+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    27

    Default Why does PICkit2 show it as an LF device?

    About a month back, I bought 5 pieces of PIC12F1840 (SOIC package) from Ali Express for $ 3.22. I am able to program them and run the code at 5 volts without any problem. But PICkit2 always identifies it as 12LF1840 (LF version) and reduces the supply voltage to 3.3. I can increase it up to 3.6, but not beyond that. I understand that it is a safety feature for low voltage devices.

    Since the laser etching on the PIC clearly describes it as 12F1840 and since it is not getting fried when connected to a supply of 5 Volts, I am sure it's not an LF version. I have three questions.

    1. How do I tell PICkit2 that it is not an LF version (assuming it is possible)?

    2. Is there a difference in programming voltage between F and LF versions?

    3. Is there any way of finding out whether it is a genuine PIC manufactured by Microchip?

    Thanks for any comments / suggestions.

    - Bala
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Balachandar; - 20th October 2018 at 03:18.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,496

    Default Re: Why does PICkit2 show it as an LF device?

    I have seen microchip forum topics indicating that early versions of the PK2DeviceFile.dat
    have that chip incorrectly represented. try getting the latest version.
    other than that try a different programmer to verify chip credentials, it may be some sort of clone


    I use this [post15]
    https://www.microchip.com/forums/m731464.aspx
    Last edited by richard; - 20th October 2018 at 03:44.
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: Why does PICkit2 show it as an LF device?

    Hello,

    I done programming lots of genuine 12F1840 pic's with 12LF1840 settings on pickit2 without any problems.
    Lets try it, it works for me.

    Louis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: Why does PICkit2 show it as an LF device?

    I done programming lots of genuine 12F1840 pic's with 12LF1840 settings on pickit2 without any problems.
    Lets try it, it works for me.
    That's right.

    As I have mentioned in my earlier post, the PIC works fine. I understand that there is no difference in programming voltage between 12F1840 and 12LF1840 . I havae a PICkit2 programmer and it is able to program the PIC. So, there is no problem in using those PICs.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 5th October 2011, 08:59
  2. Debug Watch does not show all of an array
    By reppig in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 12th July 2011, 17:22
  3. Target Device does not match selected device
    By queenidog in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 25th June 2011, 00:24
  4. show on LCD decimal numbers
    By savnik in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 31st March 2007, 20:36
  5. mass storage device 1 MB Flash device
    By Pedro Santos in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 31st August 2006, 03:11

Members who have read this thread : 21

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts