Sharing a USART


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Sharing a USART

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    373

    Question Sharing a USART

    I have two external devices that I want to communicate with through the USART. I have a 28 pin maximum package in an 18F chip, so only a single UART. One of the modules has a CTS pin, one does not. Since I am working at 115200 baud, my other option is to use DEBUG, but I'd really like to do it in hardware. Any ideas? While I'm at it, can DEBUG work at some other non standard baud rate? Like 105 K baud for instance.

    Thanks,
    Ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    33

    Default

    have u tried using serout2 and serin2. i had the same problem b4 i need one to control a hf modem and another to communicate with a gps module. the modem connected with a max232 via pin c6 and c7 the standard rx tx pins while i just used porta.0 and a.1 for serin2 and serout3 with the gps module and everything is ok.. yes u can also use a specific baudrate. no need a level converter. read the manual for more info on serout and serin command.

Similar Threads

  1. byte Tx w/ USART 16f876a problem
    By GargamelDigi in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 15th July 2008, 06:50
  2. problem with USART
    By leemin in forum Serial
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 11th December 2006, 18:56
  3. I ammm Looosssst (USART Help)
    By shawn in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 16th May 2006, 06:05
  4. USART interrupt not interrupting right
    By Morpheus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 6th March 2005, 02:07
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 1st December 2004, 13:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts