+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Alabama,USA
    Posts
    190

    Default DT ASM Interrupts

    I am working with others on THE BOOK of DT INTERRUPTS. I have been reading some of Darrel's threads on ASM Type interrupts and it sounds to me that, If you are using ASM interrupts only, you don't have to INCLUDE ReEnterPBP.bas Can anyone confirm this? Comments please.
    Wayne

  2. #2

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    That's correct.

    ReEnterPBP is used to save/restore the state of PBP, which you don't need to do if you're using asm and not using PBP statements in the ISR handler.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Alabama,USA
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    Thanks tumbleweed, now I can put a statement in TYPES of interrupts that states "When using ASM interrupts only, the INCLUDE ReEnterPBP.bas file is not needed."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    203

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    Some PICs have automatic context saving while others do not. Might want to mention that. It's listed in the appropriate data sheets.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,388

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    its also worth noting that if you only have 1 interrupt and that it is a asm type then
    DEFINE INTHAND
    is quicker and leaner than dt-ints ,and just as easy to accomplish especially if chip has auto context save
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Alabama,USA
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    Thanks guy for your comments.
    Richard, so for those of us who don't know about DEFINE INTHAND, Please give a bref explanation. I see that DEFINE INTHAND followed by INT_ENTRY is at the beginning of DT_INT-14.bas. It is not mentioned again in the code. INT_ENTRY saves everything and more. So I ask, how do you set up for a single ASM interrupt with INTHAND?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,388

    Default Re: DT ASM Interrupts

    if you look at this thread you can see how I used the same isr with and without dt_ints
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=23874


    I see that DEFINE INTHAND followed by INT_ENTRY is at the beginning of DT_INT-14.bas
    INT_ENTRY is the name of dt_ints "master" isr your isr{'s} are then called from that

    So I ask, how do you set up for a single ASM interrupt with INTHAND?




    there is an entire section of the pbp manual dedicated to this subject , its clearly written , concise and
    covers the subject thoroughly . I would have nothing to add that is not covered therein handsomely
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

Similar Threads

  1. DT lOW PRIORITY INTERRUPTS - ASM WARNING
    By longpole001 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 6th September 2014, 00:56
  2. DT_INTS-18 ASM Interrupts
    By JustinS in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 23rd July 2013, 11:03
  3. Quadrature encoder and ASM Interrupts. questions..
    By godfodder in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 17th March 2013, 14:45
  4. asm interrupts
    By Macgman2000 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: - 18th September 2008, 05:00
  5. ASM Interrupts with BASIC code?
    By Desterline in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 31st October 2003, 19:21

Members who have read this thread : 19

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts