How do you display the code lines?


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    322

    Default How do you display the code lines?

    Okay, another basic question. You have a program and you can see the line numbers in the left margin in the editor. How do you print these line numbers with your code?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: How do you display the code lines?

    Try this http://melabs.com/resources/debugmon.htm

    It add lot of overhead code, but it can work. You wont get line numbers, but you can have PC address, and your subroutine will be called after each PBP line.
    You can search net for additional information, but as far as I know .COFF file contains relation between PC and line no. But I didn't found how to parse .coff file.
    Last edited by pedja089; - 12th June 2017 at 16:11.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: How do you display the code lines?

    I probably did not explain this correctly. When you write code in PBP there is a margin on the left that shows line numbers. When you print your code to share with someone else, how can you / do display these numbers so you can tell someone where you are looking or where you want them to look?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: How do you display the code lines?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ramius View Post
    ...line numbers with your code?
    I was thinking that you ask how to print line number using code... Some thing like source debugger.
    I actually newer printed code, so...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,253

    Default Re: How do you display the code lines?

    Hi Ed,
    You don't write code in PBP, PBP is the compiler.
    You use a text editor or IDE to write the code. How to enable printing of line number depende on what text editor or IDE you're using.

    If you're using MicroCodeStudio then I don't think you CAN print the line numbers. If that's the case I suggest you download Notepad++ and open the file in that for Printing. It's got an option to print line numbers.

    If you're using MPLAB8 or MPLABX I don't know if it's possible to print the line numbers, I don't have those installed on this machine so I can't check.

    /Henrik.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 29th October 2010, 14:30
  2. Add new Lines of code
    By jetpr in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th September 2007, 12:50
  3. fatal error [301] out of memory with 4 lines of code????
    By George in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 27th October 2005, 21:26
  4. Spooked code lines
    By POLA in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 27th March 2005, 20:40
  5. code for this display
    By Eugen in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 31st December 2004, 13:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts