operations, then you can have many small PIC modules doing small math jobs and give you individual results.

    You can then have a master PIC collecting these individual results and have a final calculation. The whole operation will be relatively faster.

    But remember, the fastest PIC is 40Mhz I guess.
    So you need to calculate precisely what speed & instruction execution time your "intensive algorithm" requires ; if you end up with a speed requirement say 4Ghz, forget PICs and use a PC instead.


    ---------------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    695


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Here they use a TI MSP430 ultra-low-power 16-bit RISC mixed-signal processors.
    (The MSP430 is used for the flight module).
    http://www.cubesatkit.com

    Ask if you can use TI MSP430 for Turbo Coding.
    The answer will be not possible, but maybe they will put you on the right tracks.
    Remember that all this stuff must be low-power.
    http://www.cubesatkit.com/content/pu...t_pumpkin.html

    Best regards,

    Luciano

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Maybe some PIC24 or DsPIC would do... but certainely not in Basic ... for now.

    Microchip C30, Hi-Tech C support them
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help in matrix keypad coding
    By rano_zen06 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 24th May 2008, 13:16
  2. need help in coding..
    By daphne8888 in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 19th March 2008, 07:31
  3. HPWM coding
    By civictypeR in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 29th January 2008, 14:54
  4. Manchester coding question
    By oneohthree in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 5th May 2007, 17:35
  5. Turbo Encoding with Pic Basic Pro
    By obaskirt in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 15th November 2006, 09:22

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts