Remove Text Formatting
Loading...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 68
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default New PIC Utility. PICMultiCalc

    Hi all,
    Few times ago i did this little utility to help in Timer, Usart, Eusart and PWM calc. It have been tested by some user here and there. Thanks to them

    'till now, it's seems to be bug free. It assume a minimum of knowledge on your side so far.

    I plan to do another version wich will be more complete. It will include more code generation tool. It's still a work in progress but once i'm fixed on the whole idea, i'll post a Trial version.

    It will create code for PBP, Swordfish and probably some other compiler.

    You have to know it's a tedious job to read all datasheet and be sure everything is correct. For this reason, there's no release date.

    Any wish, comments, suggestions are welcome.

    Enjoy!


    EDIT: Mister Es site is down, get v1.3.1 down at Alain's post:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...5639#post65639
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Demon; - 18th March 2012 at 13:48.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959

    Default Excellent Program.

    I can Highly Recommend this program for anyone using PIC's.

    It does a fantastic job of calculating those tedious formulas that look so complicated in the datasheet.
    • Need to know what value to load in a Timer for a specific frequency or period?
    • Want to know which prescaler will give the best results?
    • Do you know the reload value but want to find out what frequency it will produce?
    • Want to use the USART without HSERIN/OUT
    • Want to use 10-bit PWM?
    It's all there, and more.

    Everyone should have a copy of this sitting in their QuickLaunch toolbar.
    DT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Woohooo! Thanks Darrel! It's a comment/endorsement i can be proud of.
    As you know, your inputs have been valuable for some features. Thanks for that too.

    Glad to hear you like it!
    Last edited by mister_e; - 8th November 2006 at 03:57.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul, The Only City and The Only Place That Connects Two Continents
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    For sure this will save me a lot of time.

    Thanks a lot Steve.

    BTW; nice main screen


    ------------------
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Hehe

    Thanks Sayzer!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251

    Default

    Also a thanks from me from Holland.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Thanks mat.

    Enjoy!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Hi mister_e,

    Thanks for tracking me down and directing me here.

    Yes, I remember asking you about a stand-alone application some time ago. I ended up writing something using the free JustBASIC app'.

    Take care. Regards, Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Looks good to me! Well done!

    I still hope my calc will be handy for you one day.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Look, behind you.
    Posts
    2,810

    Default For win 98se users

    Thank You Mister_E
    I use Win98SE and it works like a champ . . thanks!

    I had to get a dll, actually, MSSTDFMT.DLL off the internet.
    I dropped it into my windows/system directory
    then from the run command ran the following to make it work:
    regsvr32.exe msstdfmt.dll
    Xp users probably will not have to do that.

    Finally, Thank You Again
    JS

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    mmm interesting. Thanks for reporting.

    Nice to hear you got it working now.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Here is pic calculator
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Woohoo a blast from the past, it's my first one... posted awhile back
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...ght=spbrg+calc

    I think that the actual is by far better
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    The calc is now added to my website.
    http://mister-e.org/pages/utilitiespag.html

    'Till now, it's all the same.

    Everytime i will add/modify it, i'll report it here.

    I'm still open to suggestion.

    @Acetronics... je te confirme qu'il y aura ta suggestion dans la prochaine version.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 17th November 2006 at 06:39.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Mister-e
    That link is broken....
    http://mister-e.org/piccalc/picmulticalc.zip

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Problem fixed... seems the last website update screwed something.

    Thanks and enjoy!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Thanks for such a useful tool!!!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    You're welcome. You'll like the next version as well. No release date... i need spare time to finish it and send it to the tester team for approval first.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default January 2, 2007 : V1.1.0

    Hi again,
    a new version is now available. click here to download and see what's new in.

    Enjoy.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251

    Default

    Best wishes for 2007, and thanks for this one.
    Regards from Holland.
    Mat

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default V1.2.0

    Yeah, still growing a little bit...

    v 1.2.0 (January 5, 2007)
    A/D Calc: Add a ‘copy PBP ADC DEFINEs to clipboard’ button.

    Comparator Vref : Calculate and show all Vref results according to Vdd and CVRR values.
    http://www.mister-e.org/pages/utilitiespag.html
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Thanks mister_e! That's a great program - sure to used often :-)

    Arch
    "Data sheets? I ain't got no data sheets. I don't need no data sheets. I don't have to read any stinking data sheets!"

