Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    98

    Default Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    So I was writing to EE when I started to worry about the endurance of the EE as there would be frequently writes potentially.
    As I pursued that in the data sheet without much luck I accidentally stumbled on the fact that my chip has no EE !

    I was shocked as I had never encountered a PIC that did not have EE and I guess I just assumed that this one did when I picked it, I only use a few bytes.
    Obviously a gross oversight on my part.
    This raises two questions:
    Should the compiler have been aware that the chip had no EE? It was perfectly happy, I would have thought there might be an error.
    Or maybe that is beyond the scope of the compiler?

    Secondly now I need a drop in chip with EE, my original part is
    PIC16F15376T-I/PT
    44/TQFP
    My app is simple, all digital, no special peripherals needed. My code is all done and running so minimal recoding would be nice.
    INTOSC 30MHz
    Any part suggestions greatly appreciated.

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    This has according to https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC16F15376

    Flash Program Memory with self read/write capability, so you could use space at the end of the flash program memory for your data.

    Alternatively why not use a 24lc64 or similar memory chip on your board

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    557


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    Microchip has a cool site to filter through all their offerings. Several PICs meet your criteria. Here is the link:

    https://www.microchip.com/ParamChart...branchID=30048

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    98


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    Quote Originally Posted by aerostar View Post
    This has according to https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC16F15376

    Flash Program Memory with self read/write capability, so you could use space at the end of the flash program memory for your data.

    Alternatively why not use a 24lc64 or similar memory chip on your board
    Adding an external chip would require re-spinning the pcb. I thought about using WRITECODE and that might work but I worry about the endurance as I would like to write many times.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    98


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgmike View Post
    Microchip has a cool site to filter through all their offerings. Several PICs meet your criteria. Here is the link:

    https://www.microchip.com/ParamChart...branchID=30048
    thanks for that, what is "Emulated EEPROM in Flash" ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    557


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    High Endurance Flash (HEF).

    EEPROMs have a limited number of times they can be written to; they can be read from infinitely, though. Flash has a VERY limited number of writes before it begins to corrupt the data. HEF is Flash, but is designed to be more robust than normal Flash. Using the Flash Write procedure, you can use HEF like you would EEPROM (almost).

    Flash works differently than EEPROM in that you must erase entire blocks at a time. You cannot simply write to a single address repeatedly. Normal EEPROM procedures in PCB don't work with HEF. Read up on it.

    I would suggest if you need to write to EEPROM addresses randomly & repeatedly, use a PIC with a genuine EEPROM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,793


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    I know you don't want to re-wire your board but serial SRAM is a good solution for no limit in writing but needs a battery backup to hold the data.

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    24LC series is a possibility and does not need battery backup.

    Serial EEPROM
    • More than 1 Million Erase/Write Cycles - if that is enough
    • Data Retention > 200 years

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,793


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    That million is valid for block write though...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    408


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    and that might work but I worry about the endurance as I would like to write many times
    So, what's your definition of "many times", and when you say "I only use a few bytes" how many bytes is that?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Commerce Michigan USA
    Posts
    1,166


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: Chip had no EE, should PBP3 know that?

    If it was me, I would use an FM24W256 as it is a 256-Kbit ferroelectric random access memory (F-RAM)
    logically organized as 32 K × 8. It has an unlimited write cycle and does NOT have the 5 Millisecond delay to write. I have used these in many projects that record data.
    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA
    EN82fn
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA
    EN82fn

Similar Threads

  1. Pbp3.1.1
    By mpgmike in forum PBP3
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: - 13th January 2018, 17:40
  2. PBP3 Code Does not Compile with PBP3.1
    By RossWaddell in forum PBP3
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 2nd July 2017, 09:42
  3. I really need some help with PBP3
    By Ramius in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 26th February 2012, 17:05
  4. Pbp3
    By rcbandwidth in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: - 18th September 2011, 15:13
  5. What's with PBP3?
    By BrianT in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 10th August 2011, 18:09

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts