Remote Control receiver - input source switching


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    44

    Default Remote Control receiver - input source switching

    Hi,

    Heres another IR thread....

    Im thinking about making a video source switch, to switch between 4 video sources, based on whatever audio input is selected on my home theater amp.

    What i would like to do is have the unit read the IR remote control codes that my amp remote sends to the amp, and if it receives one of four specific codes, then will raise an output pin to switch some relays, to select that video source.

    What im after is what i need to do to read the four required IR codes and store them in eeprom, so if the pic receives one of these, it will change the outputs.

    Can anyone provide any information to help get me started on the IR stuff?
    ie how i initially log the codes, and how i store them in the pic.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Did you visit Bruce's WEB site and had some ideas on IR controls?

    It would be easier for you to follow your IR projetcs after that.
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,073


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It would help if you tell us the brand/model of the amp & remote. Knowing the IR protocol will simplify what you want to do. You also need to know the IR carrier frequency although this isn't critical if it's in the range of the TSOP1100 IR receiver module (33-56kHz IIRC).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    448


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,

    Dave is absolutely right; the job to decode the signal is so much easier if you can 'see' the signal.

    One way to do this (again, learnt from Dave, thanks) just connect an IR receiver module to a sound card line-in, and capture the signal from your remote using an sound editor such as Goldwave; this would let you stretch the original raw burst on the screen enough to show the individual pulses.

    Alternately, look at Dante's Infrax at http://www.geocities.com/tdanro/

    This gem not only shows the signal in a picture-perfect rendition, it also identifies the protocol and gives a lot of other information which would make it very easy to use in your PBP program.


    Regards,

    Anand

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    pretty interesting link.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    44


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    thanks for the reply's, its a start...
    The amp is a denon avr-1602.

    Whats the link for bruces website?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    298


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Bruce's website

    Ohm it's not just a good idea... it's the LAW !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,795


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Doesn't your amp have video inputs? I saw the specs and it has 3 composite and 3 S-Video on the back and 1 Composite on the front. So?

    Ioannis
    Last edited by Ioannis; - 9th October 2006 at 08:50.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Hi,

    I just finish my. using part of this proyect.

    h t t p : //www.web-ee.com/Schematics/VSwitch/vswitch.htm

    the only part i change was the software, i use some ir RC5 library from this book Experimenting with the PicBasic Pro compiler.


    h t t p : //developersbooks.com/ebooks/viewbook/38/17/1.html

    now im working to add some OSD.

    i hope this help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Madrid-Spain
    Posts
    5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cesarman
    I just finish my. using part of this proyect.

    h t t p : //www.web-ee.com/Schematics/VSwitch/vswitch.htm

    the only part i change was the software, i use some ir RC5 library from this book Experimenting with the PicBasic Pro compiler.


    h t t p : //developersbooks.com/ebooks/viewbook/38/17/1.html

    now im working to add some OSD.

    i hope this help.
    I am sorry to say that I do have this book, it was my first one about PicBasic Pro, and there are no RC5 routines in it. Unless there is a new edition and they have been included. Can you check that?

    I have been looking for an easy to use RC5 library and haven't found any.

    Thanks in advance
    Carpe Diem

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    mmm, sorry you rigth only for sony protocols. no RC5, well the only basic compiler is proton. Version 3.X, has RC5 fuction. Tested

    Example

    Device = 16F877
    RC5IN_PIN = PORTC.0 ' Choose the port and pin for the infrared sensor
    DIM RC5_WORD as WORD ' Create a WORD variable to receive the data
    DIM RC5_COMMAND as RC5_WORD.Lowbyte ' Alias the COMMAND byte to RC5_WORD low byte
    DIM RC5_SYSTEM as RC5_WORD.Highbyte ' Alias the COMMAND byte to RC5_WORD high byte

    ALL_DIGITAL = ON ' Make all pins digital mode
    Cls ' Clear the LCD
    While 1 = 1 ' Create an infinite loop
    Repeat
    RC5_WORD = RC5In ' Receive a signal from the infrared sensor
    Until RC5_COMMAND<> 255 ' Keep looking until a valid header found
    Print at 1,1,"SYSTEM ",Dec RC5_SYSTEM," " ' Display the SYSTEM value
    Print at 2,1,"COMMAND ",Dec RC5_COMMAND," " ' Display the COMMAND value
    Wend

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: - 12th April 2014, 03:17
  2. DTMF and PIC for Remote Control
    By doggitz in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: - 30th March 2010, 12:42
  3. Newbie remote control question?
    By Clodoaldo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 14th July 2009, 18:20
  4. Please help ? RF Remote Source code
    By sorasit46 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 25th April 2007, 15:40
  5. Remote control
    By Radiance in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th August 2003, 16:13

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts