+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    54

    Default Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    Hello everybody,

    I am a little bit lost with my installations.

    Since 2009 I have developped several projects with the PIC 18F2685 using PBP 3.0 (and now 3.1) and MPLAB 8.

    It is now time to progess and I need to go to the new 18F27K40.
    I have understood that I need MPASMX so I need to move to MPLABX at least to take profit from his asm.

    But I want to keep my MPLAB 8 environment still valid to maintain my old projects.

    Is it possible to have both MPLAB 8 and MPLAB X available on the same machine (not at the same time !) and working with PBP 3.1 ?. What about the connections between MPLAB and PBP in this case ?

    Up to now I have PBP 3.1 and MPLAB 8.92 already installed and working. Then I have installed MPLAB X 4.05 and ticked the PBP tool chainbox in the plugins list. Then I tried to make a new project but even if the PBP compiler is listed I cannot select in the list of compilers when MPLAB ask it.

    I suspect that I did not respect some sequence somewhere and that some links are not established between the various applications. What should be the proper sequence for this installation ?

    Moreover, I am not sure to use the MPLAB X IDE. I have tryied it six months ago for a 24F development in C. It was a real nightmare ! I am hesitating in using MCSPX instead. Where should I introduce it in my sequence of installation ?

    Many thanks for your help.

    MikeBZH

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    Can't help with the sequence of events, too long ago for me to remember. However, I do have both MPLAB 8.9 and MPLABX 4.01 (and v3.60) installed at the same time, each with their own icons on the desktop. Good luck with the connection issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    I may have a solution with two separate development chains but both installed (to validate).

    For maintening my old 18F2685 projects :
    MPLAB 8 (including MPASM) + PBP 3.0 + PicKit2

    For developing my new 18F27K40 project :
    MPLAB X (including MPASMX) + PBP 3.1 + PicKit 3 + MCSPX (maybe).

    I assume that PBP 3.0 and PBP 3.1 live separatly and are seen as two different programs which allows to establish some independant links between MPASM 8 and PBP 3.0 on one side and MPASM X and PBP 3.1 on the other side. Am I right ?

    I will try to test this on an other machine today.

    MikeBZH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    2,735

    Default Re: Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    Very curious about your findings.

    Ioannis

  5. #5

    Default Re: Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    Then I have installed MPLAB X 4.05 and ticked the PBP tool chainbox in the plugins list. Then I tried to make a new project but even if the PBP compiler is listed I cannot select in the list of compilers when MPLAB ask it.
    If you have the plugin installed and it doesn't let you select PBP, then make sure the toolchain settings are correct.
    From the MPLABX main menu select 'Tools | Options | Embedded | Build Tools'

    Make sure PICBASIC PRO is shown in the 'Toolchain' listbox. If it isn't then 'Add...' and browse to the PBP folder. It should recognize it, and then select 'OK'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, FRANCE
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Installing PBP3.1 with MPLAB 8 AND MPLABX

    Just a short report about the situation.

    MPLAB 8.92 and PBP 3.1 (and PBP 3.0) were already installed on my PC. I have also installed MPLAB X 4.05.

    Finally, keeping PBP 3.0 was not necessary. I can work with MPLAB 8 + PBP 3.1 + MPASMWIN.

    I did not succeed in making this chain work with MPASMX. I got the message "Unable to find mpasmwin" when I launched the compilation. I could not find a way to make MPLAB work with MPASMX.

    Anyway, in my case it is not important. I stay with my old chain for my old projects. My first objective is reached.



    I am now trying to make the MPLAB X configuration work for my new project. I tryied to follow the recommandations from the posts but many things have changed with the versions. For 4.05 one must tick the PBP chain in the Tools > Plugins > Available Plugins, validate the choice and Add the PBP chain in Tools > Options > Embedded. The chain is automatically added when pushing thh Add... button.

    Then I tryied to import a PBP project developped under MPLAB 8 and named PGMTST. The process is described there : http://www.microchip.com/forums/m1015105.aspx.

    When selecting the compiler this message appears :
    <html><div style="color: blue">"Unsupported project conversion: original compiler was PICBASIC PRO™. <br> Build options will not be converted.</div></html>

    I found my PBP source file in the folder "Source File". I also have 4 asm files containing some data. They are now in the "Other Files" Folder. OK.

    Going ahead generates error messages saying that the PGMTST project is empty even if all the files are there...

    I am there, trying to find my way !
    Should you have any good ideas, I am very interested.

    I keep you informed

    MikeBZH

Similar Threads

  1. How to setup pbp3 with MPLABX?
    By thasatelliteguy in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 20th November 2017, 12:46
  2. Integrate PBP3 in MPLABX.
    By Ziko87 in forum PBP3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 21st May 2013, 13:41
  3. Can't get ISIS/Proteus VSM to work with PBP3 and MPLABX
    By chicowoodhill in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 28th July 2012, 20:45
  4. PBP3 and MPLAB 8.83
    By grahamg in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 10th February 2012, 13:04
  5. Moving to PBP3 from 2.6 and MPLab
    By R.G.Keen in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th November 2011, 19:30

Members who have read this thread : 28

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts