Using Nokia LCD - Page 8


Closed Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678
Results 281 to 301 of 301

Thread: Using Nokia LCD

  1. #281
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    96


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Odd compile error...

    (I see this thread is quite inactive, maybe that means there is another more active ??)

    I am trying out Steves code for driving a 5110 screen (bought here http://dx.com/p/arduino-1-6-lcd-disp...-silver-140226 )
    It works very well, except for one of his examples. In the more complex example called 'USINGGLCDOUT_CMD_16F---' I get an error during compiling, and I've tried a few tricks but nothing has got passed it (I modified it for a 16F819, but other than the pic specific configs and the pins I chose use nothing else is changed).

    Here it is.
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 3.0.1.4, (c) 1998, 2011 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    [ERROR] usingglcdout_cmd_16f819.pbp (57) : Reading DEFINE Block

    it comes from this define I think (which works fine in the other less complex examples about using variables and constants).
    DEFINE GLCD_2DEC_USED
    INCLUDE "..\Include\GLCD_NOKIA.PBP" ' Plug the Nokia Driver/Wrapper in here

    If I remark out the define I get this when I compile.
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 3.0.1.4, (c) 1998, 2011 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    [ASM ERROR] USINGGLCDOUT_CMD_16F819.ASM (562) : ERROR: (Seems you forgot to add DEFINE GLCD_2DEC_USED to your code...)
    Which you'd expect.

    I can post up the whole example code if anyone wants, but it's right out of Steve's examples.
    I'm wondering if it's something to do with PBP3.

    Anyone got a clue ?
    Keeping in mind that his other examples compile and run fine, and I tried his code with and without my config and pin changes..

    Martin
    Last edited by mr.sneezy; - 27th February 2013 at 09:07.

  2. #282
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Odd compile error...

    Hi Martin,

    Did you receive an answer from Steve on this? Is there another thread?

    Cheers,
    Bill

  3. #283
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    @ mister_e

    Steve,

    Firstly thanks for all the hard work you put into making the Nokia 3310 Glcd a success. I've only recently discovered it and now use the library a lot.

    May I ask for some advice on how to implement a change from only displaying dec characters to include hex? I've been through the samples and documentation but I don't see anything. Unfortunately I don't have an asm skills yet.

    If this has been achieved by other users or appears elsewhere I'd appreciate some guidance. No rush.

    Kind regards,
    Bill

  4. #284
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Old thread ... but nice !
    This is my last soft & hard for interfacing with Nokia display : termo-clock.
    Enjoy !

    Name:  final_termo_clock.jpg
Views: 2234
Size:  282.7 KB
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #285
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Nice.
    Can you post proteus and pbp files?

  6. #286
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Sure .... Enjoy !
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #287
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    • could you attach circuit diagram for your final version termo clock .
      Thanks in advance !!!





  8. #288
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Yes, this is it !
    Name:  new_CLK_2014.BMP
Views: 1978
Size:  88.8 KB

  9. #289
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Thank you very much.
    I need to find way to import lcd model in proteus.

  10. #290
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Copy each file into corresponding Proteus folder.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #291
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Thanks.
    I will try it, when get back...

  12. #292
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    I tried and didn't work.
    I'll try it with different proteus version.
    Thanks any way.

  13. #293
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Did you do it like in picture ?

    [ATTACH=CONFIG]7463[/ATTACH
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  14. #294
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    I have proteus 8 installed on pc, and there is no existing LIBRARY folder. Anyway I put files as it is on picture, but didn't work.
    I'll try to install proteus 7, and give it try.

  15. #295
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    737


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Work with proteus 7

  16. #296
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Update soft ... bug with "seconds" position resolved. See attach.

    Name:  DSC02210.JPG
Views: 1725
Size:  144.2 KBName:  DSC02214.JPG
Views: 1723
Size:  145.2 KB
    Attached Files Attached Files

  17. #297
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ploiesti, ROMANIA
    Posts
    574


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    What is wrong here ?! Macro buffer overflow ...
    Thanks !
    Name:  GLCDOUT.JPG
Views: 1490
Size:  133.8 KB

  18. #298
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Hi All,

    Sorry to hijack the thread but I thought this was the best place to put it...

    Attached my code example to write big characters to the Nokia 3310 LCD using custom fonts to smooth the normally large chunky characters (made with FastLCD). I have a weird fault where the breadboard setup works fine however exact hardware and code on a pcb works in every aspect apart from displaying the Big characters! Both run from the internal oscillator at 4Mhz and if serial is included there is no corruption observed on either.

    As shown in the photo the left display (pcb cover) works fine connected to the big breadboard while the plain LCD connecting to the veroboard/ZIF socket/small breadboard runs except no Big characters. Swapping PIC's (identical code) or LCD's between the two makes no difference. The board is setup with a DS18B20 for temperature measurements but the code has fixed values for display testing.

    Does anyone have an idea on why this doesn't run off the breadboard? One would expect it to be the other way round due all the additional inter-capacitance of the protoboard but not so in this case... My o'scope is an old one with limited bandwidth so I can't really see much difference between both sets of waveforms and suspect timing is an issue however including delays in Shiftout makes no difference.

    While on the subject I want to use a bigger PIC for greater code space and settled on a 16F1847 but there are errors and it won't compile when using the "GLCD_NOKIA.bas" include file from Mr.E - who can't be thanked enough for his hard work in developing this Include. My asm skills are zilch so any help appreciated. The config allows for testing the same code with this device.

    I hope my example is of use to others, these are very basic LCD's but cheap and plentiful so I think will be with us for a while, ironing out some bugs is worth the effort and I am sure will apply to other displays as well.

    Kind regards,
    Bill


    Nokia Big Chars.zip
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  19. #299


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by pedja089 View Post
    I have proteus 8 installed on pc, and there is no existing LIBRARY folder. Anyway I put files as it is on picture, but didn't work.
    I'll try to install proteus 7, and give it try.
    check this for proteus 8
    Name:  proteus8.png
Views: 1137
Size:  60.9 KB

  20. #300
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Hi All,

    The Nokia Big Character mystery is solved finally after getting back to the problem with some spare time...

    My post with the photo and code showed two identical setups and only one with Big Characters working while the other - working perfectly displaying normal size characters - did not show the Big ones. In fact the two breadboards (and the pcb I made) were not identical: the working unit had the Nokia LCD's /CS line tied to ground while the other (no Big Chars) was being driven by PortB. Making the non-working breadboard (and the pcb) the same fixed the problem.

    Why did this affect only Big Characters display? I have no idea except to offer the BC generation uses Shiftout and not Mr.E's wrapper and suspect there is a very narrow timing window if using /CS for the routine. Not owning a Logic Analyzer didn't help.

    The only remaining problem is the one whereby Steve's wrapper appears incompatible with the 16F1847 (and probably a good number of the enhanced chips) so if anyone with the skills can correct this I'd very much appreciate learning from the exercise.

    Steve, if you are reading this can you offer a solution to the 31 custom character limit in your wrapper and can this be expanded? I've hacked your code in various ways and learnt something in the process but my ASM skills remain sadly lacking, something I'm going to address when more spare time is available.

    Kind regards to All,
    Bill

  21. #301
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    116


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Using Nokia LCD

    Hi All,

    Well it's been a year and I've had to come back to this after another project has stalled due this damn 16F1847 problem. I'm using this because it is the largest codespace 18 pin pic at 8k and there are no 18F parts worth mentioning available in dip18. Correct me if I'm wrong.

    If there are any gurus out there that want a challenge please see the attached, I'm sure there are others having similar issues so let's find a solution if possible as it appears mister_e is done with further development of his wrapper.

    The sample provided is a reduced set of a much larger, successful program but using a 16F88 without any issues.

    Kind regards,
    Bill

    Bill's Nokia testing 2.pbp.txtGLCD_NOKIA wjs.bas.txt

Closed Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678

Similar Threads

  1. Nokia COLOR LCD PicBasicPro 2.50a example code
    By skimask in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 28th September 2011, 02:43
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 20:54
  3. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 17:56
  4. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 27th June 2007, 00:07
  5. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 03:30

Members who have read this thread : 2

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts