Microcode Studio Plus compile/assmebly errors

Closed Thread

Default Microcode Studio Plus compile/assmebly errors

I'm a newbie to the forum. In my brief time lurking, i've seen some pretty amazingly intelligent responses to good and not-so-good questions.

I've searched for this issue in the FAQs and forums, but haven't found it, and would appreciate any guidance.

I'm using PBP245 with an 18F4620. MicroCode studio Plus is calling PBP and MPASM for me when I click the compile button.

Up to a point (program size-wise) it all works fine. I got my prototype board working, figured out the 18F4620.inc entries I needed, and made part A of my software compile, assemble, and work properly.

When I started to add features to the base code, at about 3900 bytes (according to the Results window at the bottom of MCS+) I started getting Errors like:
    Error[102] c:\design\pbp245\pbppic18.lib 551 : Out of memory
    Error[128] c:\design\pbp245\pbppic18.lib 551 : Missing Argument(s)
    Error[124] c:\design\pbp245\pbppic18.lib 551 : Illegal argument
    Error[102] c:\design\pbp245\pbppic18.lib 596 : Out of memory

The status below the errors says: "Success : 3904 bytes used"
    And though it says "success", I get no new Hex file.

If I kill a few lines of the basic code, the errors go away, the program compiles and assembles correctly, and I get a new Hex file.

Maybe "success" is a left-over from the previous successful compile...?

Anyway, the HEX file i get when truly successful is about 10.1kB long (accordingto windows explorer), which sounds "about right" based on the size of the basic code - which I think is just shy of 4k.

I'm only using about 32bytes worth of variables. Seems like I should have TONS of headroom for expansion. The 18F4620 is a 64k (program space) device with something like 3k of variable space.

Haven't tried doing the same thing in MPLAB - really wanted to use MicroCode Studio Plus as my IDE - and haven't learned HOW to use MPLAB yet.