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Thanks Arch. Hope you get the last version 1.2.0?

    Yup it's handy, save us some headaches for sure.

    Enjoy!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    v 1.3.0 (January 28, 2007)
    Add LCD custom character: Create custom character definitions for Hitachi HD44780 or compatible controller.
    Also allow to generate all related hardware DEFINEs

    PWM Calc: Fix duty scroll bar events.

    http://www.mister-e.org/pages/utilitiespag.html
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251

    Talking

    Thanks, I will use it. (When the time is there )

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    There's no good reason to not using it
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    251

    Talking

    That can be true, but normaly i do that kind of things "my way".
    Mostly I get it working, sometimes not, but afterwards it was always "my fault"

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    yeah i understand.

    So the rules apply to me perfectly. I did it, i use it. 'Till now, it's working, i didn't get too much bad issue with... as i said... 'Till now
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  29. #29

    Thumbs up

    Your Program keep's getting better all the time Steve,BUT how do you get it to do all that and be so much smaller than VISTA is

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Thanks bbarney.

    PicMultiCalc is really not code efficient... that's what happen when you add feature and you didn't think about it first Bah, it's still less than a Meg...

    'Till now VISTA is the worst piece of crap i never ever see in my whole life. As many other, i'm afraid, i'll have to do the move and use it daily one day. For now, i leave all the fun and problems to others
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  31. #31

    Default

    I'll wait for their security update no. 9,877 should be ok by then

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default V 1.3.1

    As suggested in another thread

    v 1.3.1 (March 5, 2007)
    EUSART Calc: Change SPBR<G:H> annotation to SPBRG and SPBRGH.


    so now it looks like THIS

    http://www.mister-e.org/pages/utilitiespag.html
    Last edited by mister_e; - 6th March 2007 at 01:21.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    89

    Smile v 1.3.1 (March 5, 2007)

    Thanks mister_e.

    There are error '713' and '339', How i clear this error ?

    Runtime error '7'
    outof memory

    I using windows 2000 pro



    .
    Last edited by precision; - 6th March 2007 at 05:54.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    ah man, sorry i have no idea, i don't have windows 2000.

    Anyone else have this problem or suggestions to solve it?

    EDIT: have a look bellow
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/296088

    maybe it's like Joe S's problem
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...2&postcount=10

    also look at
    http://www.raob.com/Questions.htm#Run-Time_Error_339
    Last edited by mister_e; - 6th March 2007 at 16:01.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237

    Cool

    I had problems when i tried to use the brandspankin' new "LCD custom character generator", windows complained about missing FM20.DLL. I downloaded it from the net and got a new error "out of memory". Took a look at Microsoft and found out that this is a problem due to the fact that i don't have MicrosoftOffice installed on my computer. Microsofts solution to this is wonderful, don't use FM20.DLL. They did however have another suggestion, apart from installing Office. Download and install the Microsoft ActiveX Control Pad, which also installs the Fm20.dll. I did, and after a reboot it all worked.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de.../html/cpad.asp

    BTW. Thankyou Steve for a very nice and useful tool.

    /Ingvar

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Dear micro$oft...
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Steve,

    Tried to find PicMultiCalc latest version for my rebuilt machine, but the website is not around anymore ??

    Quick Google didn't find it either - do you have a working site, or could you email it to me ?
    Thanks,
    Bill.

  38. #38
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,531

    Wink

    Hi, Bill

    Here it is

    Enjoy ...

    Alain
    Attached Files Attached Files
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ashland, KY
    Posts
    45

    Thumbs up

    Great job, Mister e! I'm glad somebody brought this thread back-I've downloaded and installed it on my XP-equipped notebook with no problems at all...

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898

    Default

    Thanks Alain!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. SMS via pic
    By kenandere in forum GSM
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 10th March 2010, 10:00
  2. Replies: 67
    Last Post: - 8th December 2009, 02:27
  3. HSERIN & Interupts (aka controlling PIC programs from a remote PC)
    By HankMcSpank in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 17th June 2009, 14:46
  4. pic to pic ir link versus wired link : help please anyone
    By xnihilo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 30th May 2008, 21:01
  5. Serial Pic to Pic using HSER
    By Chadhammer in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 11th March 2005, 23:14

Members who have read this thread : 31

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts