LCD with T6963C controller


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,256

    Default LCD with T6963C controller

    Hi,

    I bought this LCD from EBay:
    http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...tem=7590673939.

    WM-G2406D (ver. 2) is written on the back of the PCB. The only datasheet I have is here:
    http://zing.com.tw/WINTEK/wm-g2406de.htm

    I'm uncertain as to how to wire the V0 and VEE pins. I've found an unrelated schematic that connects them to ground with a potentiometer here:
    http://liquid-mp3.schijf.org/schemat...n_DG-24128.gif

    But I have doubts and would appreciate confirmation.

    I downloaded a PIC Basic Pro program to test my LCD from here:
    http://www.compsys1.com/support/PBP_Files/t6963c/
    File name: glipict2.bas

    I know the author of the program used a Toshiba LCD, but that should only affect the pinout on the LCD. What matters is that both use a T6963C controller and is of the same dimension as the Wintek (240x64).

    I am using a PIC 16F877 at 20MHz just like in the program, but nothing happens, blank screen with nice green backlight. I've wired the LCD as the datasheet recommends and I've double-checked the pins on the PIC. I'm at a loss to explain what I'm doing wrong. I know the pic works properly 'cause I've added some switches and LEDs and that works fine.

    Sorry for the long post, I tried to put in as much information as possible. I'm guessing that it has to do with the wiring of the LCD. The EBay seller said it only required 5V DC, but I'm wondering if he has his facts straight. The datasheet says model "D" has a single power supply, that would lead me to believe I need a 2nd one to power the LCD. Another thing that sticks out in the datasheet is the Supply Voltage for LCD: VDD-V0 = 12V typical.

    I just don't have enough knowledge and experience to link all the dots.

    Robert
    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    have a look there
    http://www.geocities.com/researchtri...glcd_page.html

    be sure your supply is clean and un-noisy. Some GLCDs seems to be noise sensitive. Worst if the cable length between your Board and your LCD is a little bit long. Pace some 10uF tantalum+0.1 uF as close as you can of your GLCD supply lines.

    Should work... or you're another eBay victim LMAO!!!


    Oh here's a great source for about everything... www.epanorama.net
    Last edited by mister_e; - 11th March 2006 at 22:13.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,256


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The LCD still had the original protective film over the display, the contacts are unused and it is dust free. I'm pretty sure the claim of it being 'new' is true, I must be screwing up something.

    Thanks for the links, gonna check them out.

    Robert
    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,256


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, I got it working thanks to the folks who posted code over at CompSys.

    I was able to print, now if I can just figure out how to get a SED1335 gLCD going.

    Robert
    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Red face T6963c

    thinking about buying one of these any updates on this thread?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    868


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD with T6963C controller

    15 years passed since last post
    I ordered ST7920, but seller sent these instead by mistake. 240x64 resolution. They're on the way, and I'll give them a try once they arrive.
    But what I've curious about, documentation mentions built-in fonts, but sample code posted above seems to load own characters, why?

  7. #7


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD with T6963C controller

    The built in fonts are 6x8 or 8x8 pixels. So they are very small. Most users want different size fonts. The compsys1 pbp code works

    http://www.compsys1.com/workbench/On...3C/t6963c.html

    http://www.compsys1.com/support/gli2/

    http://www.compsys1.com/support/PBP_Files/t6963c/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    868


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD with T6963C controller

    Well, common HD44780 based displays have 5x7 font, but no one complains...
    Anyways, let them arrive and let me see, what they can do

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD with T6963C controller

    The pixels are smaller than on a charactor display.

    In the text mode you can get 8 lines by 30 charactors with a 240x64 display.

    Do you have a datasheet for the displays you are getting?

    Hopefully your displays have the built in negative voltage source for the contrast.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    868


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD with T6963C controller

    Well as seller stated, they only need 5V for operation, no separate negative supply needed. It also has contrast adjustment pot soldered on it.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this code not initialising the LCD properly?
    By Platypus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 30th January 2010, 19:14
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. LCD Problem
    By karenhornby in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 19th June 2008, 11:43
  4. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30
  5. Dedicated LCD Controller question
    By chuckles in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 27th February 2006, 14:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts