VS1838B remote


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: VS1838B remote

  1. #1

    Default VS1838B remote

    These popular 3 pin infrared receivers --

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...FYWMWKVM&psc=1

    are used a lot with the arduino stuff but has anyone run across any picbasic code using them? don't want to start from scratch based on my previous attempts to use picbasic for a remote. (a pain if I remember right). THANKS.

    just need it to do a simple on/off which is easy if you just detect basic IR but don't want the possibility of ambient light triggering it so just one basic on/off data stream would work.

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    I'm thinking the way to do it is use COUNT and just look for X amount of pulses from the 38khz ired xmtr. If > X then high a pin.
    Should work I hope. ?

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Bummer. Never used COUNT before, maybe I'm missing something?

    CT VAR WORD

    COUNT portb.5, 1000, CT
    IF CT > 10 then
    HIGH porta.7
    CT = 0
    ENDIF

    Getting nothing. Using 16f628a and 4mhz.

    I have no doubt there are more than 10 pulses in a second with the ired data out.

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Presto -- thought I had the count set at 10 (was 20) -- working great now.
    Like the way I have conversations with myself on the forum?

    Kind of a cool way to use these ired units for a simple foolproof switch actually.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Hi ...

    I am using same code ish

    count ir,500,realtrig ' Looks for real trigger
    if realtrig >15 then 'if real ir then turn light on
    gosub Seconds 'then on 88 Seconds
    endif
    return
    Works fine for me also..... But I I am getting false triggers due to mains spikes (My circuit is on a 12v Battery then LDO down to 5v....Was wondering what your circuit looked like ... If I was missing anything maybe ...



    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,611


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Hi,

    I think the best way would be to use the PULSIN command ( or use the PIC Capture HW function ...) ... just to be sure no false signal incoming : you can have one or two valid pulses windows ( signal 0 and 1 ... i.e. )
    count counts ... everything !!!

    may be you also could have a look to RC5 like IR codes ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    18


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Once upon a time , there was a brilliant and very helpfull gentleman named Bruce Reynold.
    He posted some Infra Red routines for PIC's in PICBASIC at his site Rentron.com which now is lost.
    The general idea was to create a routine ,at the encoder ,which lasted in total 26μs and a dutycycle of 25% toggling a port bit on and off thus having a frequency of 38Khz.
    I kept a copy and maybe you can get an idea

    PROCESSOR 12c508
    #include "p12c508.inc"
    __CONFIG _MCLRE_OFF & _CP_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _IntRC_OSC
    #DEFINE PORT B'11111101'
    MOVF OSCCAL
    MOVLW PORT
    TRIS GPIO

    BEGIN
    BCF GPIO, 1 ;1uS
    NOP ;2uS each nop is 1uS long
    NOP ;3uS
    NOP ;4uS
    NOP ;5uS
    NOP ;6uS
    NOP ;7uS
    NOP ;8uS
    NOP ;9uS
    NOP ;10uS
    NOP ;11uS
    NOP ;12uS
    NOP ;13uS
    NOP ;14uS
    NOP ;15uS
    NOP ;16uS
    NOP ;17uS
    NOP ;18uS
    NOP ;19uS low on gpio.0
    BSF GPIO, 1 ;1uS Begin HIGH duty cycle
    NOP ;2uS
    NOP ;3uS
    NOP ;4uS
    NOP ;5uS
    GOTO BEGIN ;2uS (26uS total for 38KHz)
    END

    I remember that he also had a working example with a pair of pic16f628 for remote control.
    Maybe somebody can help further.
    Regards
    Last edited by gebillpap; - 28th March 2020 at 17:13.

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    I remember the Rentron stuff -- excellent. Thanks for that code, I'll look into it and play with pulsin. It should be more accurate sounds like.

    It's working 98% of the time but alas, that isn't good enough. The goal is a foolproof on/off switch just sensing Ired.
    Noise is the problem with those receivers.

  9. #9


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Never used pulsin. So if I knew the pulse width of the 38khz signal, I can compare it to a result pulsin gives? I just read something where it says it measures just one pulse, either low or high state and then goes to next instruction? Why a word variable if it just measures once?

    I get frustrated with some of the PBP commands. The manual is too vague. Wish for every command they could have done another page just with code examples and an explanation of what's going on. (just me venting).

  10. #10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    I found that Rentron code. Wow. It's all there and well commented -- I'll try it out. His comments really spell it out and teach.

  11. #11


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Pulsin works great. Heck, I just used the first part of that rentron code and did this with it --
    I get a perfect momentary on/off with a bit of needed pause.


    Main:
    PULSIN PORTB.0,0,Leader ' leader pulse is ~9mS low-going
    IF Leader < 850 THEN
    LOW PORTB.2
    GOTO Main
    ENDIF

    IF LEADER > 850 THEN
    HIGH PORTB.2
    PAUSE 300
    ENDIF

    LEADER = 0
    PAUSE 100

    GOTO MAIN

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Pulsin works great. Heck, I just used the first part of that rentron code and did this with it --
    I get a perfect momentary on/off with a bit of needed pause.


    Main:
    PULSIN PORTB.0,0,Leader ' leader pulse is ~9mS low-going
    IF Leader < 850 THEN
    LOW PORTB.2
    GOTO Main
    ENDIF

    IF LEADER > 850 THEN
    HIGH PORTB.2
    PAUSE 300
    ENDIF

    LEADER = 0
    PAUSE 100

    GOTO MAIN
    Just a question ......Why:-

    GOTO Main
    ENDIF
    I would assume the other way round .....Genuine question. I can never understand software fully :-)

    Andy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    557


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    I think it's a method of skipping other IF/THEN options.

    It could also be structured with...

    IF This THEN
    do something
    ELSEIF That THEN
    do something else
    ELSE None of the above
    Don't do anything
    ENDIF

    Only 1 option will be selected, forcing a break from the test once a match is found.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    237


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgmike View Post
    I think it's a method of skipping other IF/THEN options.

    It could also be structured with...

    IF This THEN
    do something
    ELSEIF That THEN
    do something else
    ELSE None of the above
    Don't do anything
    ENDIF

    Only 1 option will be selected, forcing a break from the test once a match is found.
    Got it

    Thank you

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    it's working fine but I added leader = 0 to clear it out (duh)
    should have thought of that.
    I need to put the breadboard in the sunshine and see if it stays stable.
    if not, I'll just add his decoding the bytes data

    kind of nice using any button on the remote

    Main:
    PULSIN PORTB.0,0,LEADER ' leader pulse is ~9mS low-going
    IF Leader < 850 THEN
    LOW PORTB.2
    LEADER = 0
    GOTO Main
    ENDIF

    and yes, could have used else but so simple just wanted to see if functions.
    Last edited by Michael; - 3rd April 2020 at 15:24.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,793


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Another one for F675 chip

    Code:
    '*  Author  : Craig S Gardner, Modified by Jonathan Peakall to  *
    '*          : allow baud rate selection.                        *
    CMCON = 7             ' Comparators OFF
    ANSEL = 0             ' A/D OFF -- Port pins all digital
    TRISIO = %010000    ' All I/O but GPIO3 = outputs
    GPIO = %000000      ' All 0 on boot
    
    
    sBaud var byte
    IRpulse_length var word(13)
    xx var Byte
    Command	Var	Byte
    Device Var Byte
    input gpio.3
    'clear
    pause 500
    sbaud = 2
    if gpio.3 = 1 then
      sBaud = 2
    endif
    
    if gpio.3 = 0 then
       sBaud = 0
    endif
    
    Getstartbits: 
    PuLSIN GPIO.1,0,IRpulse_length(0)
    if IRpulse_length(0) < 200 then
    goto getstartbits
    Endif
    
    for xx=1 to 12
    pulsin GPIO.1,0,IRpulse_length(xx)
    next  xx
    
    
    
    displaybits: 
    if IRpulse_length(1) < 100 then
    Command.bit0 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit0 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(2) < 100 then
    Command.bit1 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit1 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(3) < 100 then
    Command.bit2 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit2 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(4) < 100 then
    Command.bit3 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit3 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(5) < 100 then
    Command.bit4 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit4 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(6) < 100 then
    Command.bit5 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit5 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(7) < 100 then
    Command.bit6 = 0 
    Else	
    Command.bit6 = 1
    endif
    Command.bit7 = 0 
    Command = Command + 1
    If Command = 10 then
    Command = 0
    Endif
    
    
    
    if IRpulse_length(8) < 100 then
    Device.bit0 = 0 
    Else	
    Device.bit0 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(9) < 100 then
    Device.bit1 = 0 
    Else	
    Device.bit1 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(10) < 100 then
    Device.bit2 = 0 
    Else	
    Device.bit2 = 1
    endif
    if IRpulse_length(11) < 100 then
    Device.bit3 = 0 
    Else	
    Device.bit3 = 1
    endif
    'Device.bit1 = 0
    
    
    
    SEROUT GPIO.0,sbaud,[Device,Command]
    pause 100 
    goto Getstartbits
    Ioannis

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,793


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    And another one, very educative.

    Controlling the world_SIRC.pdf

    Ioannis

  18. #18


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    Thanks Ioannis. That pdf will be my reading later. I may want to do more sophisticated RC stuff also.
    This simple on/off is working great -- only sees NEC remotes. Tried others and no go which is good.
    I suppose you could even set up another counter to get simple on/offs on other pins, press twice within 10 seconds and so on.
    But not going there.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,793


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: VS1838B remote

    If you are able to decode the transmitted button press, then you can do anything you want. The pdf is close to what you need.

    Ioannis

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Ip remote relay switch
    By jetpr in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 23rd June 2014, 18:07
  2. Remote control help
    By paulthegulll in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 2nd November 2010, 10:01
  3. IR/RF Remote Control
    By jhorsburgh in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th February 2008, 03:23
  4. need help in decoding RC-5 IR-remote
    By vu2iia in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 14th August 2007, 05:34
  5. Remote control
    By Radiance in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th August 2003, 16:13

Members who have read this thread : 2

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts