6-Digit Digital Clock using PIC16F84

Closed Thread

Question 6-Digit Digital Clock using PIC16F84

Hey folks. I'm new to PIC Basic Programming. The only thing that interest me most in shifting to PIC Basic is the ease of the programming structure.

I'm very much fascinated building the digital clock. The only problem I encountered was programming the TMR1 Interrupt. I tried designing a code using the POOLING process. And I'm not satisfied with the result. What are the considerations in programming the TMR1 interrupt? Anyone who knows how to explain the INTERRUPT programming of PIC Basic in simple terms.

I really appreciate your generous support.

Emmanuel

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Go search for OLYMPIC TIMER in this forum for an example of TMR1 and PICBASIC Interrupts. The text describes how it all works.

Smile

I posted two examples in the "Code Examples" section that show how to make accurate clocks using polling of TMR0. You could switch to TMR1 with a little effort - Look for "Easy and Accurate Clocks without RTC IC"

The example programs require a 4.000MHz Crystal, use TMRO, but do not require preloading counters. Although pollling is used, you have over 65mSec to do other stuff before needing to return to your overflow check (polling routine). The programs are short as well. Good Luck.

Paul Borgmeier
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    USA

Question Computation of 1 Second display interval

Thanks a lot.

By the way, what is really the significance of PRESCALER in Timer0? I found examples that use 1:32, then another example that uses 1:8. The goal was to achieve a 1 second increment in clock display. Could you please show to me the proper way to compute the 1 second interval using 4MHz Cristal. I saw some PIC Basic examples that loads certain figures to the TMR0. How did they compute that number?

Emmanuel
    Don Bosco-Victorias,
    Philippines

Smile