ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Selm, Germany
    Posts
    116

    Question ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    Hy folks,
    i bought an ICD2 debugger some years ago and it has a cool textool socket programming adapter. I tried to figure out how to use it but it seems to me that its only useful when programming in C which I coulndīt. So is it easily possible to use it with PBP like a PICKIT programmer, maybe even as debugger or not. And: does it support 18F45K22 devices?

    regards

    Mugelpower

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,511

    Default Re: ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    i bought an ICD2 debugger
    me too , I offered it free to anyone in Australia . no takers not one



    your PICKIT2 will pgm 18F45K22 devices , all you need is to update the devicelist file [PK2DeviceFile.dat]
    henrik gave you the link


    I have a PICKIT3 I only use it if I have too the pk2 is a heaps better programmer
    This is more entertaining than Free to Air TV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    275

    Default Re: ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    I have both and usually use the ME Labs U2 Programmer. I use the PICKit3 for surface mount processors and haven't used the PICKit2 in several years. Not sure where I put it, actually. The U2 has a dip socket. Drop the PIC into the slot and hit Control P.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,249

    Default Re: ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    Can't you take the ZIF socket add-on circuitboard from the U2 and just plug that into the PK2?

    (haven't looked at PK2 yet, but it's on my get-it-next list)

    Robert
    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Selm, Germany
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    Since last friday iīm posessing the PICkit3 too, also the PICkit 2 and the ICD2 and a Velleman PicProg.
    Used the PICkit 2 but got programming problems . The ICD2 programming adapter has this stupid Western-socket.
    Will see if i can solder anything else to it that fits to the PICkit2 or 3 .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,249

    Default Re: ICD2 debugger/programmer with PBP possible?

    You should be able to assemble a ribbon cable from the Pickit2

    Name:  pickit2-pinout.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  31.3 KB


    to the U2 ZIF socket PCB

    Name:  U2 icsp.schematic.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  20.6 KB

    Name:  U2BUN.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  14.9 KB


    That's what I did except in reverse; a ribbon cable from my U2 to prototype boards, bypassing the ZIF.

    Work's great!

    Robert
    Last edited by Demon; - 7th November 2017 at 05:26.
    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

Similar Threads

  1. PBP + MPLAB + PICKit 3 Debugger / Programmer
    By HenrikOlsson in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 10th February 2011, 19:53
  2. Pbp + Mplab + Icd2
    By eduardojx in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 17th July 2009, 03:54
  3. Unpacking a PICkit 2 Programmer/Debugger
    By duncan303 in forum General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: - 14th May 2009, 21:24
  4. ICD2 with PBP
    By Worayoot in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 5th January 2005, 19:36
  5. How do I put a NOP at location 0 for the ICD2 by use PBP?
    By Worayoot in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 7th April 2004, 05:04

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts