Operating a PIC at 3V ?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Scott's Avatar
    Scott Guest

    Default Operating a PIC at 3V ?

    Everytime I start a project that requires a battery I spend way to much time getting the PIC to even run. The other components are powered up fine.

    I would like to run my PIC16F876A at 3.0 or 3.3V. I would like to run the PIC at 4mhz. Will the PIC handle datarates of 9600 Baud on the UART pins?

    I have my PIC in the circuit and have an LEd tied to PORTC.0 to make sure the PIC is running. IT does not Illuminate the LED. What should I be looking for?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott
    I would like to run my PIC16F876A at 3.0 or 3.3V. I would like to run the PIC at 4mhz. Will the PIC handle datarates of 9600 Baud on the UART pins?
    Yes it will. Look the datasheet or use my SPBRG calc. with the right settings, you can have a 0.16% error wich is really not as this bad.

    I have my PIC in the circuit and have an LEd tied to PORTC.0 to make sure the PIC is running. IT does not Illuminate the LED. What should I be looking for?
    Once again, i'll bet on the Brown-out detect fuse. Disable it and post your results.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  3. #3
    Scott's Avatar
    Scott Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Mister_E!

    We have the PIC running! Brown out was the problem.

    Now the data going over the UART is not correct. Here is some test code I am using:

    ' Setup Auto Epic Settings
    @ device pic16F876A, hs_osc, wdt_off, pwrt_on, protect_off
    DEFINE OSC 4 ' Set Xtal Frequency

    ' Setup Hardware for uart
    DEFINE HSER_BAUD 9600
    DEFINE HSER_RCSTA 90h
    DEFINE HSER_TXSTA 24h
    DEFINE HSER_SPBRG 129
    DEFINE HSER_CLROERR 1

    pause 100
    HSEROUT ["Startup", 13, 10]

    main:
    pause 5000
    hserout ["Data Out.....", 13,10]
    goto main

    Thanks again,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    You didn't choose the right SPBRG value for your crystal... @ 4MHZ you should have...
    Code:
    DEFINE HSER_RCSTA 90h
    DEFINE HSER_TXSTA 24h
    DEFINE HSER_SPBRG 25 ' 9600 Bauds
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Scott's Avatar
    Scott Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It seems I need to go back and review the Microchip data sheets!

    Thanks for all the help everything is working fine!

  6. #6
    Scott's Avatar
    Scott Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    It seems I need to go back and review the Microchip data sheets!

    Thanks for all the help everything is working fine!

Similar Threads

  1. SMS via pic
    By kenandere in forum GSM
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 10th March 2010, 10:00
  2. pic to pic ir link versus wired link : help please anyone
    By xnihilo in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: - 30th May 2008, 21:01
  3. LCD 16x2 HD44780U on 3V pic Directly?
    By ngeronikolos in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 28th April 2008, 15:04
  4. Serial Pic to Pic using HSER
    By Chadhammer in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 11th March 2005, 23:14
  5. 3v Pic Icsp
    By Keith55555 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 7th June 2004, 15:13

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts