Installation sequence


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588

    Default Installation sequence

    I've had tons of errors trying to compile a blinking LED on a 18F4550 (no problems with 16F628 and 16F877). Folder names were wrong in include members so I've uninstalled everything to start fresh.

    I've had a problem in another application that had multiple mods and add-ons; the order of installation had to be followed carefully. So I'd like to make sure I'm not making a similar error here:

    1. MeLabs programmer 3.12 (disquette)
    2. PIC BASIC Pro compiler (CD)
    3. MicroCode Studio Plus (CD)
    4. Lab-X (disquette)
    5. PIC BASIC Pro upgrade 2.46 (disquette)
    6. PIC BASIC Pro upgrade 2.46a (download)
    7. MicroCode Studio Plus upgrade (online)
    8. MPLAB Tools v7.21 (download)
    9. EasyHID (download)

    Does that look ok?

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok, things are getting worse. I was just going down my checklist and reinstalling everything and I got a snag at update 2.46a. I get this error:

    Cannot update version 2.46.
    E:\PBP\INC\M16F684.INC: unknown version.

    Any idea what's going on?

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    __CONFIG has been deprecated for PIC 18F devices. Use directive CONFIG.

    According to dictionary.com that means __CONFIG is obsolete and now replaced by CONFIG. It's not just a matter of replacing the text, that didn't work. Is there new syntax? How would you write this statement now?

    @ __CONFIG _CONFIG1H, _PLLDIV_5_1L & _CPUDIV_OSC1_PLL2_1L & _USBDIV_1_1L

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Jeez, now I have problems finding includes in MicroCode Studio. The file pathnames are not right...

    Robert
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, found the answer to some problems myself. I editted the pathnames in the includes and libs and things work further (added disk and full pathname).

    I'm still faced by that deprecate warning, still no idea how to get rid of that.

    And then there is one last ERROR[118]: OVERWRITING PREVIOUS ADDRESS at line 50 of the ASM file to figure out.

    Robert
    :/
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Demon; - 27th October 2005 at 03:00.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Look at that !
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...87&postcount=6

    for the over writre blah blah just comment the default config fuses in the .INC file in the PBP folder
    Last edited by mister_e; - 27th October 2005 at 03:09.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ok, this is funky. The 1st thing I did was to go look in the FAQ for help on these issues and I only had 2 threads listed. I just did a SEARCH through the forum and found this thread:

    Presetting Configuration Fuses (PIC Defines) into your Program

    But if I go look in FAQ again, it's not there, always the same two threads? Anyways, Mister_E posted the answer to why I get the OVERWITE message.

    Now if I can just find the answer to those pesky DEPRECATE warnings.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Steve.

    (don't you hate posting at the same time as someone else?)

    Robert


    P.S.: STEVE, GET YOURSELF A HOTMAIL ACCOUNT AND EMAIL ME.
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Mr Demon.. open your eyes i already post a link above ;o)

    EDIT: Glad to see you found it! I already have an hotmail account... without ANY KIND OF easy to hack Messenger or whatsoever. Videotron is working now..!
    Last edited by Demon; - 4th October 2016 at 19:02.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Steve, like this? I kept all the values so it is easier to change them around later.

    If this is correct, it would make a good addition to one of those Configuration threads in the FAQ.

    Robert
    Attached Files Attached Files
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Steve, I must have something wrong in the config switches above. The LED is blinking more than twice as fast as it should. This is the test code:

    'define LOADER_USED 1
    LED1 VAR PortD.1
    START: HIGH LED1
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW LED1
    PAUSE 1000
    GOTO START
    Finish: end

    I am using a 20MHz external oscillator. I would like to be able to use slow speed USB on this device later. Do you see something I missed in the config?

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    you just need to modify the .INC in the PBP folders. My own file looks like that
    Code:
    ;****************************************************************
    ;*  18F4550.INC                                                 *
    ;*                                                              *
    ;*  By        : Leonard Zerman, Jeff Schmoyer                   *
    ;*  Notice    : Copyright (c) 2004 microEngineering Labs, Inc.  *
    ;*              All Rights Reserved                             *
    ;*  Date      : 12/31/04                                        *
    ;*  Version   : 2.46                                            *
    ;*  Notes     :                                                 *
    ;****************************************************************
            NOLIST
        ifdef PM_USED
            LIST
            "Error: PM does not support this device.  Use MPASM."
            NOLIST
        else
            LIST
            LIST p = 18F4550, r = dec, w = -311, f = inhx32
            INCLUDE "P18F4550.INC"	; MPASM  Header
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG1L, _PLLDIV_5_1L & _CPUDIV_OSC1_PLL2_1L & _USBDIV_2_1L
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _FOSC_HSPLL_HS_1H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_128_2H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG3H, _PBADEN_OFF_3H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L, _LVP_OFF_4L & _ICPRT_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L
            NOLIST
        endif
            LIST
    EEPROM_START	EQU	0F00000h
    BLOCK_SIZE	EQU	32
    not much.. it's the whole file i have.

    Do you still use the Bootloader? Did you also use the DEFINE OSC 20?

    How about your current one?
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister_e
    you just need to modify the .INC in the PBP folders. My own file looks like that
    Code:
    ...
    
            INCLUDE "P18F4550.INC"	; MPASM  Header
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG1L, _PLLDIV_5_1L & _CPUDIV_OSC1_PLL2_1L & _USBDIV_2_1L
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG1H, _FOSC_HSPLL_HS_1H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG2H, _WDT_ON_2H & _WDTPS_128_2H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG3H, _PBADEN_OFF_3H
           ; __CONFIG    _CONFIG4L, _LVP_OFF_4L & _ICPRT_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L
    
    ...
    You can't just comment out default values. You must assign them something, somewhere, no?

    Do you still use the Bootloader?
    Nope.

    Did you also use the DEFINE OSC 20?
    Nope.

    How about your current one?
    This is my latest code, same acceleration problem:

    'define LOADER_USED 1
    LED1 VAR PortD.1
    START: HIGH LED1
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW LED1
    PAUSE 1000
    GOTO START
    Finish: end


    And these are the configuration bits used:

    ; 96MHz PLL Prescaler:
    CONFIG PLLDIV = 5 ;Divide by 5 (20MHz input)
    ; CPU System Clock Postscaler:
    CONFIG CPUDIV = OSC1_PLL2 ;[OSC1/OSC2 Src: /1][96MHz PLL Src: /2]
    ; Full-Speed USB Clock Source Selection:
    CONFIG USBDIV = 1 ;Clock source from OSC1/OSC2
    ; Oscillator Selection bits:
    CONFIG FOSC = HS ;HS oscillator, HS used by USB
    ; Fail Safe Clock Monitor:
    CONFIG FCMEM = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Internal/External Switch Over:
    CONFIG IESO = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Power Up Timer:
    CONFIG PWRT = ON ;Enabled
    ; Brown Out Reset:
    CONFIG BOR = ON ;Enabled, SBOREN bit is disabled
    ; Brown Out Voltage:
    CONFIG BORV = 21 ;2.1V
    ; USB Voltage Regulator Enable:
    CONFIG VREGEN = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Watchdog Timer:
    CONFIG WDT = OFF ;HW Disabled - SW Controlled
    ; Watchdog Postscaler:
    CONFIG WDTPS = 32768 ;1:32768
    ; MCLR Enable:
    CONFIG MCLRE = ON ;Enabled
    ; Low Power Timer1 Oscillator Enable:
    CONFIG LPT1OSC = OFF ;Timer1 oscillator configured for high power
    ; Port B A/D Enable:
    CONFIG PBADEN = OFF ;PortB<4:0> pins are configured as digital I/O on RESET
    ; CCP2 Mux bit:
    CONFIG CCP2MX = ON ;CCP2 input/output is multiplexed with RC1
    ; Stack Overflow Reset:
    CONFIG STVREN = ON ;Enabled
    ; Low Voltage ICSP:
    CONFIG LVP = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Dedicated In-Circuit Debug/Programming Enable:
    CONFIG ICPRT = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Extended Instruction Set Enable:
    CONFIG XINST = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Background Debugger Enable:
    CONFIG DEBUG = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Code Protection Block 0:
    CONFIG CP0 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Code Protection Block 1:
    CONFIG CP1 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Code Protection Block 2:
    CONFIG CP2 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Code Protection Block 3:
    CONFIG CP3 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Boot Block Code Protection:
    CONFIG CPB = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Data EEPROM Code Protection:
    CONFIG CPD = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Write Protection Block 0:
    CONFIG WRT0 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Write Protection Block 1:
    CONFIG WRT1 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Write Protection Block 2:
    CONFIG WRT2 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Write Protection Block 3:
    CONFIG WRT3 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Boot Block Write Protection:
    CONFIG WRTB = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Configuration Register Write Protection:
    CONFIG WRTC = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Data EEPROM Write Protection:
    CONFIG WRTD = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Table Read Protection Block 0:
    CONFIG EBTR0 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Table Read Protection Block 1:
    CONFIG EBTR1 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Table Read Protection Block 2:
    CONFIG EBTR2 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Table Read Protection Block 3:
    CONFIG EBTR3 = OFF ;Disabled
    ; Boot Block Table Read Protection:
    CONFIG EBTRB = OFF ;Disabled

    I'm programming the chip via the MeLabs serial programmer.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Something else is acting weird. The MCLR pin seems to be held by the programmer for some reason. I have to unplug the MCLR wire to the programmer in order to be able to use my RESET button.

    It works properly for an 16F877, but not for an 18F4550.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,588


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    D'uh, nevermind on the acceleration thingy. I had to add DEFINE OSC 20.

    I thought CONFIG PLLDIV = 5 in the default configuration bits set it at 20MHz, apparently not.

    < Divide by 5 (20MHz input) >

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  16. #16
    bioeng-mostafa's Avatar
    bioeng-mostafa Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 18f4550

    Hello every one
    i want help of you to send to me or help me to find the two files
    1-18f4550.inc
    2-18f4550.bas
    thank you

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Robert,

    CONFIG PLLDIV = 5 is a "config word" option. This sets the PLL prescaler to
    divide the 20MHz primary osc input by 5. This is required when using a 20MHz
    primary osc because the input to the 96MHz PLL must always be 4MHz.

    DEFINE OSC 20 is different. This is used internally by PBP to adjust timing of
    PBP library routines to the 20MHz primary oscillator.

    bioeng-mostafa,

    If you don't have the 18F4550 device header files, then you need to update
    to the latest version of PBP. Version 2.46 introduced support for the 18F4550
    series.

    Just having someone email you device header files does not guarantee you'll
    be able to use the new device. There are more to some PBP updates than
    additional device specific header files.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  18. #18
    bioeng-mostafa's Avatar
    bioeng-mostafa Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    hello
    plase any one have PBP Version 2.46 introduced support for the 18F4550
    send it to me or tell me how i can get it

  19. #19
    bioeng-mostafa's Avatar
    bioeng-mostafa Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default help for pic18f4550

    hello
    plase any one have PBP Version 2.46 introduced support for the 18F4550
    send it to me or tell me how i can get it
    my mail is removed
    thank you

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,358


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    bioeng-mostafa

    Please don't ask for people to make and send you Pirate copies, get your own legally like the rest of us have had to.

    If you need an upgrade, go back to your original supplier or MeLabs directly.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    257


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What software do you lot use to program the 18F4550?

    I've always used IC-Prog with my JDM programmer to program other chips ok - but it looks like IC-Prog doesn't support this chip yet.

    I've tried winPic800 - but that doesnt detect the chip.

    Help appreciated.
    Squib

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    over the year i discovered and confirm that what you invest in really worth if you use it daily. Even if you spend 400-500$ or more

    simple calculation
    OriginalPrice/(DaysOfUseInAYear*Years) ... after 1-2 years you'll discover than less than 1$ a day really worth all time wasting if XYZ odd problem happen due to the limited support.

    Picstart is still workable but i don't recommend it now. It have still some problem on some device. All problem are solved here using BK precision 844a another Elnec relabeled). Work 100% of the time. The software upgrade is free and support by far more than only PIC.

    Now if you plan to program only PICs... Melabs EPIC or Microchip ICD2 are some great tools too. At least often mentionned here and on other forum.

    Those freebies like JDM & Pals are probably good for older device.. 16F628, 16F84... but come-on and give a break to those poor guy who develop FREE software around that like IC-Prog, WinPIcProg, PonyProg and how many others.

    You're serious, use serious stuff

    Sorry, it's my own and single opinion. Please, no flames.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    257


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Sorry, found my problem.. wrong pinout in my Connector! Ahhhhh!!!

    $2 JDM cheapy saved the day again!!

    You're right... Hahahaha. I should spend the bucks and get a specialist programmer... maybe if the tax man is good to me this year I'll get one.

    Cheers

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    As i said, if you're a serious developper or work most of your time 'round PIC and other programmable IC (eeprom include) the investement and support really worth... at least to me.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. How to set sequence of interrupt for PIC
    By chai98a in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 21st June 2008, 12:17
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 23rd December 2006, 14:29
  3. ic prog installation
    By sakthi in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th November 2006, 15:01
  4. FOR sequence is skipped
    By selbstdual in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 10th August 2006, 03:35
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 26th March 2006, 02:13

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts