help with 4 x 20 LCD


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Default help with 4 x 20 LCD

    I'm trying to use a 4x20 LCD with a 16F887 but without any luck. I have the LAB-X1 with a 2x20 LCD. The 4x20 module has the same 16 pins as the 2x20, so I'm assuming it can be connected to the PIC the same what it is connected on the LAB-X1. I'm not using the external crystal though. There was no define statement in the sample code that sets the number of lines, so I added it.

    Code:
    ' Name        : LCDX.pbp' 
    Compiler    : PICBASIC PRO 
    Compiler 2.60' Assembler   : PM or MPASM' 
    Target PIC  : 40-pin 16F887' 
    Hardware    : LAB-X1 Experimenter Board' 
    Oscillator  : 4MHz external crystal' 
    Keywords    : LCDOUT' 
    Description : PICBASIC PRO program to display "Hello World" on' LAB-X1 LCD.'' Define LCD registers and bits
    
    Define LCD_DREG  PORTD
    Define LCD_DBIT  4
    Define LCD_RSREG PORTE
    Define LCD_RSBIT 0
    Define LCD_EREG  PORTE
    Define LCD_EBIT  1
    Define LCD_LINES 4          'code works in LAB-X1 without this line   
    ANSEL = %00000000 ' Make AN0-AN7 digital   
    ANSELH= %00000000 ' Make AN8-AN13 digital   
    Low PORTE.2     ' LCD R/W line low (W)   
    Pause 100       ' Wait for LCD to start up
    
    mainloop:   
         Lcdout $fe, 1   ' Clear screen   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout "Hello"  ' Display "Hello"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout $fe, $c0, "World" ' Move to line 2  and display "World"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
    Goto mainloop   ' Do it forever   
    End
    Last edited by keithv; - 22nd February 2018 at 20:39.

  2. #2


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    sorry. I'm editing the format now.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    557


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Each line has its own address in the HD44780.

    Line 1 = $80
    Line 2 = $C0
    Line 3 = $90
    Line 4 = $D0

    You would need RS = 0 to send a command and send your line address, then RS = 1 and send the string.

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgmike View Post
    Each line has its own address in the HD44780.

    Line 1 = $80
    Line 2 = $C0
    Line 3 = $90
    Line 4 = $D0

    You would need RS = 0 to send a command and send your line address, then RS = 1 and send the string.
    I'm sorry. I'm not following. I think I understand how to move the cursor around. But what is RS? The register select bit? I'm not getting it to display anything even on lines 1 and 2. What would you do differently here to get it to display "hello" on line 1 and then "world" on line 2?
    Code:
    Lcdout $fe, 1   ' Clear screen   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout "Hello"  ' Display "Hello"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout $fe, $c0, "World" ' Move to line 2  and display "World"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    The following code works for me with a 4 x 20 LCD

    Code:
    ;----[LCD ]---------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    DEFINE LCD_DREG  PORTB           ' LCD Data port
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT  0               ' starting Data bit (0 or 4)
    DEFINE LCD_EREG  PORTB           ' LCD Enable port
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT  5               '     Enable bit  (on EasyPIC 5 LCD)
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB           ' LCD Register Select port
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 4               '     Register Select bit   (on EasyPIC 5 LCD)
    DEFINE LCD_BITS  4               ' LCD bus size (4 or 8 bits)
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 4               ' number of lines on LCD
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000        ' Command delay time in us 
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50             ' Data delay time in us 
    
    LCDOUT $FE,1:FLAGS=0:PAUSE 250:LCDOUT $FE,1:PAUSE 250 ' Initialize LCD
    Obviously change the port/pin assignments to match your hardware

    To inform the LCD which line to start displaying text on use;
    Code:
    $fe,$80,
    $fe,$C0,
    $fe,$94,
    $fe,$d4,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    583


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by keithv View Post
    I'm sorry. I'm not following. I think I understand how to move the cursor around. But what is RS? The register select bit? I'm not getting it to display anything even on lines 1 and 2. What would you do differently here to get it to display "hello" on line 1 and then "world" on line 2?
    Code:
    Lcdout $fe, 1   ' Clear screen   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout "Hello"  ' Display "Hello"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout $fe, $c0, "World" ' Move to line 2  and display "World"   
         Pause 500       ' Wait .5 second
    You forgot to designate the line one position

    Code:
    LCDOUT  $FE,1
    lcdout  $FE,$80,"Hello"
    pause 500
    lcdout  $FE,$C0,"World"
    pause 500

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,380


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    LCDOUT $FE,1
    lcdout $FE,$80,"Hello"
    the $FE,$80 is tolally unnecessary , the $FE,1 not only clears the screen it homes the cursor to
    line 1 pos 0 too

    LCDOUT $FE,1:FLAGS=0:PAUSE 250:LCDOUT $FE,1:PAUSE 250 ' Initialize LCD
    is a waste of code space and indicates that the power on lcd wait may be too short



    Pause xxx ' Wait for LCD to start up
    LCDOUT $FE,1

    is adequate , I have had displays that need the pause xxx to be as long as 500mS


    its also possible that the default config settings in your pic16f887.inc file don't match your setup

    can you blink a led at defined rate correctly ?
    Last edited by richard; - 23rd February 2018 at 00:23.
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by richard View Post

    its also possible that the default config settings in your pic16f887.inc file don't match your setup

    can you blink a led at defined rate correctly ?
    I added the address for good measure. No luck. I increased the start up wait time. No luck still. I added a blinking LED and that works - on for half a second, off for 1 second. Stuff highlighted in RED is what was added/changed.

    Code:
    TRISB = %00000000
    pause 500
    mainloop:   
         Lcdout $fe, 1                                 ' Clear screen   
         Pause 500                                     ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout $fe, $80, "Hello"                                ' Display "Hello"  
         PORTB.7 = 1                                      'LED on 
         Pause 500                                     ' Wait .5 second   
         Lcdout $fe, $c0, "World"                 ' Move to line 2  and display "World"  
         PORTB.7 = 0                                      'LED off 
         Pause 500                                     ' Wait .5 second   
    Goto mainloop                                    ' Do it forever   
    End

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,380


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    wiring ?
    contrast setting ?
    unused data pins on lcd are grounded not left floating ?
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  10. #10


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Just FYI, this is the LCD Module I'm using.

    I've got it connected just like the LAB-1X:

    VSS > ground
    VDD > +5v
    V0 > ground
    RS > RE0
    R/W > RE2
    E > RE1
    D0 > RD4
    D1 > RD5
    D2 > RD6
    D3 > RD7
    D4 > RD0
    D5 > RD1
    D6 > RD2
    D7 > RD3
    A > +5V
    K > ground

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,380


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    seems a strange way to connect it
    I would
    D0 > gnd
    D1 > gnd
    D2 > gnd
    D3 > gnd

    plus r/w can be grounded
    it you connect it to e2 then that needs to be defined for correct operation
    Define LCD_DREG PORTD
    Define LCD_DBIT 4
    Define LCD_RSREG PORTE
    Define LCD_RSBIT 0
    Define LCD_EREG PORTE
    Define LCD_EBIT 1
    Define LCD_LINES 4 'code works in LAB-X1 without this line
    DEFINE LCD_RWREG PORTE 'LCDOUT/IN read/write port
    DEFINE LCD_RWBIT 2 'LCDOUT/IN read/write bit

    and vo is connected to wiper of contrast pot (10k) that's connected between vcc-gnd

    with vo grounded thats max contrast and display shows all black squares
    Last edited by richard; - 23rd February 2018 at 01:10. Reason: defines added
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  12. #12


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Code:
    CLEAR
    DEFINE LOADER_USED 1
    DEFINE OSC4
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTD
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 1
    DEFINE LCD_RWREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_RWBIT 2
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 8
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 4
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    
    ANSEL = %00000000
    TRISD = %00000000
    TRISE = %00000000
    PAUSE 500
    
    Mainloop:
         LCDOUT $fe, 1
         pause 500
         LCDOUT $fe, $80, "hello"
         pause 500
         LCDOUT $fe, $C0, "world"
         pause 500
    goto mainloop
    end
    This is the older example code that is in the LAB-X1 Tutorial and Reference book. With the addition of the contrast pot on V0, I now at least get it to display something. Although it's not displaying English characters or anything that I recognize for that matter.....it looks more like Klingon or Greek. And it's not displaying in the correct locations. It only displays 1 string of gibberish over and over again (I'd assume it would display different 2 if it was incorrectly translating 2 different strings). It displays this first string of gibberish at the beginning of line 1 as expected. But instead of moving to the beginning of line 2, it repeats the string at the end of the first. Each time it blinks, it repeats the string at the end of the previous string. But instead of wrapping around to the second line, it jumps to the 3rd line. Once it fills the 3rd line, it stops adding new strings and just flashes forever without ever clearing the display.

    I tried removing D0~3 and D4~7. It only works with all 8 data busses connected.

  13. #13


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Maybe I have an I2C version? I've contacted the seller to see if I can get a datasheet.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    2,380


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    .....it looks more like Klingon or Greek.
    because you still have it wrong



    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTD

    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4 from manual ' Set starting Data bit (0 or 4) if 4-bit bus



    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 0
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 1
    DEFINE LCD_RWREG PORTE
    DEFINE LCD_RWBIT 2


    DEFINE LCD_BITS 8 from manual Set LCD bus size (4 or 8 bits)

    The LCD may be connected to the PIC MCU using either a 4-bit bus or an 8-bit
    bus. If an 8-bit bus is used, all 8 bits must be on one port. If a 4-bit bus is used,
    the top 4 LCD data bits must be connected to either the bottom 4 or top 4 bits of
    one port.




    DEFINE LCD_LINES 4
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

    the one thing not mentioned in the manual is to ground the unused pins d0-d3 if using a 4 bit bus.
    it can be difficult to init disp under some conditions if this is not done.

    if you use 8bit bus then the pins should be connected sequentially port.0 -> d0 ..... port.7 -> d7
    Last edited by richard; - 23rd February 2018 at 22:10.
    Warning I'm not a teacher

  15. #15


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: help with 4 x 20 LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by richard View Post
    because you still have it wrong






    the one thing not mentioned in the manual is to ground the unused pins d0-d3 if using a 4 bit bus.
    it can be difficult to init disp under some conditions if this is not done.

    if you use 8bit bus then the pins should be connected sequentially port.0 -> d0 ..... port.7 -> d7
    Yes! That fixed it. And I actually understand what's going on now. Thanks so much, Richard and everyone!

Similar Threads

  1. Using a parallel LCD(44780 based) as a serial LCD
    By mikejp56 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 30th October 2015, 02:56
  2. Replies: 36
    Last Post: - 14th March 2011, 19:38
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 5th November 2009, 18:07
  4. LCD and PIC18F2685 - Weird LCD behavior
    By Castor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 29th April 2008, 10:55
  5. to convert LCD // hd 44780 --> serial LCD
    By in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 15th March 2003, 13:37

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts