PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    jmateen's Avatar
    jmateen Guest

    Post PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    I am using Micro code studio with PBP 3.1. When using the “ Compile & Program “ option the program
    Compiled successfully but couldn’t find the PICKIT-3 with the following message.
    “ Searching for programmer , please wait”.

    I have already installed MPLAB IDE V8.92.
    Request if anyone can guide to resolve this problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,941

    Default Re: PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    Not exactly for PK3 but may help you.

    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...1208#post71208

    I compile and have a stand alone for PK3 running. The hex is loaded automatically before hitting Write, so no fuss.

    Ioannis

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,253

    Default Re: PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    If you're using the old MPLAB 8.92 then it's you need to point to the MCSP to the pk3cmd.exe, see:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=12108

    If you update to MPLABX you'll get the IPE tool with its separate command line interface and you'll need to Point MCSP to ipecmd.exe instead, see:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...hlight=PICKit3

    Also, there's a .pdf worth a read here:
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/show...hlight=PICKit3

    /Henrik.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,941

    Default Re: PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    I really hate the IPE and finally ended up using the the Evans standalone PICKit2/3 programmer that is great to use (http://www.pickitplus.co.uk/Typesetter/)

    I suppose the above apply to make it run through MCS IDE.

    Ioannis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    320

    Default Re: PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    Even if you could get PBP to see your PicKit3, you are limited to programming chips still covered by MPLAB 8.92. To work with newer PICs, you really need to download MPLABX (version 5.35 as of this date). PBP3.1 is designed to work with MPLABX, not only for programming, but compiling, linking, etc. You see that it can't find the PicKit3. I think it is much more complex than that, and it probably isn't compiling effectively with MPLAB 8.92.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,549

    Default Re: PICKIT-3 installation in PBP 3.1

    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

Similar Threads

  1. Installation Advice Please
    By Ramius in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 18th January 2017, 01:59
  2. 12f1822, PBP, EEPROM and pickit 2 = hex file too large
    By Chris Barron in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 22nd March 2011, 23:08
  3. PBP + MPLAB + PICKit 3 Debugger / Programmer
    By HenrikOlsson in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 10th February 2011, 18:53
  4. ic prog installation
    By sakthi in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 15th November 2006, 14:01
  5. Installation sequence
    By Demon in forum General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: - 11th July 2006, 03:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts